"could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutdown

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby rez on Sat Sep 29, 2012 11:11 am

I am getting the same message but not during shutdown...

I installed Mint 13 Maya because my windows 7 crashed. Configured a dual boot and am using Mint now(very new to it). Downloaded BitDefender for Linux to scan the windows partition for viruses and about 10 minutes into the scan the computer shuts down automatically and I get the could not write bytes message. This does not happen with any other program or if I use BitDefender to scan the Linux File system.

This is a pretty frustrating problem for me as I really need to do a thorough scan of my windows files. I want to use both OS going forward because I am not yet comfortable enough with Mint to use it alone. Can someone please shed some light on this issue and what I can do to complete the scan?

Appreciate any help you guys can provide
rez
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 11:04 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby andyf on Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:33 pm

Hi rez,

Is your machine a laptop?

The reason I ask is that my second-hand laptop also used to shut itself down during virus scans (and sometimes whilst watching DVDs)

The problem turned out to be that the cooling system was clogged up with dust so the processor would overheat if it was working hard like it would during a virus scan.

You can add a cpu temperature monitor by right clicking on an empty part of the panel at the bottom of your screen, choose 'add to panel' and scroll down to 'Hardware Sensors Monitor'. Click on it and then click 'Add'. On my machine the default is to display the CPU temperature. I think that will be true for all machines but you can explore the options by right-clicking the new icon and choosing 'preferances'. Your options may be different to mine.

Like I said, the default seems to be to display the cpu temperature so assuming that is true on your machine too, try running your virus scan again and keep an eye on the reported temperature.

My laptop used to shut down around the 85C mark.

You'll soon find out whether overheating is your problem. If it is, it's either screwdriver time - or pay somebody to clean it out.

Hoping that helps.

Andy.
andyf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:57 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby AvanOsch on Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:50 am

AvanOsch wrote:The following seemed to fix it:
1) Open Terminal, and go root
2) Run the following code: (Replace mdm with lightdm if you use LightDM)
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure mdm

3) Reboot (And see the "Broken pipe" message for the last time)
4) At this time the message was gone, but the Mint desktop did not load properly the first boot (Don't know if y'all will get this too)
5) Rebooted again, after which the desktop loaded properly too...

This seemed to fix it for me...


I Just received an email, asking if this solution actually works.

Well, it's still working for me.
The error has not returned after about a week...
AvanOsch
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby oblakobijec on Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:34 am

AvanOsch wrote:
AvanOsch wrote:The following seemed to fix it:
1) Open Terminal, and go root
2) Run the following code: (Replace mdm with lightdm if you use LightDM)
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure mdm

3) Reboot (And see the "Broken pipe" message for the last time)
4) At this time the message was gone, but the Mint desktop did not load properly the first boot (Don't know if y'all will get this too)
5) Rebooted again, after which the desktop loaded properly too...

This seemed to fix it for me...


I Just received an email, asking if this solution actually works.

Well, it's still working for me.
The error has not returned after about a week...


Hi, I followed your instructions but doesn't work for me.. I'm using Linux Mint 13 MATE 32bit, mdm manager.
User avatar
oblakobijec
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:06 am
Location: Middle Europe

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby Amithiel on Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:25 am

Hey guys, actually i also have that message at shutdown.

Using Maya Cinnamon x64. The shutdown it's only delayed by about 2 secs. Anyway, it would be "perfect" if they fix it :)
Image
LinuxMint 17 rc Cinnamon + Kernel 3.14.4 = Happiness
User avatar
Amithiel
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby Incentive I.C on Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:03 am

Well by now its quite obvious its not going to be fixed in this version of Linux mint via an update( With mint 14 right around the corner )(It might be but this has not attracted the attention of any programmers that are actually capable of making something that can fix the problem...) and people just keep saying it over and over again. If you have this problem please you don't have to post it anymore i believe enough people have said the same thing that someone who knows how to fix it will catch what you are asking. Instead lets post solution or something abnormal that this message is causing( Someone said the message appeared 3 times and someone also said they are not getting the message at shut down.) If it simply says could not write bytes: Broken pipe at shut down( The modem manger might pop up to of course.)at shut down of your computer you don't have to post that there are many people that have done that for you :wink:
But if you still want to post something like "I have this problem too, fix it please" by all means post it.
The best way to learn from it is break it OS's (is there a plural for OS?) included.
User avatar
Incentive I.C
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby Amithiel on Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:02 am

the thing is:
1 guy posting an issue: screw it.probably its his fault

20 guys posting an issue: hey...it might be a bug indeed..

at least i see it that way
Image
LinuxMint 17 rc Cinnamon + Kernel 3.14.4 = Happiness
User avatar
Amithiel
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby pickles99 on Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:27 am

Same problem here on a new Toshiba Satellite c855.

None of the fixes mentioned work.
pickles99
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:20 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby brusapa on Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:20 pm

I'm having the same problem on a Lenovo L430 with MATE x64, any of the solutions posted above seems to work for me... :(
brusapa
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:15 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby joshg253 on Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:49 am

AvanOsch wrote:
AvanOsch wrote:The following seemed to fix it:
1) Open Terminal, and go root
2) Run the following code: (Replace mdm with lightdm if you use LightDM)
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure mdm

3) Reboot (And see the "Broken pipe" message for the last time)
4) At this time the message was gone, but the Mint desktop did not load properly the first boot (Don't know if y'all will get this too)
5) Rebooted again, after which the desktop loaded properly too...

This seemed to fix it for me...


I Just received an email, asking if this solution actually works.

Well, it's still working for me.
The error has not returned after about a week...

Worked for me. Thanks!
(Mint 13 x64 / MATE)
Image
User avatar
joshg253
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby A Future Pilot on Fri Oct 12, 2012 11:53 am

Worked here as well (Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon 64bit)
User avatar
A Future Pilot
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 9:09 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby joshg253 on Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:01 pm

I spoke too soon . . . The second reboot after running the command did not display the "broken pipe" error, but later when I shut down I saw the error again.

Package manager doesn't show anything under Broken packages. All updates have been installed.
Image
User avatar
joshg253
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:29 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby A Future Pilot on Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:46 pm

Actually same here, lol. Second reboot didn't show it, but I'm seeing it again now.
User avatar
A Future Pilot
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 9:09 am

I switched to Cinnamon and now, no more shutdown problem

Postby pepperminty on Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:16 am

Hi, folks. I'm the original poster (OP). I have recently switched replaced MATE with a fresh install of Mint 13 Cinnamon. I don't have anymore problems shutting down. When I was with MATE, there were times the computer never shutdown, even after 20 minutes. But with Cinnamon, It shuts down in a few seconds, every time!


UPDATE: I wrote the "No more problems with Cinnamon" message above on Oct. 13, Saturday. Today is Oct. 16, Tuesday, and I take back my statement. I still have the same problems with Cinnamon. One night, I clicked Shutdown on my Cinnamon computer and the next morning (about 8 hours later), the computer was still stuck on shutdown.
Last edited by pepperminty on Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby mf-linux on Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:49 am

Congratulations, but I think in my case there must be something more. I do not experience delay when shutting down my laptop, only this briefly appearing message. And the same with Maya-Mate, Ubuntu (fresh install with Unity and Gnome 3), Maya XFCE (again fresh install), ... and in different computers, not only the laptop. I hope you will not experience again the problem, but if you do, please let us know (how much time without problems since fresh install?).
mf-linux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:36 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby pepperminty on Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:56 pm

mf-linux,

My joy was premature!

I wrote the "No more problems with Cinnamon" message above on Oct. 13, Saturday. Today is Oct. 16, Tuesday, and I take back my statement. I still have the same problems with Cinnamon. One night, I clicked Shutdown on my Cinnamon computer and the next morning (about 8 hours later), the computer was still stuck on shutdown.

I'm going to try Ubuntu.
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby RytronII on Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:09 pm

I get the message "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" also occasionally on shutdown.
Husse: "Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it."
Image
User avatar
RytronII
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 4:46 am
Location: Emerald Isle

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby AlbertP on Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:40 pm

Many people get this message and it is harmless. To anybody who has shutdown problems, you'll have a different problem so please open a new topic (and tell us what computer you have).
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Broken pipes - could not write bytes

Postby tomC on Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:00 pm

Everything seems to be working OK, but when I log off I get a message saying "Broken pipes - could not write bytes".
What does that mean and is it anything to worry about?
I am just experimenting with Mint and if I have to reinstall it that is OK, but of course I would rather not reinstall if I don't have to.
tomC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:43 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby zerozero on Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:37 pm

[topics merged, same subject]
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adfd1, Google Adsense [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, malligt and 27 guests