Can't get conky to autostart

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:45 pm

Hi,

running lm13, cinnamon on a dell studio 17 - all good pretty much.

Trying to get conky to run on startup but must be missing something. I have no real idea what I'm doing or how to set it up - found a few sites which go thru the basics - so I'm struggling.

Here's what I've got:

I've setup conly to autostart, here's the command:

/home/conky/conky_start.sh

I've got a folder home/conky which is where the conky_start.sh script lives

Autostart just doesn't happen though.

When I try to start conky via Terminal, it doesn't start, just shows this in the terminal.

mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ conky
Conky: forked to background, pid is 2676
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $
Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (156)
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2800001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer


Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks.

EDIT >>>> Just tried to run conky via terminal again ... it started up just fine ...

mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ conky
Conky: forked to background, pid is 2730
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $
Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (156)
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
wget: no process found
--2012-09-18 19:50:48-- http://www.accuweather.com/en/gb/corby/ ... her/325045
Resolving www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)... 80.239.171.106, 80.239.171.139
Connecting to www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)|80.239.171.106|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/curr_cond_raw'

[ <=> ] 64,913 --.-K/s in 0.06s

2012-09-18 19:50:48 (1.02 MB/s) - `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/curr_cond_raw' saved [64913]

--2012-09-18 19:50:48-- http://www.accuweather.com/en/gb/corby/ ... ast/325045
Resolving www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)... 80.239.171.139, 80.239.171.106
Connecting to www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)|80.239.171.139|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/tod_ton_raw'

[ <=> ] 70,045 --.-K/s in 0.09s

2012-09-18 19:50:48 (722 KB/s) - `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/tod_ton_raw' saved [70045]


patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:35 pm

hi patchcarey, a few thoughts:
Look at the Properties of conky_start.sh; have you ticked the Permissions box marked 'Allow executing file as program'?
Are you sure the path is right? It's common to make such scripts hidden, as is mine - .conky_start.sh
You haven't mentioned what that script is, here's mine
#!/bin/bash
# my script for starting conky 2 July 2012
# sleep required to allow the wallpaper to load first. Double ampersand makes sleep command complete before next command; #single ampersand allows next command to start without the second completing.
# added to Preferences > Startup Applications
sleep 50 &&

conky -c /home/hugh/.conkyrc_3

exit

Did you add the script to the Start-Up Applications?
regards
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:16 pm

Hi HughT,

have you ticked the Permissions box marked 'Allow executing file as program'?

I've done that now. Result is the same though.

Are you sure the path is right?

I'm not sure - here's a shot of my folder set up and the script (it's exactly the same as the one you posted except I changed 'hugh' to 'mark' - is it right?

Image

I've also got a folder called .conky (under Home) which holds two files conky_grey.lua and conky_grey.txt

Thanks for looking
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:54 pm

okay, but what is that script conky_start.sh?
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:09 am

Sorry, I thought I'd posted the contents - here it is:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
# my script for starting conky 2 July 2012
# sleep required to allow the wallpaper to load first. Double ampersand makes sleep command complete before next command; #single ampersand allows next command to start without the second completing.
# added to Preferences > Startup Applications
sleep 50 &&

conky -c /home/mark/.conkyrc_3

exit
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:26 am

So your start up script is trying to start a conky named .conkyrc-3. Have you got a conky with that name in your /home/mark/ folder? (The full stop in front of the name indicates hidden file.) I didn't make myself clear earlier when asking for the file path, I meant the path to the conky itself rather than to the start up script. When you first install the program conky it will come with a default conky script which is called .conkyrc and placed (I think) in your home folder. So if you just enter 'conky' from a terminal that's what you get displayed. But if you want to run others then you must be more specific eg
Code: Select all
conky -c /home/hugh/.conkyrc_left & conky -c /home/hugh/.conkyrc_top
which runs two conkys.
Does this help? regards
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:24 pm

Hi Hugh,

Yes that helps - I think :oops:

So your start up script is trying to start a conky named .conkyrc-3. Have you got a conky with that name in your /home/mark/ folder?


No, I haven't got a conky (is a 'conky' a folder?) named .conkyrc-3, what I've got is two folders in my home folder -

one is 'conky' which contains the startup script
one is '.conky' which contains two files: conky_grey.lua and conky_grey.txt
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:31 pm

what's in conky_grey.txt, can you copy it here.
EDIT is it the one that says
s # conkyrc_grey
#
# author : SLK
# version : v2011011601
# license : Distributed under the terms of GNU GPL version 2 or later
#
Last edited by HughT on Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:33 pm

Sure. Here it is:

Code: Select all
#==============================================================================
#                                 conkyrc_grey
#
#  author  : SLK
#  version : v2011011601
#  license : Distributed under the terms of GNU GPL version 2 or later
#
#==============================================================================

background yes
update_interval 1

cpu_avg_samples 2
net_avg_samples 2
temperature_unit celsius

double_buffer yes
no_buffers yes
text_buffer_size 2048

gap_x 10
gap_y 30
minimum_size 190 450
maximum_width 190
own_window yes
# own_window_type override
# own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorate,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager,below
own_window_class Conky
border_inner_margin 0
border_outer_margin 0
alignment tr

draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no

override_utf8_locale yes
use_xft yes
xftfont caviar dreams:size=8
xftalpha 0.5
uppercase no

default_color FFFFFF
color1 DDDDDD
color2 AAAAAA
color3 888888
color4 666666

lua_load ~/.conky/conky_grey.lua
lua_draw_hook_post main

TEXT
${voffset 35}
${goto 95}${color4}${font ubuntu:size=22}${time %e}${color1}${offset -50}${font ubuntu:size=10}${time %A}
${goto 85}${color2}${voffset -2}${font ubuntu:size=9}${time %b}${voffset -2} ${color3}${font ubuntu:size=12}${time %Y}${font}

${voffset 80}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:bold}${color}CPU
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${top name 1}${alignr}${top cpu 1}%
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color2}${top name 2}${alignr}${top cpu 2}%
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color3}${top name 3}${alignr}${top cpu 3}%
${goto 90}${cpugraph 10,100 666666 666666}
${goto 90}${voffset -10}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color}${threads} process

${voffset 20}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:bold}${color}MEM
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${top_mem name 1}${alignr}${top_mem mem 1}%
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color2}${top_mem name 2}${alignr}${top_mem mem 2}%
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color3}${top_mem name 3}${alignr}${top_mem mem 3}%

${voffset 15}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:bold}${color}DISKS

${goto 90}${diskiograph 30,100 666666 666666}${voffset -30}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color}used: ${fs_used /home} /home
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color}used: ${fs_used /} /

${voffset 10}
${goto 70}${font Ubuntu:size=18,weight:bold}${color3}NET${alignr}${color2}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:bold}${color1}${if_up eth0}eth ${addr eth0} ${endif}${if_up wlan0}wifi ${addr wlan0}${endif}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:bold}${color}open ports: ${alignr}${color2}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:bold}${color}${offset 10}IP${alignr}DPORT
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  0}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  0}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  1}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  1}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  2}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  2}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  3}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  3}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  4}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  4}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  5}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  5}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  6}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  6}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  7}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  7}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  8}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  8}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip  9}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport  9}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip 10}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport 10}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip 11}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport 11}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip 12}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport 12}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip 13}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport 13}
${goto 90}${font Ubuntu:size=7,weight:normal}${color1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rip 14}${alignr 1}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rport 14}

patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:48 pm

Great! So to run that from a terminal
Code: Select all
conky -c /home/mark/.conky/conky_grey
check that works. Kill it with
Code: Select all
killall conky
Then make your start-up script read
!/bin/bash
# my script for starting conky 2 July 2012
# sleep required to allow the wallpaper to load first. Double ampersand makes sleep command complete before next command; #single ampersand allows next command to start without the second completing.
# added to Preferences > Startup Applications
sleep 50 &&

conky -c /home/mark/.conky/conky_grey

exit
and check that works, but remember to wait for 50 seconds! Then if everything works, add that start-up scrip to the Startup Applications (unless you've already done that)
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:02 pm

Getting somewhere!

It runs just fine when I type

Code: Select all
conky -c /home/mark/.conky/conky_grey


in terminal. But when I try to execute the script, I get this:

Code: Select all
/home/mark/.conky/conky_start.sh: 1: /home/mark/.conky/conky_start.sh: !/bin/bash: not found
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:37 pm

Well you're half-way there! It can't find the script because you've not entered the correct path. Have another look at the picture you posted on Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:16 pm. That script is in /home/mark/conky.
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:16 pm

Ok, I've moved all my conky stuff into the folder /home/mark/conky

I changed the command to

Code: Select all
 /home/mark/conky/conky_start.sh


I get an 'invalid configuration file' message - Here's what shows up in the terminal window:

Code: Select all
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ /home/mark/conky/conky_start.sh
Conky: invalid configuration file '/home/mark/conky/conky_grey'

Conky: forked to background, pid is 2545
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $
Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (156)
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2800001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer


Then, trying to run conky directly - not via the script - I get this:

Code: Select all
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ conky -c /home/mark/conky/conky_grey
Conky: invalid configuration file '/home/mark/conky/conky_grey'

Conky: forked to background, pid is 2680
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $
Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (156)
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2800001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:40 pm

If you've changed the paths, did you remember to change the path in the conky_start.sh bash script, and did you also move the conky_grey.lua file? It looks like the problem is with your paths.
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:58 pm

Hey Hugh,

Thanks for your perseverance!

Here's the script:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
# my script for starting conky 2 July 2012
# sleep required to allow the wallpaper to load first. Double ampersand makes sleep command complete before next command; #single ampersand allows next command to start without the second completing.
# added to Preferences > Startup Applications
sleep 50 &&

conky -c /home/mark/conky/conky_grey

exit


here's a screenshot of the conky folder.

Image

BUT ... I just tried running conky direct via the terminal, got the same configuration error msg BUT conky started ...!!!

Code: Select all
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ conky -c /home/mark/conky/conky_grey
Conky: invalid configuration file '/home/mark/conky/conky_grey'

Conky: forked to background, pid is 4120
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $
Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (156)
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2800001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
wget: no process found
--2012-09-20 23:58:29--  http://www.accuweather.com/en/gb/corby/nn18-8/current-weather/325045
Resolving www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)... 23.62.53.99, 23.62.53.56
Connecting to www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)|23.62.53.99|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/curr_cond_raw'

    [ <=>                                   ] 64,938      --.-K/s   in 0.07s   

2012-09-20 23:58:30 (956 KB/s) - `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/curr_cond_raw' saved [64938]

--2012-09-20 23:58:30--  http://www.accuweather.com/en/gb/corby/nn18-8/daily-weather-forecast/325045
Resolving www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)... 23.62.53.56, 23.62.53.99
Connecting to www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)|23.62.53.56|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/tod_ton_raw'

    [ <=>                                   ] 70,117      --.-K/s   in 0.1s   

2012-09-20 23:58:30 (488 KB/s) - `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/tod_ton_raw' saved [70117]
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:36 am

I've just realised something after looking at conky_grey. The text in conky_grey doesn't mention the weather, yet the response when you run conky -c /home/mark/conky/conky_grey mentions http://www.accuweather.com. So I'm guessing that the conky script which runs is not your conky_grey, but a default (which does have a weather element). And that it runs a default because it can't find yours. The other thing I noticed from your picture is that you don't have a folder called mark, it's just called home. (Normally the installer automatically makes a folder in /home with the name you entered during installation, it's then quite common to make another account in /home for other users. For example, I always make a new account just called guest for use if someone wants to borrow my machine). So, as I thought before, it's a question of getting the paths right. Try running
Code: Select all
conky -c /home/conky/conky_grey
See if that displays a conky with an analogue clock (which is derived from the lua script). If it runs, put that path into your conky_start.sh script, and add the path to that script to the Start Up Applications. Fingers crossed!
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby patchcarey on Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:31 am

That's an excellent spot- there's nothing to do with weather in the conky_grey file!

To confirm that conky is not able to find the 'conky_grey' file and is instead running a 'default' I typed 'conky' into a terminal and got the following:

Code: Select all
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ killall conky
Conky: received SIGINT or SIGTERM to terminate. bye!
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $ conky
Conky: forked to background, pid is 18058
mark@mark-Studio-1749 ~ $
Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (156)
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
wget: no process found
--2012-09-23 09:27:44--  http://www.accuweather.com/en/gb/corby/nn18-8/current-weather/325045
Resolving www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)... 84.53.132.8, 84.53.132.11
Connecting to www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)|84.53.132.8|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/curr_cond_raw'

    [ <=>                                   ] 65,938      --.-K/s   in 0.06s   

2012-09-23 09:27:45 (1.07 MB/s) - `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/curr_cond_raw' saved [65938]

--2012-09-23 09:27:45--  http://www.accuweather.com/en/gb/corby/nn18-8/daily-weather-forecast/325045
Resolving www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)... 84.53.132.11, 84.53.132.8
Connecting to www.accuweather.com (www.accuweather.com)|84.53.132.11|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/tod_ton_raw'

    [ <=>                                   ] 70,489      --.-K/s   in 0.07s   

2012-09-23 09:27:45 (1.01 MB/s) - `/home/mark/.accuweather_conky/tod_ton_raw' saved [70489]

and conky ran and displayed what I thought was coming from conky_grey ... but it obviously isn't!!


So, I wonder where it's picking up the default script from?
patchcarey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get conky to autostart

Postby HughT on Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:57 pm

So, I wonder where it's picking up the default script from?
I think it's in /usr/share. But does " conky -c /home/conky/conky_grey " open? If you are unsure of the exact full path to a file, right-click it and select Properties and see 'Location' half way down the 'Basic' tab. I hope you can open the right conky now, regards
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.
HughT
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests