Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby kalimann on Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:47 am

Soo, problem is pretty simple.

When I press ctrl + a, it doesn't do the function the shortcut is suppossed to in windows as usual.

What's up with it?
kalimann
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby remoulder on Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:10 am

[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby kalimann on Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:06 am

Right, I have searched already, no avail. What details? 32-bit linux mint Cinnamon on an Acer Aspire 3830T.
kalimann
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby axel668 on Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:14 pm

please be more specific about the context in which the problem occurs - maybe you know the app (Firefox, terminal, gedit) or can give a short explanation of what you are trying to do ? with the given information it is impossible to help you.
“A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila” (Mitch Ratcliffe)
User avatar
axel668
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:56 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby kalimann on Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:49 am

I am trying to make it select all text, files, whatever that is displayed. You should know the function from Windows right? I am not sure if the function is native in Linux Mint, but how do I enable it then? And the "problem" occurs in all contexts.
kalimann
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby criistalmett on Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:00 pm

My computer does the same it use to work and it just stoped working for no reason
criistalmett
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:56 pm

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby kalimann on Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:17 am

Just troubleshooted it. I noticed I could select all in the login menu, so I tried to login with Gnome Desktop. Here I could use the ctrl + a function almost everywhere, to select files on desktop and text in web browser. Only place where id didnt seem to work was in the adress field in the browser.

So it seems to be purely cinnamon related.

EDIT: Ctrl + A works in GIMP in cinnamon environment.

EDIT2: After working in GIMP ctrl + A now works everywhere, for selecting files and text on a webpage ... besides text boxes where I write input. Such as adress field or this text box I am writing. Very weird.
kalimann
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby kalimann on Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:54 am

Just to BUMP this post and update.

So basically my Ctrl + A/select all function nearly works perfectly now, but I still strongly suggest it is looked into and fixed.

Another thing, as mentioned it doesn't work in text input boxes but has the same function as the home button. Any way to fix this?
kalimann
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby meee on Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:37 am

I am having the same issue. Works in some fields and not in others. When it doesn't work it just takes you to the beginning of the row, like the home key.

Another problem I had was that I couldn't adjust brightness. I'm running linux mint 13 64 bit on an asus ul20a laptop.

Fixing that issue had to do with acpi, whatever that is. It happened to make ctrl+a work in more fields than before the fix. Now it just seems to fail in the search bars of chrome and firefox.

Here is what i did

Edit /etc/default/grub.

In the grub file, change GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT = "quiet splash" to be GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT = "quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor".

Then do sudo update-grub and reboot! Courtesy of wub.

Any further help is appreciated.
meee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:29 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby joachim on Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:09 am

Changing of the grub file or using GIMP does not work for me :(


Code: Select all
-Computer-
Operating System      : Linux Mint 13 Maya (Cinnamon) 64 bit
joachim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby joachim on Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:37 am

so no solutions to this?
joachim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby eratyk on Sun Nov 25, 2012 5:36 am

meee wrote:Edit /etc/default/grub.

In the grub file, change GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT = "quiet splash" to be GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT = "quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor".

Then do sudo update-grub and reboot!


It does not work for me too. Mint 14 Nadia, 64bit, Cinnamon. ANY IDEAS?

UPD:
Seems it's fixed.
viewtopic.php?f=49&t=118086#p659812
Last edited by eratyk on Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
eratyk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:07 am

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby xenopeek on Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:17 am

This is a topic about Ctrl + A problems. Anybody here having problems with laptop keys not working, please post a new topic in the Hardware Support section of the forum (viewforum.php?f=49). Before posting a new topic, please read this: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=83444
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14987
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Ctrl + A doesn't select all

Postby nnamdi on Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:23 am

thanks it worked for me...

Seems it's fixed.
viewtopic.php?f=49&t=118086#p659812
nnamdi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:09 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests