Losing Desktop and window bars

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Losing Desktop and window bars

Postby ac0ax on Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:33 pm

I've keep losing my desktop and window bars. I've tried all the fixes that people have posted in here, all to no avail. I've nuked the system and started over I don't know how many times.

The funnest part is I set up my old laptop with the 32 bit version and my daughter has been using it for a week with no problems. On my laptop I get umm maybe a couple of hours before it breaks again. So tonight I set up xubuntu to see if it would do the same thing. Its been running fine so far. So I don't know if its xfce 4.10 or something to do with Mintmenu. The reason I say that is I have not set that up on the other laptop.

I will say xfce mint 13 runs faster and smoother then xubuntu, but I want it to work.
ac0ax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Losing Desktop and window bars

Postby DL-IND on Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:41 pm

I am a very new user of Linux Mint.
I have just experienced the same problem with Mint 13 xfce.
All windows miss the top bar on which the minimize, maximize, close buttons and application-name should be.

How to solve this issue?
Thank you.
DL-IND
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Losing Desktop and window bars

Postby DL-IND on Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:49 am

Halo again.

Well, I accessed the 'recovery' mode via grub. I saw some options there, but got confused and just selected 'resume'. The problem of losing the top bar just disappeared, but the resolution was too low, perhaps 800x600.
After rebooting, there is no problem; the bar of each window is there and the resolution of screen is correct.

Now, I am confused; why did that thing solve the issue.

Thanks
DL-IND
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Losing Desktop and window bars

Postby jjaythomas on Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:42 am

What video card using?
if can access menu see if can get into 'window manager' or 'window manager tweaks'

if can't probally means 'xfwm' and/or 'xfdesktop' not running....need to activate those ang kill process of other wm's that may be running.(use task/system monitor/manager Then resave session, and make sure at logout box check box to save session NOT CHECKED.

P.S. stay away from 'MintMenu' in Xfce it was designed for the Main Edition (Gnome) and the port to Xfce still has some glitches. :wink:

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Losing Desktop and window bars

Postby dcihon on Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:47 am

I don't know if your system is set up the same as mine but what I did for this problem is
in Application Autostart section in settings added xfwm4 to autostart and that solved it for me.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: Losing Desktop and window bars

Postby jjaythomas on Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:08 pm

That is basically (not technically) the same
you should be able to resave session in 'settings>session and startup' and not have to load as a startup app.
In using as a startup app I'm not sure if checks it self if running 1st (so might get multiple instances loading taking extra time and resources (memory & cpu cycles).

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm


Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests