Problem with broadcom on LM14 RC

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problem with broadcom on LM14 RC

Postby rhY on Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:51 pm

MAJOR bug in mate x64 RC 14.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/linuxmint/+bug/1078483

I'm seriously considering distro hopping given how unstable this "RC" is, how quick the RC turns into final (at least in the past).

Just in case somebody reasonable wants to actually FIX this release before final, or keep Linux Mint fans around, I'm posting this here. I will probably be leaving Mint over this though.

Now I have to migrate >300 Mint 10 and 11 pcs to something new. *sigh*
Last edited by xenopeek on Wed Nov 14, 2012 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Abusive text removed; see forum rules.
[url]roguerebelmusic.com[/url]
User avatar
rhY
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:13 am
Location: In the Woods

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with broadcom on LM14 RC

Postby xenopeek on Wed Nov 14, 2012 5:07 pm

I've split your post from the Linux Mint 14 "Nadia" RC released! topic. Are you silverghost on the IRC?

Perhaps on the machine where you did the installation you can from the live session run:
Code: Select all
inxi -SNxz

and share the output here? It seems to me this is a problem with your specific model broadcom, and without details nobody can help solve it for you.

I'd kindly ask that instead of jumping to conclusions and calling something a bug, you first try to get support from the forums or IRC on the actual issue you are having (installed broadcom driver; now can't boot). We're happy to help, but reporting something as a bug with so few details provided by you isn't helping anybody :(

The Linux Mint developers can and do provide different versions of packages than provided by Ubuntu/Debian if there is a known problem with the version provided by the base distro, or include workarounds for known problems in the release notes. So if indeed there is a problem with the broadcom driver, that could possibly be acted on. Without any details about the hardware or having any analysis from trying to solve the issue (with help from others here), there isn't much anybody can do now. I hope you will try and solve the issue with the help of others here, so as to get an analysis of the root cause.
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13666
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests