Partitions showing double

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Important information

Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:48 am

Hi,

I installed LMDE a few months ago then edited fstab to have my other partitions mounted as well (not on auto).
Now when I open Nemo/Caja/Nautilus I see the partitions double (the last 3 Datenbank, TAUSCH, Filme).

Here's a screenshot:
caja_partitions.png
caja_partitions.png (12.81 KiB) Viewed 1216 times


Does anyone know what caused this? Any more info needed? If you know a topic about that please link it. :)
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby xenopeek on Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 pm

Can you share the contents of your /etc/fstab file? And the output of:
Code: Select all
sudo parted -l
Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 22
Level 22
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:22 pm

fstab
Code: Select all
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc   /proc   proc   defaults   0   0
# /dev/sda3
UUID=dcb1e959-1990-42fc-9048-4bf1856aca9a   /               ext4   rw,errors=remount-ro   0   1
# /dev/sdc3
UUID=25e3e9d2-c84b-47f7-9790-9c241cee3172   /home            ext4   defaults            0   2
# /dev/sda4
UUID=dc741f26-025e-4910-838b-daa05562c925   /media/LMDE\040SSD   ext4   defaults            0   2
# /dev/sdb2
UUID=9a8aafa9-9821-4240-a58c-374a756d32c3   /media/Datenbank   ext4   noauto,user,defaults   0   2
# /dev/sdb3
UUID=8804-0168                        /media/TAUSCH      vfat   noauto,user,uid=1000,umask=0022      0   0
# /dev/sdd1
UUID=77cc2456-e876-49c5-9697-ca650dfbdb37   /media/Filme      ext4   noauto,user,defaults   0   2


parted (wasn't installed):
Code: Select all
zyzz@zyzz-pc:~$ sudo parted -l
Model: ATA SAMSUNG SSD 830 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 128GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
 1      1049kB  106MB   105MB   primary  ntfs         boot
 2      106MB   62,9GB  62,8GB  primary  ntfs
 3      62,9GB  83,9GB  21,0GB  primary  ext4
 4      83,9GB  128GB   44,1GB  primary  ext4


Model: ATA ST3300620AS (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 300GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End    Size    Type     File system  Flags
 1      1049kB  105GB  105GB   primary  ntfs         boot
 2      105GB   268GB  163GB   primary  ext4
 3      268GB   300GB  32,0GB  primary  fat32        lba


Model: ATA WDC WD1002FBYS-0 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdc: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End     Size   Type     File system  Flags
 3      30,1GB  1000GB  970GB  primary  ext4


Model: ATA Hitachi HDP72505 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdd: 500GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End    Size   Type     File system  Flags
 1      32,3kB  500GB  500GB  primary  ext4


Thanks. :)
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby xenopeek on Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:49 pm

I'm not sure, but /media is for mounting removable storage devices. /mnt is where you would normally mount internal hard disks with /etc/fstab. Perhaps this is causing some duplication? Also note that you have /dev/sda4 mounted as "LMDE SSD" in /media, and hence it is showing the remove device icon next to its name in the file manager's sidebar. I'd think unmounting everything from /media, moving the folders there to /mnt and updating /etc/fstab to mount on /mnt instead of /media may possibly resolve this.
Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 22
Level 22
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:33 pm

Now the partitions are all gone from the sidebar. Only the 2 Windows partitions not mentioned in fstab are showing.
When I open Caja as admin I have the 3 double partitions showing once and being mounted (which should not be if I understand the fstab correctly).
A "sudo umount -a" makes them disappear as well (and some error about not removable devices.... lucky me linux is smarter than me here *g*)
A "mount -a" mounts my LMDE partition and nothing else (as it should be). The 3 partitions are now showing in the admin Caja ready to be mounted via click but not in Caja without admin rights. (Nemo/Nautilus same).
Here a screenshot ("Print" seems to be bugged, I got several different screenshots, first only my background then firefox, then only a few windows and finally the correct one (after a few Cinnamon restarts):
comparison.png
comparison.png (12.36 KiB) Viewed 1198 times

In the screenshot I unmounted TAUSCH. I finally know now what the "double" symbol was representing. :)

Any clue? :)
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby xenopeek on Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:55 pm

Mounting in /mnt is perhaps not the best option for noauto. File managers don't show unmounted devices there. Not sure how to get it do what you want. Moving it here, as I think this is more fstab related than desktop environment.

Am I making a worse mess of this? :shock:
Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 22
Level 22
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:14 pm

Oh ok. Well I can revert that anytime. :)
But why is LMDE SSD not showing which is on auto mount?
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby xenopeek on Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:20 pm

Automatically mounted partitions aren't shown, unless you mount them in /media as you previously did. The partition is mounted and you can access the files at /mnt, so why would you want to see the partition in the sidebar as you aren't going to unmount it as you would with removable devices that are normally mounted in /media.
Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 22
Level 22
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:31 pm

That makes sense. For practical purposes I will put that back to media then again or put the folder to the sidebar which would be the "cleaner" solution. :)

EDIT: Linux doesn't shut down harddrives that aren't used anyway right? So I could automount them all and use "folders" to access them instead of the harddrive symbol. They are all build in anyway.

A bit offtopic. Do you know if there's an auto shutdown for idle hdds like Win7 has? (Less power consumption, noise and longer life if not started several times a day. I use these drives only rarely.)
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby xenopeek on Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:15 am

Folder in the sidebar is indeed more neat solution. Also, they didn't write that functionality for the sidebar for nothing :wink:

I haven't fiddled with power management much, as I'm not running a laptop. But I think if you idle your computer it will power down devices such as hard disks.
Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 22
Level 22
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:06 am

I now moved everything to /mnt and have it automounted. I think I need to get used to that but ok.

At the moment the drives aren't powering themselves down (I could hear that as under Windows I notice the noise difference). Maybe that gets implemented to LMDE sometime in the future. (Or I find a program that does that for me.)

Thanks for your help. :)
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby xenopeek on Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:43 am

hdparm is a tool for configuring power management on hard disks. See heading "Disk Power Management" here: https://lesswatts.org/tips/disks.php
Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 22
Level 22
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Partitions showing double

Postby Zyzz on Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:07 pm

Ah cool. The same program I found via googling. But it was a bit too much to read for today for me so I just bookmarked it. :D
http://info4admins.com/tips-to-spindown ... or-ubuntu/
Zyzz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests