Metro UI in Mint?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Metro UI in Mint?

Postby miropiro on Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:26 pm

Hello to all, during this weekend I installed Linux Mint 13 Maya. I already used Ubuntu 12.04, but I was a bit unhappy about the Unity interface and the GNOME-pack seems to be not compiled very well. But, I was quite curious, if it is possible to get on my Mint theme like Windows Metro UI. I know that you will tell me that I am a bit crazy, but I would like to test the Metro UI on Mint. It seems that according to this manual http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php?content=145585 it should be only about following the steps, however it seems that it does not fit with Mint. In the end I added the conky to run after login, however after some time this apllet disappears and I do not know how to see it again. And what is more, it does not show running programs so it looks that for Mint the Conky is not written?
miropiro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Metro UI in Mint?

Postby axel668 on Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:56 am

It's a conky config, so you have to install conky of course (and run it, or add it to autostart)
“A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila” (Mitch Ratcliffe)
User avatar
axel668
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:56 am

Re: Metro UI in Mint?

Postby Goro Daimon on Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:25 am

Cool! Now mint has Metro UI.
User avatar
Goro Daimon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Metro UI in Mint?

Postby bimsebasse on Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:43 pm

Not really, you can't click on things in conky or do anything with the tiles. You have a conky that looks like a screenshot of Metro, is all - not a UI.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Metro UI in Mint?

Postby miropiro on Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:05 pm

bimsebasse wrote:Not really, you can't click on things in conky or do anything with the tiles. You have a conky that looks like a screenshot of Metro, is all - not a UI.

Exactly. At first I thought that it is only some mistake and I forgot to install something, but as I see, I spent my time useless, as conky is not usable.
miropiro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:24 pm


Return to Themes, Icons, & Wallpaper

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Wankahois and 2 guests