btrfs issue

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

btrfs issue

Postby tamikan on Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:06 am

Hi guys,

Did a fresh installation by choosing btrfs. Everything went well BUT when I've tried booting the machine for the first time after the installation, fsck tried to check my disk and couldn't check it out and the system wouldn't boot. I've done a new installation with ext4 in the end :?

Besides that I've install LMDE XFCE over Mageia on my nephew's pc. It's faster and simply lovely. Keep up the good work. God bless you devs :D
User avatar
tamikan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 7:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: btrfs issue

Postby luis.nando on Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:44 pm

You have to disable fsck on grub, since btrfs dont support fsck yet (anyway it is not needed)....

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=189&t=86295
ASUS UL30a2 LMDE 64bit
User avatar
luis.nando
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: btrfs issue

Postby melbo on Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:06 pm

I've been running btrfs for some time now and have never seen that. I followed this tutorial to get it installed
viewtopic.php?f=197&t=100659
melbo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: WA, USA

Re: btrfs issue

Postby naughty_bit on Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:38 pm

melbo wrote:I've been running btrfs for some time now and have never seen that. I followed this tutorial to get it installed
viewtopic.php?f=197&t=100659


When you install from last live media and format to btrfs, it has fsck enabled in fstab and boot fails every time.
naughty_bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:33 am

Re: btrfs issue

Postby melbo on Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:10 pm

Interesting. I've never been able to get LMDE 201204 to format to btrfs using the installer which is why I went the route in the link above.
I actually had to check and see if there was a respin of LMDE after you mentioned latest iso.

btrfs option is always greyed out when I use the installer.

By using the above tut, I'm also able to build a btrfs @ system that spans multiple drives:
subvolumes / and /vm on an SSD and /home on a second HDD, all under @

Waiting for the day we have a true btrfs installer packaged with the distro!
melbo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: WA, USA

Re: btrfs issue

Postby naughty_bit on Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:10 am

melbo wrote:Interesting. I've never been able to get LMDE 201204 to format to btrfs using the installer which is why I went the route in the link above.
I actually had to check and see if there was a respin of LMDE after you mentioned latest iso.

btrfs option is always greyed out when I use the installer.

By using the above tut, I'm also able to build a btrfs @ system that spans multiple drives:
subvolumes / and /vm on an SSD and /home on a second HDD, all under @

Waiting for the day we have a true btrfs installer packaged with the distro!


Strange. I do however format the drive through GParted first, with btrfs. And when running installer it is not greyed out for me. I checked image I'm using and yes, dated same as yours, cinnamon/mate
naughty_bit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:33 am

Re: btrfs issue

Postby sobrus on Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:00 am

I had no problems installing LMDE on btrfs.
After installation just boot Live CD again, and edit fstab on hdd (set btrfs partitions error checking for example to 0 0).

That said,
1) if you are running btrfs you should always be using newest possible kernel. 3.2 is quite ancient already - go for 3.6. BTRFS is gaining many important upgrades and fixes every kernel release.
2) performance will be most probably inferior to ext4 and getting worse as drive gets filled and fragmented (due to copy-on-write and garbage collector)
3) you'll lose about 2GB on each partition (btrfs reserves it).
4) make backups as there is no working fsck yet. afair clonezilla cannot backup partitions compressed by btrfs-lzo, just btrfs-zip or uncompressed.

I've had corrupted btrfs a few times already and gave up using it.
sobrus
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:36 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests