Mount ISO as disc

Contribute ideas for future releases.
Forum rules
No support questions here please.
Suggestion & new ideas for Cinnamon go on GitHub.

Mount ISO as disc

Postby facade47 on Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:38 pm

A simple request:
To be able to right click an iso image and have the context menu show "Mount as CD"
User avatar
facade47
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Feb 21, 2008 9:32 pm

XFCE CE already has this and I would like to see it in the main as well.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Zwopper on Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:21 am

I totally agree with merlwiz79
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 13.10
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Slocker on Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:41 am

Perhaps with nautilus-actions something could be done. But I'm afraid only for mounting the ISO; to unmount you should go to a terminal. I've not tested yet.

Anyway, I agree as well. I would love a MacOS system in which with a simple double-click you could mount a CD image (why just keep on ISO ;)). Nice feature request, indeed.
Alex Slocker
User avatar
Slocker
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:14 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby derekr44 on Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:46 am

gmount

Program for Gnome if you use Gnome.
derekr44
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Kynan on Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:30 pm

why not make .mdf .mds files doe the same while we are at it :) (most are mine are in this format... haha)
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:03 pm

Kynan wrote:why not make .mdf .mds files doe the same while we are at it :) (most are mine are in this format... haha)

For XFCE CE this could be easy to do.
Just need to now the commands to mount those to a folder.
Then have a script check the file type to select the mount command.
Not sure how easy it would be for Gnome, since I haven't tried.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Fred on Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:57 pm

You can always mount an iso with the CLI command:

Code: Select all
mount -o loop -t iso9660 foo.iso /mountpoint


As was mentioned above, the GTK program "gmountiso" is available in the repositories.

This also looks interesting but I have never used it so I don't know how serviceable it is.

http://onlyubuntu.blogspot.com/2007/06/ ... mages.html

Enjoy,

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Kynan on Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:06 pm

Ive been using acetone2 to mount both my .iso and .mdf files works pretty good but i'd prefer the right click option for sake of size and simplisity.
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Slocker on Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:14 pm

I've just seen this ;).
Alex Slocker
User avatar
Slocker
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:14 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby hoppel on Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:46 am

There are several scripts for that function and several others. I agree, I'd like to have them included by default (doesn't use much space, too). But it would be nice to have choice while installing Mint, so that you doesn't have to use every script.
hoppel
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:38 pm

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby midknight on Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:26 pm

hoppel wrote:There are several scripts for that function and several others. I agree, I'd like to have them included by default (doesn't use much space, too). But it would be nice to have choice while installing Mint, so that you doesn't have to use every script.

same, but maybe install 1 simple script by default (I beg of you, CALL IT mintMOUNT! :wink: ) and add other scripts to the software portal.
From elegance came chicken!
User avatar
midknight
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:03 pm

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby Ferdil on Sun Apr 27, 2008 6:15 am

+1
Don't blame me for my bad english. This is not my native language.

Are the decisions that you make, when you have no time to make them, that define who you are.

Image
User avatar
Ferdil
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Mount ISO as disc

Postby --weezl-- on Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:16 am

i know this is a 5 year old thread... but i just found THIS program

http://community.linuxmint.com/software/view/gmountiso

installing it now, hopefully it works as well as i'm thinking it will
--weezl--
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:24 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Suggestions & New Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests