[Solved] Enabling dynamic re-clocking on GPU

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] Enabling dynamic re-clocking on GPU

Postby LexMK on Tue Nov 13, 2012 5:55 pm

So, I'm trying to enable dynamic re-clocking on my GPU using the radeon driver. I changed "/sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method" from "profile" to "dynpm". It works fine. Only problem is: when I reboot my computer, it defaults back to "profile". How can I make this change permanent?
Last edited by LexMK on Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asus eee 1225B AMD E450 with Radeon 6320
User avatar
LexMK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:09 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Enabling dynamic re-clocking on GPU

Postby eanfrid on Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:09 pm

Add one line to your /etc/sysfs.conf:
Code: Select all
echo "class/drm/card0/device/power_method = dynpm" >> /etc/sysfs.conf
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: Enabling dynamic re-clocking on GPU

Postby LexMK on Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:23 pm

Didn't work. Still defaults back to "profile".
Asus eee 1225B AMD E450 with Radeon 6320
User avatar
LexMK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:09 am

Re: Enabling dynamic re-clocking on GPU

Postby eanfrid on Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:39 pm

It should work. It is the way sysfs features are supposed to work: by adding config entries in the /etc/sysfs.conf file... as long as you installed the sysfsutils package, of course.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: Enabling dynamic re-clocking on GPU

Postby LexMK on Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:49 pm

.....and then I notice I forgot to install sysfutils on this computer. Stupid me. Thanks, that worked.
Asus eee 1225B AMD E450 with Radeon 6320
User avatar
LexMK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:09 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests