How do I install new release, using my existing partitions?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How do I install new release, using my existing partitions?

Postby creasy27 on Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:11 am

Morning folks,

I'm new to Linux and have been using build 13 of mint for several weeks now. Thanks to advice from a friend, I customized my installation when installing it, creating a boot, home, / and swap partition. With the new release of mint 14 RC, would I have to do a clean install? In other words, create new partitions again and lose all my apps? I was hoping I might be able to just install the RC over it and keep existing data. There is an option from the installation menu asking if I would like to replace the current version with the new one; wouldn't this simply replace any existing partitions with Linux' own configuration? Any help would be appreciated thx

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
creasy27
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:07 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I install new release, using my existing partitio

Postby xenopeek on Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:09 am

Post split from viewtopic.php?f=90&t=97158 and moved here.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14823
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I install new release, using my existing partitio

Postby usbtux on Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:53 am

When you get to the partition table by selecting "Something Else", instead of deleting the old partition(s) and adding new ones for Mint, just use the "Change" button at the bottom of the table to edit the existing partitions.

Click on a partition you want to replace and click "Change" a partition edit window will open. Leave all partition parameters the same, just click "Format the partition as..." and select your file system choice from the drop down menu. The partition will be formatted (overwriting the existing OS) and the selected Mint partition (root, /home, etc.) will be installed. But for /home dont use the format option.

For Grub installation, either click on the drop down menu at the bottom of the partitioning page and select the location for Grub installation, or just leave this alone and take the default installation. The default is /dev/sda. This will install Mint's Grub in the mbr over any existing bootloader (Ubuntu Grub, Windows, etc.), and set up the dual boot menu automatically.

Of course, you'll need to reinstall all the additional programs and settings you installed originally. You may be able to backup and copy all your settings/hidden files back into home to ensure you keep your settings but this may not work totally.
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
Image
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Installing Mint 14 RC over Mint 13

Postby creasy27 on Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:24 am

Good afternoon Folks,

I am new to Linux have been using mint 13 for several weeks now. I am very impressed with it and don't see myself returning to windows any time soon!

I am thinking about installing the RC for Mint 14 but is there a way of installing it over 13 without deleting installed apps and my documents?

Thanks to the advice from a friend, I created several partitions prior to installing 13; boot, home /, and swap. However, if I install 14 would I need to create these partitions again? Form the installation menu, it does have an option to replace the existing installation with a new one but I am correct in saying that by choosing that, Linux will create it's own partition configuration? Thanks in advance and I hope this makes sense!
creasy27
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:07 pm

Re: Installing Mint 14 RC over Mint 13

Postby robw on Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:53 pm

If you told Mint to use the entire disk,then yes, that's what it would do. However, you could tell it to install to the partition location of your choice.

But hold your horses! Why do you want to install a RC if you are a relative noob? A RC will be flawed software because it isn't finished - the team release the RC to get feedback on bugs and things that don't work. They don't recommend it is installed as your primary installation for this very reason. The finished 14 will no doubt be out in only a few weeks - I'd recommend you wait for that!
Check out my watercolour paintings at www.robwighamwatercolours.com.
robw
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:39 am

Re: How do I install new release, using my existing partitio

Postby xenopeek on Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:20 pm

Topics merged; please don't post the same question to multiple sections of the forums.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14823
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I install new release, using my existing partitio

Postby creasy27 on Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:33 pm

usbtux wrote:When you get to the partition table by selecting "Something Else", instead of deleting the old partition(s) and adding new ones for Mint, just use the "Change" button at the bottom of the table to edit the existing partitions.

Click on a partition you want to replace and click "Change" a partition edit window will open. Leave all partition parameters the same, just click "Format the partition as..." and select your file system choice from the drop down menu. The partition will be formatted (overwriting the existing OS) and the selected Mint partition (root, /home, etc.) will be installed. But for /home dont use the format option.

For Grub installation, either click on the drop down menu at the bottom of the partitioning page and select the location for Grub installation, or just leave this alone and take the default installation. The default is /dev/sda. This will install Mint's Grub in the mbr over any existing bootloader (Ubuntu Grub, Windows, etc.), and set up the dual boot menu automatically.

Of course, you'll need to reinstall all the additional programs and settings you installed originally. You may be able to backup and copy all your settings/hidden files back into home to ensure you keep your settings but this may not work totally.


Thanks usbtux. That's really helpful. I'll give that a go :)
creasy27
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:07 pm

Re: Installing Mint 14 RC over Mint 13

Postby creasy27 on Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:38 pm

robw wrote:If you told Mint to use the entire disk,then yes, that's what it would do. However, you could tell it to install to the partition location of your choice.

But hold your horses! Why do you want to install a RC if you are a relative noob? A RC will be flawed software because it isn't finished - the team release the RC to get feedback on bugs and things that don't work. They don't recommend it is installed as your primary installation for this very reason. The finished 14 will no doubt be out in only a few weeks - I'd recommend you wait for that!


Thanks robw. Yeah, I am tempted to wait for a final release. The main reason for wanting to upgrade early was for the fixed bluetooth. :)
creasy27
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:07 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests