Minimise?? where`s it gone?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Minimise?? where`s it gone?

Postby Gasman on Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:22 am

Hi guys
New to Mint and have to say its the best distro I`ve tried so sticking with it!.
Just wondering what happens to a window when I click on minimise please?. If I click on minimise when running say Firefox the window seems to disappear and not seen in the bottom bar and so I then have to relaunch Firefox to use it. Is there some window configuration I`ve yet to do ?
Cheers
Steve
Gasman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:41 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Minimise?? where`s it gone?

Postby caribriz on Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:30 am

Hi Gasman - welcome to the forums!

Which version of Mint are you using?
Mint 13 ... 14?
Cinnamon ... mate ... xfce ... ?

caribriz
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 17 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am

Re: Minimise?? where`s it gone?

Postby takis13 on Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:48 pm

Are you using Gnome as your desktop environment? If so, you can right click on the panel, choose "Add to Panel..." and then add "Windows List" to your panel.
takis13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: Minimise?? where`s it gone?

Postby caribriz on Thu Nov 22, 2012 4:25 pm

As takis13 says, you need the Window list in your panel.

The different versions/desktops of Mint all use different ways of doing this. :wink:

If using Mate - follow the above instructions.

If using Cinnamon:
Go to Cinnamon Settings > Applets > tick box "Cinnamon Window List"

xfce and KDE each have their own method also.


PS
@takis13 - welcome to the forums to you as well :)

caribriz
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 17 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am

Re: Minimise?? where`s it gone?

Postby Gasman on Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:01 am

Sorry for delay guys, should have said which version. I`m using 13 KDE, found the window list under` Add Widgets`
Thanks a lot
Steve
Gasman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:41 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], carlosdanger, darkstrike and 35 guests