Broke my sound output,

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Broke my sound output,

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:20 pm

I've had no problem with sound until today, sadly whilst showing off linux on my machine to a co-worker. I work in a hotel and, as people would come and go, I had to keep muting video files played both on firefox (youtube) and with vlc, muted variously at both locations and also at the "mixer" at the bottom panel. I did so in no particular order, just whichever way seemed convenient.

Then I couldn't get anything to make a sound. I've looked at the volume settings on all the above mentioned items, I've also checked the hardware "Mute" button on the keyboard, nope.

Anyplace else obvious (or not so obvious) I should look to turn the sound on? I'm guessing something got written by the machine and now isn't getting un-wrote, is all. But really, I'm just a driver, and not much of a mechanic.

If it helps, here's the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -Fx


System: Host zora_neale Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i5-2430M (-HT-MCP-) cache 3072 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips 9577.38
Clock Speeds: (1) 800.00 MHz (2) 800.00 MHz (3) 800.00 MHz (4) 800.00 MHz
Graphics: Card-1 Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller Card-2 NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 520M] X.Org 1.12.1.902 Res: 1366x768@60.0hz
GLX Renderer Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile GLX Version 3.0 Mesa 8.0.3 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio: Card Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network: Card-1 Broadcom BCM43227 802.11b/g/n driver wl BusID: 03:00.0
Card-2 Broadcom NetLink BCM57785 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver tg3 v: 3.121 BusID: 02:00.0
Disks: HDD Total Size: 640.1GB (1.7% used) 1: /dev/sda WDC_WD6400BPVT 640.1GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 87G used: 8.1G (10%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 87G used: 8.1G (10%) fs: ext4
ID:swap-1 size: 12.70GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 48.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes 147 Uptime 41 min Memory 421.5/5840.0MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23


Thanks in advance, as always.
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Broke my sound output,

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:56 pm

I've looked around, but haven't found anything similar (was working, not now working). It did work fine with an old Linux Mint Live Julia CD I had, so I don't think it's the hardware dying suddenly.

I do wonder about the .pulse directory in /home ... could one of the items in there with names like "/3c57545fd9007fcac1f08fcd00001118-device-volumes.tdb" be the culprit? I bet it's some parameter in some file somewhere in pulse, but I know nada, and people who have solutions don't ever seem to have this problem.

Still open to the most imaginative of suggestions.

:)
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Broke my sound output,

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:55 pm

Lotta lookers, no takers? S'cool. I tried a couple of random re-installs of pulse audio ... but I think it was beyond that. Something was installed in order to use the wireless portal at work (NoScript said ABE was blocking it's install till I said let it go.) This sound problem began shortly after that, but I didn't even consider mentioning it until my computer couldn't run my live distro discs. Perhaps whatever it was broke Grub somehow? I dunno. Anyway, it did something because after this, I couldn't run live distros unless they were older. That's broke enough for me. I just deleted and reinstalled the OS, all's cool now (but no more wireless for me at work.)

Thanks anyway y'all! :wink:
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Broke my sound output,

Postby Zodak on Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:18 pm

This just happened to me. I was watching a video, and I noticed some audio clipping, so I decided to mess with it a bit in the mixer. I muted and then unmuted, and then had no sound--not just in flash, but systemwide, it seems.

I've done some of the simple things, namely: un/reinstalled pulseaudio, ensured that I was in the audio group, and made a new /etc/asound.conf file.

Nothing has worked yet.

Here's the output of

Code: Select all
inxi -A


Audio: Card-1 Intel N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel
Card-2 NVIDIA GF119 HDMI Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24


The card that is set as default is Card-1, which is the one that I want to use.

-----------------------------------
EDIT
-----------------------------------

I fixed my issue! Hopefully it's the same as yours, QuotidianMe2.

I was doing more digging on the issue, when I came across a post on a different forum about alsamixer reporting different settings than amixer. So using terminal, I looked at the output from alsamixer, and it said everything was unmuted. Then I looked out the output for amixer, and sure enough, it said that 'master' was 'off'. So once I ran the following command, my problem was resolved.

Code: Select all
amixer sset Master toggle


Hope it works for you!
Zodak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Broke my sound output,

Postby starccraft on Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:57 am

PackardBell Easynote 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz LMDE XFCE
starccraft
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:18 am

Re: Broke my sound output,

Postby nichochar on Tue Jan 29, 2013 2:20 am

I had the exact same issue, and the amixer command fixed it. Thanks.
nichochar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:10 am


Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests