LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) -{CLOSED}

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:58 pm

Regulus74 wrote:Has anyone tried the new Debian repo?
http://http.debian.net/


Works fine for me, multi-arch and all.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneBenson on Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:56 pm

GeneC wrote:
zerozero wrote:i don't think that this multiarch approach was intended for these kind of pkgs but they could at least package the basic :lol: just saying


Yep!... :P
Was pretty sure it wasn't meant to install i386 packages, when amd64 was available. Not even sure why one would want to.. :? (Unless they were me, and playing around.. :lol: )

Perhaps meant more for installing i386 packages not available in the 64bit version? I remember once installing a CAD program only available in 32 bit (Draftsight) by forcing the architecture.
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg -i --force-architecture <package name>

Perhaps I will try it again on this multiarch setup and see if it installs.


I've been following the multiarch discussion with a great deal of interest. I found https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MultiarchSpec which has the following to say:
Although a simple change to a configuration option (dpkg --force-architecture) is sufficient to permit installation of .debs built for another architecture, more information is needed if we want package managers to intelligently resolve the dependencies for these packages. Some dependencies on other packages, such as on ELF libraries, can only be satisfied by a package of the same architecture ("x->x dependency"); others, such as dependencies on an interpreter used by a maintainer script, can be satisfied by a package of any architecture as long as it's functional ("x->any dependency").

Today, dependency resolution is restricted to packages with the same architecture (with the exception of Architecture: all packages), and a package of the same name but a different architecture is assumed to not be co-installable. This spec introduces a new binary package field Multi-Arch, to be set on any package wanting a different behaviour from today, based on this specification.


Although this comes from a Ubuntu wiki it does seem to explain what some of you have been experiencing. Looks like multiarch has a way to go yet. :wink:
GeneBenson
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:13 am

GeneBenson wrote:............. Looks like multiarch has a way to go yet. :wink:


Yep. Its very new and very much expected to not be fully mature yet, but sure holds interesting possibilities for the future... :D
I am not a Skype or Wine user. In the two years I have been using LMDE, the previous DraftSight example is the only 32 bit package I ever tried to install on my (LMDE/Shell/SID) installation.
Looking forward to seeing future developments.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Aug 24, 2012 12:34 pm

Not reporting a breakage at all, but an experiment.
(Things are just TOO quiet in SID).... :lol:

1. I upgraded to XFCE 4.10
2. Added xfapplet and Mintmenu.... 8)

See :arrow: viewtopic.php?f=110&t=110656#p621516

Image

'zerozero' will shake his head in dis-approval... :lol:
(just an experiment... had to use Maya repo..temporarily, and aptitude to solve depends.) :wink:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby zerozero on Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:14 pm

GeneC wrote:'zerozero' will shake his head in dis-approval... :lol:

Image :lol:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Compiling XFCE 4.10 Missing panel plugins.

Postby GeneC on Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:26 pm

If you are at SID/XFCE 4.10 and want to add some missing panel plugins look here...

:arrow: viewtopic.php?f=110&t=110656&p=622096#p622096

I've done the 'weather plugin', and 'date/time'
Weather is a new one, and quite a bit more inclusive...

Image
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:11 pm

Not a breakage, but .... :D
Back some 4 months ago we had to modify our etc/apt/preferences file (or delete it) as Mint libcairo and fontconfig prevented normal SID DU's. That has changed. I just noticed a couple days ago while updating my new KDE/LMDE installtion from UP5 to SID, that was no longer necessary. Upgrade proceeded just fine with the standard Mint preferences
Code: Select all
Package: *
Pin: release o=linuxmint
Pin-Priority: 700

Package: *
Pin: origin packages.linuxmint.com
Pin-Priority: 700

Package: *
Pin: release o=Debian
Pin-Priority: 500


Today, out of curiosity I changed one of my old SID partitions from having no preferences file (I deleted it back when...). To having the standard Mint preferences file (the one above), to see if there were any additional upgrades available. There were -- a couple multimedia files.
Code: Select all
Commit Log for Sat Sep 22 15:59:14 2012
Upgraded the following packages:

libavcodec53 (6:0.8.3-7) to 7:0.10.3-dmo1
libavformat53 (6:0.8.3-7) to 7:0.10.3-dmo1
libavutil51 (6:0.8.3-7) to 7:0.11.2-dmo1

Installed the following packages:
libaacplus2 (2.0.2-dmo1)
libx264-124 (3:0.124.2197+git69a0443-dmo1)


No doubt, of little importance, but might interest some... :P
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby vrkalak on Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:09 pm

I have 3 installs of Debian, on 3 different laptops.

My primary (for work) OS is a basic Debian 6 Squeeze set to 'stable+backports' ... using the backports repro keeps everything up-to-date and Debian is well known for being rock-solid-stable always!! Just keeps getting more and more stable as time goes on.

I recently, installed a new release of Debian 7 Wheezy (testing) after the freeze began. I like what I see with what the new Debian OS is becoming.

Third, but not least, is an original install of LMDE 201012 - upgraded to Sid (unstable). I find nothing lacking with 'unstable'. Pretty, fast, up-to-date and everything works, as they say with most MInt releases - out of the box.

I have installed several Window Managers with my LMDE-Sid install ... Gnome, Xfce, Openbox, Fluxbox, Awesome.

LMDE-Sid ... No problems with stability what-so-ever. Only real major change was not using Mint-Updater, as it can't keep up with updating Sid using the Terminal and the use of APT: Pinning in Preferences.

My LMDE-Sid install is quickly becoming my main OS-distro. :D
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3311
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:14 am

vrkalak wrote:.... My LMDE-Sid install is quickly becoming my main OS-distro. :D


Same here...
Not the slightest hint of a 'hiccup' since early last June.
viewtopic.php?f=198&t=70230&start=1140#p593758
And that was fixed in hours.
I actually had more problems upgrading another partition from UP4 to UP5, that I have had running SID the last year.
That said, I would not recommend running SID, unless you keep a weekly clone, and do daily updates.
Most any xorg or kernel updates make re-installing Nvidia a 'given'..(for me). With SMXI/SGFXI that is a two minute job.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby squeezy on Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:29 am

Sid's been pretty mellow since wheezy got frozen. Is it the calm before the storm? :lol:
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:32 am

Hi Squeezy

Possibly, but if you look at the first post (actual breakages), there have been very few problems in the past year. I suspect most of the new problems will come more from the new DE's (Cinnamon, Mate, Gnome 3.6, et) than actually from Debian SID.
XFCE (I updated to 4.10 from Experimental), and KDE 4.8 have been rock solid.
Anytime you see mass REMOVALS :shock: (and that hasn't happened in a long time), just wait a day or so, and the issue is usually resolved.

Just watch, just because we are saying this, SID will probably implode tomorrow..... :lol:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:37 pm

GregE wrote:
Regulus74 wrote:Has anyone tried the new Debian repo?
http://http.debian.net/


Works fine for me, multi-arch and all.


I have given up on http://http.debian.net for the time being. It did work fine for a while, then problems arose. It was causing me to have to run apt-get update over and over before it would complete correctly. The when I ran dist-upgrade it would constantly not find file, and have to be repeated over and over until it went through. I presume the cause of this is because the various repos do not all update at exactly the same time. I have reverted to the main repo and all the problems have gone.

Anyone else have these issues? Maybe I am just in the "wrong" timezone.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby Regulus74 on Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:01 pm

GregE wrote:Anyone else have these issues? Maybe I am just in the "wrong" timezone.


Here everything is ok. 8)
Arch Linux user
User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby dcihon on Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:16 pm

Hey fellow Sidean's,
I have been away for awhile. Getting my system back running SID again.
This is my second computer change in the last 6 months. I think I am keeping this one for a while but you never know.
It is a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E535.
Here are the specs:
System: Host danc-e535 Kernel 3.2.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
CPU: Dual core AMD A4-4300M APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips 9981.8
Clock Speeds: (1) 1400.00 MHz (2) 1400.00 MHz
Graphics: Card Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Device 9992 X.Org 1.12.4 Res: 1366x768@60.0hz, 1440x900@59.9hz
GLX Renderer AMD Radeon HD 7420G GLX Version 4.2.11762 Compatibility Profile Context Direct Rendering Yes
Audio: Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Device 9902 BusID: 00:01.1
Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Hudson Azalia Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:14.2
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network: Card-1 Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port 2000 BusID: 01:00.0
Card-2 Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter driver rtl8192ce at port 1000 BusID: 02:00.0
Disks: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (8.1% used) 1: /dev/sda WDC_WD5000BPKT 500.1GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 15G used: 7.4G (56%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 15G used: 7.4G (56%) fs: ext4
ID:/home size: 430G used: 38G (10%) fs: ext4 ID:swap-1 size: 15.96GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: N/A mobo: N/A gpu: 44.00C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info: Processes 152 Uptime 49 min Memory 5077.1/7431.5MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23

Sources List as of right now:
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free #"SID"
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org sid main non-free #"SID Multimedia"


Ok now for my question:
I like trying all the DE that are available to run. Obviously on one machine this can be dangerous I guess with duplication of packages.
So right now I have Base XFCE and have added. Cinnamon , MATE, KDE.
All are somewhat working.
I had a problem with Cinnamon not starting properly. I was getting the Something went wrong box and only a desktop with Icons on it (no task bar).
I could go out to a terminal and type cinnamon -- replace and the task bar would come back.
I did some reading and found out where to put cinnamon --replace in a startup location and that works for loading Cinnamon.
However when I load MATE I get the MATE menu at the top and the Cinnamon Menu at the bottom. Kind of interesting way to work.
I don't really want the Cinnamon menu in MATE. It works ok but I don't need 2 menus.
I removed cinnamon --replace but it is still showing up.
Not sure where I need to get rid of it from.
Thanks for the help guys.
Glad to be back with the fun of SID.
I've gotten pretty good with rebuilding my system from time to time.
/home being on a separate partition is the way to go.
Dan
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:03 am

Hi Dan.

I have a somewhat different setup. I basically use a different installation for each (not always :) ) desktop. (See my signature line). To avoid such problems.
Perhaps if you make a different user for each desktop, it will avoid your problems. Some autostart programs do not work well (or at all) for various desktops. Using Compiz with Gnome, KDE, as an example will crash. Compiz does work fine with XFCE, Mate.

Good Luck .. :wink:

Code: Select all
gene@zordon:~$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb [arch=amd64,i386] http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream incoming backport romeo import
           deb [arch=amd64,i386] http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free #"SID"
           deb [arch=amd64,i386] http://www.deb-multimedia.org sid main non-free #"SID Multimedia"
         
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby dcihon on Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:01 am

Gene,
Thanks for the reply.
Another thought I had was to use one of them as my main desktop , xfce, kde, whatever and Virtualbox the rest that I want to play with.
Mixing them all on one install even though I keep trying doesn't really work like you said.
Thanks
Dan
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby dcihon on Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:44 am

I have another question I just thought of.
Can I Install the KDE version for LMDE and then change the sources to SID?
Thanks
Dan
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby cwwgateway on Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:49 pm

dcihon wrote:I have another question I just thought of.
Can I Install the KDE version for LMDE and then change the sources to SID?
Thanks
Dan

You can.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:11 pm

Dan

It might be heresy around here, but if you avoid Cinnamon and Mate and Compiz, then you can run Gnome/KDE/Xfce simultaneously. If you avoid Compiz and thus desktop effects in Mate (maybe Cinnamon I have not used it for a while) then you probably could run the lot. I have Gnome 3.6, Xfce 4.10 and KDE 4.8.4 installed in parallel. I started with LMDE Xfce, removed Mint update repos and added testing and then Sid, then added Gnome and then KDE. I am now running Gnome from experimental, but might be a step too far for anyone who relies on a stable system. Maybe others can answer the question of whether or not Cinnamon will run without Compiz. You would probably be better to choose Cinnamon or Gnome and not run the two together as there is too much shared infrastructure.

Just the way I do it.

Greg
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby cwwgateway on Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:51 pm

I have no idea about MATE but Cinnamon is very similar to Gnome Shell so I'd think if you could run Gnome Shell you could run Cinnamon.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests