Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problems?

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby d00med on Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:03 pm

rmcellig wrote:I just installed a new copy of Linux Mate 13 and tried upgrading to 1.4 again. This is as far as I got. Nothing seems to happen:

randy@mint13mate ~ $ sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://packages.mate-desktop.org/repo/ubuntu precise main"
[sudo] password for randy:
randy@mint13mate ~ $


Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://packages.mate-desktop.org/repo/ubuntu precise main"
printf "\nPackage: *\nPin: origin packages.mate-desktop.org\nPin-Priority: 700\n" | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/preferences
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install mate-archive-keyring
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
d00med
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:55 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby rmcellig on Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:27 pm

Works fine now. Thanks!!
Take care,

Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show every Sunday from noon-2pm or 89.1 fM
rmcellig
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 11:47 am

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby gabrielwaynel on Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:31 pm

rmcellig wrote:I just installed a new copy of Linux Mate 13 and tried upgrading to 1.4 again. This is as far as I got. Nothing seems to happen:

randy@mint13mate ~ $ sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://packages.mate-desktop.org/repo/ubuntu precise main"
[sudo] password for randy:
randy@mint13mate ~ $


Not every command gets a "reply" from terminal. The command succeeded :) Tho it would be nice if it said "OK" or something lol.
gabrielwaynel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:52 pm

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby rmcellig on Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:00 am

If there were some kind of feedback that the command worked instead of just going back to the default prompt would be nice especially for new users to the terminal.
Take care,

Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show every Sunday from noon-2pm or 89.1 fM
rmcellig
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 11:47 am

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby gabrielwaynel on Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:27 am

rmcellig wrote:If there were some kind of feedback that the command worked instead of just going back to the default prompt would be nice especially for new users to the terminal.


Agreed.

No issues here with 1.4.

Other than my issue with having both Caja and Nautilus installed: viewtopic.php?f=206&t=115048

Other than that I'm loving Mate. Unity and Gnome3... like someone came in an rearranged your stuff, hid some things, just being plain annoying and saying "but isn't it prettier and more efficient?" No I have my stuff how I like it, stop fracking with it!
gabrielwaynel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:52 pm

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby rmcellig on Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:51 pm

I agree! That's why I moved to Linux Mint. I have Mate, XFCE and Cinammon installed on my laptop in three seperate partitions. I just deleted my Windows 7 partition which I never used. Not sure what to do with the now empty partition.

I am also running Puppy Linux 5.2.8 from DVD. I love this OS as well.

I am toying around with IceWM, Fluxbox, and Openbox. Not sure how intense it is to configure these Window managers. You see I come from the Mac side (since 1988), but am really loving Linux. I hardly use my 24" iMac anymore.
Take care,

Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show every Sunday from noon-2pm or 89.1 fM
rmcellig
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 11:47 am

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby heavy metal on Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:04 pm

I have upgraded from mate 1.2 to 1.4 following the instructions on this post, first week it worked good, only issue was a pc freeze or crash, but only once, on the second week the pc gave me a kernel panic and a couple of issues I didn't had with mate 1.2, so I got fed up, backed up my files and made the painfull job of reinstalling linuxmint again, so my advice to linux newbies or anyone else who might be interested in upgrading to mate 1.4 following this post, is to wait for linuxmint developers to made it available through update manager or prepare yourself to do a little work restoring your pc like it was before :x :evil:
P.S. I want to make clear i'm not blamming anyone I did the upgrade @ my own risk, just a little advice for you folks! :wink:
Linux Mint Debian Edition MATE DE 64-bit
Gigabyte G41M-ES2L--->2gb ram
Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.60ghz-->E5300
WD-6400AAKS-Caviar-SE16-640gb
Proud user of LMDE
User avatar
heavy metal
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Puerto Rico

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby rmcellig on Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:00 am

I upgraded to MATE 1.4 about 3 weeks ago and so far no issues. Works great for me.
Take care,

Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show every Sunday from noon-2pm or 89.1 fM
rmcellig
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 11:47 am

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby joshg253 on Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:08 am

Running MATE 1.4 with no problems.
(HP 6510b laptop / Mint 13 MATE x64)
Image
User avatar
joshg253
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby melltuga on Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:29 am

So just to be sure, Mate hasn't been updated by the Developers yet? I would have to use the PPA?
melltuga
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 9:43 am

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby xenopeek on Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:47 am

melltuga wrote:So just to be sure, Mate hasn't been updated by the Developers yet? I would have to use the PPA?

Yes.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14983
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Have you upgraded to Mate 1.4? Have you had any problem

Postby SilFox on Sat Nov 17, 2012 1:45 pm

I just installed a new copy of Mint 13 Mate, updated, and then installed (upgraded) Mate to 1.4 following instructions from second post. So far no problems. BTW, I changed repo from
Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://packages.mate-desktop.org/repo/ubuntu precise main"

to
Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://repo.mate-desktop.org/ubuntu precise main"

as seen here --> http://mate-desktop.org/2012/07/30/mate-1-4-released/
Image
SilFox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:10 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to MATE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests