Kodak

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:54 pm

How do I connect to my Kodak printer?
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:13 am

Usually they get detected automatically
Better see here for your model
http://www.openprinting.org/printers
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby remoulder on Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:03 am

Roger Bird wrote:How do I connect to my Kodak printer?

Please read how to get help
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:19 pm

I don't suppose it matters to you guys that I can't understand what they are all saying. I guess Linux Mint is only for computer wizards.
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:14 am

Roger Bird wrote:I don't suppose it matters to you guys that I can't understand what they are all saying. I guess Linux Mint is only for computer wizards.

It's true, that in general Linux doesn't BabySit you.

See if the camera can be set to PTP mode
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:11 pm

caf4926, I was hoping for baby-sitting. But guidance that gets me somewhere will do.

I have a Kodak ESP 3.2 manual and disc right in front of me, so that will be my next step. If that does not work, I will get back here and do some more whining.

I know enough to know that this was going to be my most difficult task. There are endless printers and drivers in this world, and Kodak would not think that it was worth their time to cater to (or baby-sit as some people would say) the Linux community. (:->)

Roger
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:36 pm

Can you just confirm if you are using KDE, Mate, or other?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:37 pm

Sorry to take so long. I am using MATE.

Roger
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:35 am

Sorry
Somehow I go mixed up between Printer and Camera

Try this
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cupsdri ... urce=files
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:48 am

So, now I have a file in my downloads folder called c2esp_25c-1_i386.deb. I tried to print something and I am told that there is no printer installed and could it go look for a printer. So I click yes, and it does not find anything, including c2esp_25c-1_i386.deb.

So, what next?
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:03 am

Try clicking or double clicking the file you downloaded, you were supposed to install it...
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:17 am

I tried that many times. It comes with a dialogue box and I can read that it is the right program, and then it croaks right in front of my face and closes.
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:23 am

Not sure then...

Have you tried the CUPS web interface?
http://localhost:631/

See if you can configure from there
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:05 am

I will work on it tomorrow. Thanks a lot for the help. My mental health would also like to thank you. :D
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:40 am

So, I looked into CUPS. I got to the part where I clicked on "Add Printer". The program asked for authentication, like "User Name" and "Password". I used my normal user name and password. It did not accept them, and I could not find any place to register.

Also, with an address of: http://localhost:631/admin Isn't that inside of my own computer. Why do I need authenication for a program inside of my own computer. What is going on with this?
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Sun Nov 11, 2012 2:08 am

try
root
your password
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:56 pm

So, I tried the word "root" and the password "your password", and sort of knew that would not work. Then I tried "root" and [my usual password] and it worked!!! What a miracle!

So I come to this screen with the following stuff. I know that there is gold here, but I don't know exactly where:

Local Printers: LPT #1
HP Printer (HPLIP)
HP Fax (HPLIP)
Discovered Network Printers:
Other Network Printers: Internet Printing Protocol (ipps)
Internet Printing Protocol (ipp14)
Internet Printing Protocol (http)
Internet Printing Protocol (https)
Internet Printing Protocol (ipp)
AppSocket/HP JetDirect
LPD/LPR Host or Printer
Backend Error Handler
Windows Printer via SAMBA

Which one should I pick? We are talking about a Kodak ESP 3.2 printer.

I assume that after we get this working, I still will not have scanning. This is not too big of a problem because I rarely scan anyway. But I will have copying. :D

Roger
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:23 am

Really your printer should show in the list
When you open that page go to the Printer tab along the top
does it show anything?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Kodak

Postby Roger Bird on Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:46 am

It says: "No printers."

Roger, depressed as hell
Roger Bird
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Kodak

Postby caf4926 on Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:06 am

Roger Bird wrote:It says: "No printers."

Roger, depressed as hell


I know
Linux users typically purchase peripherals carefully. Typically HP printers work best

If you look here: http://www.openprinting.org/printer/Kodak/Kodak-ESP_3

You will see ESP3
If that differs greatly from your 3.2 I doubt it.

Now have a read here
http://www.linuxfoundation.org/collabor ... umentation
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alban, Bing [Bot], Bryan88, richyrich and 36 guests