Prossessor not in full use

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Prossessor not in full use

Postby Sanocon on Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:51 pm

so for a while ive been playing a game (Overgrowth if you want to know). and i've been noticing lag on my pc when i know its a bit stronger than the ps3 (here are the specs if you want to know.)
Processor : 8x Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 740 @ 1.73GHz
Video Card : Nvidia GeForce GT 330M

so i checked the game to see if that was the problom, then i checked my system moniter while playing the game.
now as i'm typing this the game is loading and at least 1 proccessor is at full 100% others aren't working much 3 are mostly at 0 and the others range from 10% - 15% or one gets as high as 25% (and not any higher. and the ones that were working at 10% goes down to 6 - 8%

so the game is now running and i am getting 3 - 5 fps and the results are still the same as above.

now i heard from a friend that part of the programing of the linux 64-bit kernal that is only built to handle two processors - even though it can use more than 2 as i can see. so i have to get one that handles all of them easaly. i heard it was like 64-bit SDK(or something like that) which has the kernal to evenly use all the proccessors. any leads?
Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Prossessor not in full use

Postby nunol on Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:35 am

Sanocon wrote:now i heard from a friend that part of the programing of the linux 64-bit kernal that is only built to handle two processors - even though it can use more than 2 as i can see. so i have to get one that handles all of them easaly.


You have one processor with several cores and the 64bit (or the 32bit i686/i686-pae) Linux kernel supports that just fine.

Don't know that game so can't help you with that.
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Prossessor not in full use

Postby Sanocon on Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:05 am

nunol wrote:
Sanocon wrote:now i heard from a friend that part of the programing of the linux 64-bit kernal that is only built to handle two processors - even though it can use more than 2 as i can see. so i have to get one that handles all of them easaly.


You have one processor with several cores and the 64bit (or the 32bit i686/i686-pae) Linux kernel supports that just fine.

Don't know that game so can't help you with that.


Yea I meant cores, I did a hickup there.
Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am

Re: Prossessor not in full use

Postby joepmcfarren on Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:45 am

UBUNTU use full processor speed by the command instruction.
#cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

2267000 2266000 1600000 800000

Set the frequency for all CPU cores with the following command

#cpufreq-selector -c {0,1} -f 2267000

(Here I have dual core so gave {0,1})
joepmcfarren
 

Re: Prossessor not in full use

Postby Sanocon on Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:12 pm

joepmcfarren wrote:UBUNTU use full processor speed by the command instruction.
#cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

2267000 2266000 1600000 800000

Set the frequency for all CPU cores with the following command

#cpufreq-selector -c {0,1} -f 2267000

(Here I have dual core so gave {0,1})


And I thought this thread was dead... anyways, I found out my processor is a quad core with mutithreading and its only using the single thread capabilities, is there a way to actavate the mutithreading capability?
Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests