Sound suddenly stopped working [no longer resolved]

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Sound suddenly stopped working [no longer resolved]

Postby twitchnikov on Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:58 pm

I recently upgraded to Maya, and had no problems for the first few days. Today, however, I experienced a system lockup when trying to connect to a remote samba drive, and when I rebooted, my sound was gone.

When I go to Settings>Sound, the only output device I see is "Dummy Output".

Some more stuff that might be helpful:

Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CONEXANT Analog [CONEXANT Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0




Code: Select all
$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:16.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family KT Controller (rev 04)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev b4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev b4)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation QM67 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF119 [Quadro NVS 4200M] (rev a1)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 (rev 35)
0d:00.0 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd MMC/SD Host Controller (rev 08)



Code: Select all
$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
pci_stub               12622  1
vboxpci                23200  0
vboxnetadp             13382  0
vboxnetflt             23441  0
vboxdrv               287082  3 vboxpci,vboxnetadp,vboxnetflt
des_generic            21415  0
md4                    12595  0
nls_utf8               12557  6
cifs                  287273  10
bnep                   18281  2
rfcomm                 47604  0
parport_pc             32866  0
ppdev                  17113  0
binfmt_misc            17540  1
snd_hda_codec_conexant    62128  1
btusb                  18288  0
bluetooth             180104  11 bnep,rfcomm,btusb
cdc_ncm                17399  0
usbnet                 26212  1 cdc_ncm
cdc_acm                26858  0
cdc_wdm                17581  0
uvcvideo               72627  0
videodev               98259  1 uvcvideo
v4l2_compat_ioctl32    17128  1 videodev
joydev                 17693  0
arc4                   12529  2
mei                    41616  0
snd_hda_intel          33773  2
snd_hda_codec         127706  2 snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel
thinkpad_acpi          81819  0
snd_hwdep              13668  1 snd_hda_codec
psmouse                87603  0
snd_seq_midi           13324  0
snd_pcm                97188  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_rawmidi            30748  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event     14899  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                61896  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer              29990  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device         14540  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
serio_raw              13211  0
snd                    78855  13 snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,thinkpad_acpi,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore              15091  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         18529  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
i915                  468651  3
iwlwifi               328352  0
mac80211              506816  1 iwlwifi
cfg80211              205544  2 iwlwifi,mac80211
mac_hid                13253  0
tpm_tis                18804  0
nvram                  14413  1 thinkpad_acpi
nouveau               774571  1
ttm                    76949  1 nouveau
mxm_wmi                12979  1 nouveau
wmi                    19256  1 mxm_wmi
drm_kms_helper         46978  2 i915,nouveau
drm                   242038  6 i915,nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
i2c_algo_bit           13423  2 i915,nouveau
video                  19596  2 i915,nouveau
lp                     17799  0
parport                46562  3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
usbhid                 47199  0
hid                    99559  1 usbhid
sdhci_pci              18826  0
sdhci                  33205  1 sdhci_pci
e1000e                156693  0



In response to another thread, I tried this, with no effect:

sudo aptitude --purge reinstall linux-sound-base alsa-base alsa-utils linux-image-`uname -r` linux-ubuntu-modules-`uname -r` libasound2


I have also tried rebooting cold. No luck. I am running 64 bit Mint with Cinamon 1.6 on a Lenovo T420 laptop.

What can I try next?

Thanks!
Last edited by twitchnikov on Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
twitchnikov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:55 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound suddenly stopped working

Postby twitchnikov on Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:41 am

I solved my problem by modifying this file:

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

and adding this line:

options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=1 model=auto


Details here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1316634
twitchnikov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:55 am

Re: Sound suddenly stopped working [no longer resolved]

Postby twitchnikov on Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:47 pm

I rebooted my machine again today, and now my original sound problem is back, with the exact same symptoms. Unfortunately, this time the solution I posted will not work, as that line is already in my /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf file, and I doubt that adding it a second time will help.

Any ideas how to diagnose my lack of sound?

Thanks!
twitchnikov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:55 am

Re: Sound suddenly stopped working [no longer resolved]

Postby bigj231 on Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:05 pm

Try restarting Pulse. Alt+F2 and then input
Code: Select all
pulseaudio -k
It works for me most of the time. the other times I realize I should be working instead of screwing around on youtube or I just restart. Also, install pavucontrol and see if your streams are actually outputting sound.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Sound suddenly stopped working [no longer resolved]

Postby twitchnikov on Sat Nov 03, 2012 7:29 am

Thanks for the suggestion, but it had no effect. The only device shown on Sound>Output tab is "Dummy Output" even after restarting Pulse.

I will add that the machine does make sound during login and just after login when the windows manager is loading.

Also, restarting doesn't fix the problem, so that's not a solution.
twitchnikov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:55 am

Re: Sound suddenly stopped working [no longer resolved]

Postby twitchnikov on Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:31 am

Further investigation seems to suggest that the sound issue _is_ related to PulseAudio somehow. I uninstalled then reinstalled PulseAudio, and now, if I start the pulse server manually after restarting the machine, I have sound again. For the moment.
twitchnikov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:55 am

Re: Sound suddenly stopped working [resolved]

Postby VeryNewToMint on Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:13 pm

I also could see only "dummy output" under the "Output" tab of "Sound". I had no sound. Hitting alt-F2 and entering "pulseaudio -k" worked for me. Now I can see my 2 output devices under the "Output" tab, and my sound works! Mint 14, Cinnamon, 64-bit, built in audio on Dell motherboard. Thanks! (oops - it looks like I need to do this each time after reboot or perhaps login).

** The problem is gone now. It seems to have been fixed by updating. I don't need this work-around anymore.
VeryNewToMint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:17 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests