Why is Thunar so slow?

Forums for the Xfce Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby vinoman on Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:56 pm

I've installed Mint 13 Xfce for the first time and I've noticed that when I try to open the Thunar file manager it takes a long time to open. Why is this? In the Mint 13 cinnamon, Nautilus file manager opens very fast. I would think Thunar would be the same.

How can I correct this problem?
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby altair4 on Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:05 pm

Give this a shot and see if it improves things.

Edit the following file as root:
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount

and change this:
[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=true

To this:
[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=false

Although that parameter is set exactly the same in both Gnome and XFCE, Gnome ignores it whereas XFCE does not. When you first open up Thunar it attempts to find all network servers so that when you select "Network" they are listed immediately. Nautilus does not do that and only searches for network services when yo select "Browse Network". It's probably the same delay duration in both cases it's just a question of when you feel it.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5518
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby vinoman on Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:02 pm

Yes, that did help out. Now it works likes its supposed to.

Thank you.
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby joutlan on Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:47 pm

I did that on a machine with SL 6.3 (RHEL) and my wireless network didn't autostart? :)
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby altair4 on Sat Nov 10, 2012 4:36 pm

This is Mint not Red Hat. Besides ...
A man walks in to his doctor's office. Holds out his arm and wiggles it around. "Doc, it hurts when I do this". Doc, "Well, stop doing that".
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5518
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby squeezy on Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:31 pm

vinoman wrote:Yes, that did help out. Now it works likes its supposed to.

Thank you.


Did you log out and log in or reboot after the change? Thunar only takes that long delay on its first launch.

Nice fix, altair4!
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby joutlan on Sat Nov 10, 2012 7:04 pm

altair4 wrote:This is Mint not Red Hat. Besides ...
A man walks in to his doctor's office. Holds out his arm and wiggles it around. "Doc, it hurts when I do this". Doc, "Well, stop doing that".


I did stop doing that....lol...but I did come up with a great dropbox install for Xfce with a delayed start, and sans Nautilus :)
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Why is Thunar so slow?

Postby callagg2 on Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:32 am

altair4 wrote:Give this a shot and see if it improves things.

Edit the following file as root:
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount

and change this:
[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=true

To this:
[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=false


thank you, that worked for me in Debian 7.0.
the slow start up was really annoying me...

Now if only I could get the HDMI sound working....with Alsa/Nvidia
callagg2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Xfce

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rickzoll and 4 guests

cron