[SOLVED] force resolution onto monitor

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

[SOLVED] force resolution onto monitor

Postby zebedeeboss on Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:27 am

Hi All

i have a 27" tv linked to my system and when in windows I can set resolution to 1680x1050 same as main monitor and it takes it. Under LM it will only go to 1024x768. How can I force Mint 14 to send it 1680x1050?

Not yet installed any additional drivers, but that never made a difference before on LM 13

Thanks in advance

Zeb...
Last edited by zebedeeboss on Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Linux i5-mint16 3.11.0-12-generic #19-Ubuntu SMP Wed Oct 9 16:20:46 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Intel i5-2320 @3.00 x 4 6Gb GeoForce GT 640 2Gb

Be Nice or Be Some Where Else
zebedeeboss
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: force resolution onto monitor

Postby remoulder on Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:24 am

Please try to search the forums before posting. You'll need to use xrandr, http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=117398&p=650290 gives a good explanation.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: force resolution onto monitor

Postby zebedeeboss on Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:37 am

remoulder wrote:Please try to search the forums before posting. You'll need to use xrandr, http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=117398&p=650290 gives a good explanation.


Hi, thanks for the resply and rest assured I did search but unless you get the right word to search it is hard to find a reply.

I have looked at that post and WOW!!! A good explaination it maybe but will take me w hile to work it out

Thanks again for the pointer

Zeb...
Linux i5-mint16 3.11.0-12-generic #19-Ubuntu SMP Wed Oct 9 16:20:46 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Intel i5-2320 @3.00 x 4 6Gb GeoForce GT 640 2Gb

Be Nice or Be Some Where Else
zebedeeboss
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:43 am

Re: force resolution onto monitor

Postby xclusive585 on Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:40 am

You could check for proprietary drivers for your video card. Sometimes it's the only way to get proper resolution.
-Dave

“The only way to fix Linux is to take one distro, one set of components as a baseline, abandon everything else and everyone should just contribute to this single Linux..."
xclusive585
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:49 pm

Re: force resolution onto monitor

Postby zebedeeboss on Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:36 am

Hi All

Thanks for all the help and advise, the xrandr post did the trick. It would seem that, by simply typing xrandr into a terminal session and it displaying the resolutions available, this sorted it out.

When I went back to screen settings, I have been able to set both monitors to 1680x1050.

Thank you ALL very much

Zeb...
Linux i5-mint16 3.11.0-12-generic #19-Ubuntu SMP Wed Oct 9 16:20:46 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Intel i5-2320 @3.00 x 4 6Gb GeoForce GT 640 2Gb

Be Nice or Be Some Where Else
zebedeeboss
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:43 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: astaroth and 8 guests