LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby ldvalle on Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:38 am

VLC
Is not working, on 64 bit edition at least. Don't play any sound, but sound is OK on Amarok and Audacious ¿?
Don't give up.
User avatar
ldvalle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:18 am
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby Rudemeister on Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:10 pm

Have you tried the file associations?
HP XW8600 Work Station
Dual Quad-Core 3Ghz Xeon CPU's
32GB PC2-5300 ECC DRAM
Nvidia GT520 2G GDDR3 Graphics
2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM
Linux Mint 16 KDE 64-bit
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
User avatar
Rudemeister
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 7:24 am

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby M8R-didia8 on Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:22 pm

KDE crashed while changing date and time. The info for reporting crash was not enough, the button "install missing debugging symbols" did nothing. KDE messed up my whole bar and scrambled randomly everything. What a [ :D ]. Going back to my Xubuntu LTS without zeitgeist.

PS. Amarok is a Joke.
Last edited by zerozero on Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: language
M8R-didia8
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:18 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby plinux on Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:43 am

I can say, my VLC isn't playing any sound either.
plinux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 6:08 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby Jaws on Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:38 pm

Search for and install -> vlc-plugin-pulse <- in Synaptic.

Hope this helps.
Jaws
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:56 am

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby ldvalle on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:17 pm

@jaws

That's it !!!!

Install the vlc-plugin-pulse from synaptic.
Now I can heard the VLC.

Lot of thanks

Lucas
Don't give up.
User avatar
ldvalle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:18 am
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby Fajah on Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:35 am

Jaws wrote:Search for and install -> vlc-plugin-pulse <- in Synaptic.

Hope this helps.


Worked for me as well. Thanks!
Mr. Lawrie Mann
Toronto, Canada
Partition 1: Linux LMDE/Mate
Partition 2: Windows 8 Pro
Fajah
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:03 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby plinux on Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:47 am

Jaws' help worked for me too!
plinux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 6:08 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby ldvalle on Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:16 am

libxpcom.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

LDOCE5 (Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English)

I installed succefully on LM13 MATE and Cinnamon, also on LM13 KDE, my favorite desktop. But when I want to run it, I have that

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
lucas@comodo:~/ldoce5$ ./ldoce5-bin
./ldoce5-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libxpcom.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
lucas@comodo:~/ldoce5$ chmod +x ldoce5
......................
......................
......................
f657c000-f65a4000 r-xp 00000000 08:11 1714920 /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libpng12.so.0.46.0
f65a4000-f65a5000 r--p 00027000 08:11 1714920 /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libpng12.so.0.46.0Aborted (core dumped)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I guess it's a reference libray problem, but I'm newbie on linux so I don't know how to know if the library exists, where exists, and how to referece properly.

At the moment, it's the only thing I couldn't fix yet. :?
I apreciate any sugestion.

Thanks in advance
Don't give up.
User avatar
ldvalle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:18 am
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby kidcharles on Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:06 pm

I had this same problem and could get sound by changing the audio track on a DVD, but then it would cut out again when I paused. Installing vlc-plugin-pulse fixed the problem. Shouldn't that package be installed automatically during installation since vlc and pulse are the default media and sound applications?
kidcharles
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:27 am

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby ldvalle on Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:12 pm

This version of KDE pass from RC to Stable version so fast for my taste.
If this is a LTS version, isn't a good LTS version.
Maybe in a few months, exists an official LMDE KDE rolling version. That's would be a great thing, and a decompress of work for the Mint Team.
Don't give up.
User avatar
ldvalle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:18 am
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby ldvalle on Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:24 am

ldvalle wrote:libxpcom.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

LDOCE5 (Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English)

I installed succefully on LM13 MATE and Cinnamon, also on LM13 KDE, my favorite desktop. But when I want to run it, I have that

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
lucas@comodo:~/ldoce5$ ./ldoce5-bin
./ldoce5-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libxpcom.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
lucas@comodo:~/ldoce5$ chmod +x ldoce5
......................
......................
......................
f657c000-f65a4000 r-xp 00000000 08:11 1714920 /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libpng12.so.0.46.0
f65a4000-f65a5000 r--p 00027000 08:11 1714920 /lib/i386-linux-gnu/libpng12.so.0.46.0Aborted (core dumped)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I guess it's a reference libray problem, but I'm newbie on linux so I don't know how to know if the library exists, where exists, and how to referece properly.

At the moment, it's the only thing I couldn't fix yet. :?
I apreciate any sugestion.

Thanks in advance


Sice mintUpdate upgrade my system last Saturday, this problem was solved magicly !!!.
Just the sound don't work on LDOCE like on Cinnamon, I don't know why. I try with alsa, without any result.
I'm going to investigate more next days :shock:
Don't give up.
User avatar
ldvalle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:18 am
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby broncito on Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:40 pm

M8R-didia8 wrote:KDE crashed while changing date and time. The info for reporting crash was not enough, the button "install missing debugging symbols" did nothing. KDE messed up my whole bar and scrambled randomly everything.


Greetings;

I'm new to Linux and I've been using (via live usb) LM 13 KDE from time to time. I'm also experiencing crashes when trying to change the date & time. I haven't tried installing anything to fix this though. Again I'm new in Linux and I don't know if I can install/download/update stuff when running live or if is safe to open files from my Windows 7 HDD.

Is anyone else having this problem? Is there any solution to this?

Thanks in advance :)
Lenovo Ideapad Y580
Intel Core i7-3610QM Processor (2.30GHz 6MB) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX660M 2GB | 8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
15.6" FHD LED Glare Wedge 1920x1080 | 500GB 7200 RPM | Blu-ray/DVD-RW
broncito
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:57 am

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby GerMulvey on Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:27 pm

I'm getting an odd thing, the display blanks after 30 seconds of inactivity. Yet I turn off all the power saving options. Even stranger I played a five min youtube I dl'ed without it blanking!

maya 13 kde 64bit
radeon hd 6790 (proprietery driver 8.982 - catalyst 2.15)
If it ain't broke - fix it anyway!
User avatar
GerMulvey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 4:48 am
Location: Ireland

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby LindseyD. on Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:42 pm

For me, Maya is a nightmare.

1. No sound at all--and I've tried installing the vlc-pulse plugin.

2. Programs I've relied on for years (Kmail, Korganizer) don't work at all. Wwwoffle isn't even in the repos.

3. Dolphin insists on opening every file I click, no matter where I click, even if I only want to highlight it for copying or renaming.

4. The Kmenu insists on opening as a separate "window" at the top of my screen, instead of just launching from the icon.

5. Krunner is mostly useless--when it opens at all.

6. Every time I reboot, all the "look & feel" settings are lost.

6. Half my Firefox extensions won't work any more, and some websites refuse to load. Although that's not KDE's fault, it adds to the frustration.

And that's just what I've found in under 24 hours!
Mint15 KDE
LindseyD.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby zerozero on Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:00 pm

LindseyD.
that's a too long list of issues for one install alone :D
- did you checked the download/burnt at the minimum possible speed/had the cleanest possible installation?
- are you using a former HOME?
- what graphic card and drivers your computer has?
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby LindseyD. on Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:54 pm

zerozero wrote:LindseyD.
that's a too long list of issues for one install alone :D


That's because I thought this thread was just a princess :lol: However, if you're willing to help ...
- did you checked the download/burnt at the minimum possible speed/had the cleanest possible installation?


The live DVD worked fine--to the extent I could test it. Can't recall now if I checked sound. I already knew about the sound problem and everyone seemed to agree the vlc-pulse thing solved it :-(
- are you using a former HOME?


Yes.
- what graphic card and drivers your computer has?


See attached--aargh! The forum won't lett me attach the file. The extension is not allowed. I didn't have an extension!

Sigh! here's the output of lshw:
dc5100
description: Low Profile Desktop Computer
width: 32 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.3 dmi-2.3 smp-1.4 smp
configuration: boot=normal chassis=low-profile cpus=1 uuid=47851DF4-BAF4-DA11-BBDA-A4195DEA0017
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: 09E8h
vendor: Hewlett-Packard
physical id: 0
serial: 2UA62215B9
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: Hewlett-Packard
physical id: 1
version: 786C2 v01.07
date: 08/25/2005
size: 128KiB
capacity: 448KiB
capabilities: pci pnp upgrade shadowing cdboot bootselect edd int13floppytoshiba int13floppy360 int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer acpi usb ls120boot zipboot biosbootspecification netboot
*-cpu
description: CPU
product: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 5
bus info: cpu@0
version: 15.4.1
serial: 0000-0F41-0000-0000-0000-0000
slot: XU1 PROCESSOR
size: 3GHz
width: 32 bits
clock: 800MHz
capabilities: boot fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
configuration: id=0
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: 6
slot: Internal L1 Cache
size: 28KiB
capacity: 28KiB
capabilities: burst internal write-through data
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: 7
slot: Cache L2
size: 1MiB
capacity: 4MiB
capabilities: burst internal write-back data
*-logicalcpu:0
description: Logical CPU
physical id: 0.1
width: 32 bits
capabilities: logical
*-logicalcpu:1
description: Logical CPU
physical id: 0.2
width: 32 bits
capabilities: logical
*-memory:0
description: System Memory
physical id: 33
slot: System board or motherboard
*-bank:0
description: DIMM DDR2 Synchronous 533 MHz (1.9 ns)
product: EBE51UD8AGFA-5C-E
vendor: JEDEC ID:7F 7F FE 00 00 00 00 00
physical id: 0
serial: 627AF640
slot: XMM1
size: 512MiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 533MHz (1.9ns)
*-bank:1
description: DIMM DDR Synchronous [empty]
vendor: JEDEC ID:
physical id: 1
slot: XMM2
*-bank:2
description: DIMM DDR2 Synchronous 533 MHz (1.9 ns)
product: HYMP564U64P8-C4
vendor: JEDEC ID:AD 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
physical id: 2
serial: 50200000
slot: XMM3
size: 512MiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 533MHz (1.9ns)
*-bank:3
description: DIMM DDR Synchronous [empty]
vendor: JEDEC ID:
physical id: 3
slot: XMM4
*-memory:1 UNCLAIMED
description: Flash Memory
physical id: 34
slot: System board or motherboard
capacity: 512KiB
*-bank UNCLAIMED
description: Chip FLASH Non-volatile
physical id: 0
slot: SYSTEM ROM
size: 512KiB
width: 4 bits
*-memory:2 UNCLAIMED
physical id: 0
*-memory:3 UNCLAIMED
physical id: 2
*-pci
description: Host bridge
product: 82915G/P/GV/GL/PL/910GL Memory Controller Hub
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 100
bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
version: 04
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
configuration: driver=agpgart-intel
resources: irq:0
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: 04
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
resources: irq:16 memory:cfd00000-cfd7ffff ioport:1800(size=8) memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:cfd80000-cfdbffff
*-pci:0
description: PCI bridge
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1c
bus info: pci@0000:00:1c.0
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pciexpress msi pm normal_decode bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=pcieport
resources: irq:40 ioport:4000(size=4096) memory:40200000-403fffff ioport:40400000(size=2097152)
*-pci:1
description: PCI bridge
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 2
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1c.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:1c.1
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pciexpress msi pm normal_decode bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=pcieport
resources: irq:41 ioport:3000(size=4096) memory:f0200000-f04fffff ioport:40000000(size=2097152)
*-network DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
product: NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:40:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 01
serial: 00:17:a4:19:5d:ea
capacity: 1Gbit/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm vpd msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=tg3 driverversion=3.121 firmware=5751-v3.29a latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair
resources: irq:17 memory:f0400000-f040ffff
*-usb:0
description: USB controller
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1d
bus info: pci@0000:00:1d.0
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: uhci bus_master
configuration: driver=uhci_hcd latency=0
resources: irq:20 ioport:1440(size=32)
*-usb:1
description: USB controller
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1d.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:1d.1
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: uhci bus_master
configuration: driver=uhci_hcd latency=0
resources: irq:18 ioport:1460(size=32)
*-usb:2
description: USB controller
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1d.2
bus info: pci@0000:00:1d.2
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: uhci bus_master
configuration: driver=uhci_hcd latency=0
resources: irq:21 ioport:1480(size=32)
*-usb:3
description: USB controller
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1d.3
bus info: pci@0000:00:1d.3
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: uhci bus_master
configuration: driver=uhci_hcd latency=0
resources: irq:22 ioport:14a0(size=32)
*-usb:4
description: USB controller
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1d.7
bus info: pci@0000:00:1d.7
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm debug ehci bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=ehci_hcd latency=0
resources: irq:20 memory:cfdc0000-cfdc03ff
*-pci:2
description: PCI bridge
product: 82801 PCI Bridge
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1e
bus info: pci@0000:00:1e.0
version: d3
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci subtractive_decode bus_master cap_list
*-multimedia
description: Multimedia audio controller
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1e.2
bus info: pci@0000:00:1e.2
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=snd_intel8x0 latency=0
resources: irq:21 ioport:1000(size=256) ioport:1400(size=64) memory:cfdc0400-cfdc05ff memory:cfdc0600-cfdc06ff
*-isa
description: ISA bridge
product: 82801FB/FR (ICH6/ICH6R) LPC Interface Bridge
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1f
bus info: pci@0000:00:1f.0
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: isa bus_master
configuration: latency=0
*-ide:0
description: IDE interface
product: 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1f.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:1f.1
logical name: scsi0
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: ide bus_master emulated
configuration: driver=ata_piix latency=0
resources: irq:17 ioport:1f0(size=8) ioport:3f6 ioport:170(size=8) ioport:376 ioport:14e0(size=16)
*-cdrom
description: DVD reader
product: CDRWDVD CRX310EE
vendor: SONY
physical id: 0.0.0
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/cdrom
logical name: /dev/cdrw
logical name: /dev/dvd
logical name: /dev/sr0
version: SDK3
capabilities: removable audio cd-r cd-rw dvd
configuration: ansiversion=5 status=nodisc
*-ide:1
description: IDE interface
product: 82801FB/FW (ICH6/ICH6W) SATA Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1f.2
bus info: pci@0000:00:1f.2
logical name: scsi2
version: 03
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: ide pm bus_master cap_list emulated
configuration: driver=ata_piix latency=0
resources: irq:19 ioport:1818(size=8) ioport:1830(size=4) ioport:1820(size=8) ioport:1834(size=4) ioport:14f0(size=16)
*-disk
description: ATA Disk
product: WDC WD800JD-60LS
vendor: Western Digital
physical id: 0.0.0
bus info: scsi@2:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/sda
version: 07.0
serial: WD-WMAM9Y897143
size: 74GiB (80GB)
capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=cef6cef6
*-volume:0
description: EXT3 volume
vendor: Linux
physical id: 1
bus info: scsi@2:0.0.0,1
logical name: /dev/sda1
logical name: /
version: 1.0
serial: cdb31a26-186b-4736-9c84-4b420847ff6f
size: 6675MiB
capacity: 6675MiB
capabilities: primary bootable journaled extended_attributes large_files recover ext3 ext2 initialized
configuration: created=2012-10-14 11:30:24 filesystem=ext3 modified=2012-10-14 11:47:03 mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered mounted=2012-10-15 08:22:04 state=mounted
*-volume:1
description: Extended partition
physical id: 3
bus info: scsi@2:0.0.0,3
logical name: /dev/sda3
size: 68GiB
capacity: 68GiB
capabilities: primary extended partitioned partitioned:extended
*-logicalvolume:0
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 5
logical name: /dev/sda5
logical name: /home
capacity: 58GiB
configuration: mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,errors=continue,barrier=1,data=ordered state=mounted
*-logicalvolume:1
description: Linux swap / Solaris partition
physical id: 6
logical name: /dev/sda6
capacity: 1929MiB
capabilities: nofs
*-logicalvolume:2
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 7
logical name: /dev/sda7
logical name: /usr/local
capacity: 7630MiB
configuration: mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,errors=continue,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered state=mounted



PS: I'm on dialup, and currently struggling with Thunderbir & KPPP, so I may not be back here soon. Thanks for trying to help.
Mint15 KDE
LindseyD.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby zerozero on Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:54 pm

LindseyD. wrote:
zerozero wrote:- are you using a former HOME?


Yes.

i will start with what i think is the main issue here:
- this is definitely the reason of 4. 5. and 6. (the first 6 :D ), maybe also 3. but i'm not as sure here.
(reusing an old HOME is most of the time asking for trouble- the hidden config files can/will mess your new installed system in ways that you hardly can imagine)
- regarding 2. i never managed either to make kde-pim work for me :shock: ; wwwoffle was dormant for one year but had a new release today :lol: (there's hope)
- i'm not a sound expert but it could help open a specific topic regarding this problem giving as much info as possible about your hardware
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby LindseyD. on Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:58 am

zerozero wrote:(reusing an old HOME is most of the time asking for trouble- the hidden config files can/will mess your new installed system in ways that you hardly can imagine)


I can't say that's ever been my experience. However, you've given me an idea and I'll start deleting some of them to see if it fixes anything.

zerozero wrote:- regarding 2. i never managed either to make kde-pim work for me :shock: ;


I never used the whole PIM suite--no need. But compared to Kmail & Kontact, Thunderbird and its calendar are a joke.



Oh, thank you! Wwwoffle is crucial to people on dialup. Now all I have to do is remember how to install from source :roll:

zerozero wrote: i'm not a sound expert but it could help open a specific topic regarding this problem giving as much info as possible about your hardware


I did a massive update overnight, including the kernel, and some things have much improved. I can live with annoyances, but I can't live without sound. It's a total show-stopper for me. I suspect at this stage it's a kernel issue, but I'll try. Thanks muchly.
Mint15 KDE
LindseyD.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: LM 13 KDE - Troubles

Postby zerozero on Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:23 pm

LindseyD. wrote:I can't say that's ever been my experience. However, you've given me an idea and I'll start deleting some of them to see if it fixes anything.

i wouldn't be so radical at first, maybe rename them, create a new user, move .kde out of the way for some time.
LindseyD. wrote:but I'll try. Thanks muchly.
you're welcome :D let us know how it goes
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests