(SOLVED) packages not available on repos?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

(SOLVED) packages not available on repos?

Postby inoxidabile on Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:57 am

Hi everybody!
I'm new on the forum and then I would like to ask for a help.

I installed Mint 13 Maya / Mate 64 bit several months ago and till now I haven't had problems with update.
From several days i see the "well known" problems "404 Not found" on several items:
http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/ ... 4/Packages
http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/ ... 4/Packages
http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/ ... 4/Packages
http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/ ... 6/Packages
http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/ ... 6/Packages
http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/ ... 6/Packages

Prior to ask, I waited some days and I also tried with mirrors, googling on web but without success...
I looked in the forum but I didn't find anything, so... I'm the only one with this problem?
Has anyone suggestion about?
Thanks!!!
Last edited by inoxidabile on Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
inoxidabile
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: packages not available on repos?

Postby xenopeek on Sun Nov 25, 2012 8:28 am

That website appears to not work right now. I'm assuming you selected this as your mirror? You can pick a different mirror, or reset to use the primary server again. If you want help with that, please share the output of the following command:
Code: Select all
inxi -r
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14549
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: packages not available on repos?

Postby inoxidabile on Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:09 am

Hi Vincent and thank You very much for Your prompt reply !

As I said in my post, I tried to pick up other mirrorsand, of course, to reset to primary server.
However, this is the output of the command You suggested:

Code: Select all
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/ maya main upstream import
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ precise partner
           deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ precise free non-free
           deb http://mirror.rts-informatique.fr/linuxmint/packages/ maya main upstream import backport
           deb-src http://mirror.rts-informatique.fr/linuxmint/packages/ maya main upstream import backport #Added by software-properties
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/danielrichter2007-grub-customizer-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielrichter2007/grub-customizer/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielrichter2007/grub-customizer/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/format-junkie-team-release-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/format-junkie-team/release/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/format-junkie-team/release/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/jd-team-jdownloader-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/jd-team/jdownloader/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/jd-team/jdownloader/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/otto-kesselgulasch-gimp-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/otto-kesselgulasch/gimp/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/otto-kesselgulasch/gimp/ubuntu precise main


As You can see, the problem is related only to packages on http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/ ...
inoxidabile
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:23 am

Re: packages not available on repos?

Postby xenopeek on Sun Nov 25, 2012 10:01 am

Okay, you can go back to the primary server by changing this line:
Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/ maya main upstream import

into:
Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya main upstream import

For this you need to edit your /etc/apt/sources.list file as root. You can do so with:
Code: Select all
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list

It even has nice colour coding :D Change the packages.linuxmint-fr.net to packages.linuxmint.com as shown, and save and close the file (Ctrl+O, Enter, Ctrl+X). Then run:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update

and hopefully the update will now go without errors.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14549
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: (SOLVED) packages not available on repos?

Postby inoxidabile on Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:27 pm

Thank You very much Vincent, now it's ok :)

I marked as solved but, just for my knowledge...
I didn't change anything on source list since installation and I didn't find anything on web from other users... so, what was wrong?
How I could be able to "be aware" of that change by myself?
inoxidabile
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:23 am

Re: (SOLVED) packages not available on repos?

Postby xenopeek on Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:34 pm

I'm not sure how it would get in there, but when it gives such errors as a repository not found I usually just try the URL in my browser. If it doesn't work there, I remove the last part of the path and try again. Repeat. (Like http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/maya/main/binary-amd64/Packages doesn't work, so try http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/dists/maya/main/binary-amd64, and so on.) Most of the time it is either you have somehow gotten a wrong release name (the maya part in the URL), or for example if you are using a PPA it might be that it doesn't have a repository for your release, or it might be that the server is down.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14549
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: (SOLVED) packages not available on repos?

Postby inoxidabile on Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:58 pm

Thanks once again Vincent, it seems a simple but nice hints, I'll keep in mind for the future...
...even if it wouln't solve the problem in this specific , unless the "cut and try" goes in the website name.
However, as I said, thanks a lot, if I'll have this problem I check for repository site !
inoxidabile
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 22 guests