NoMachine NX

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

NoMachine NX

Postby Georg on Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:40 pm

Hi,

I got a nxserver (Version 3.5.0-11 - LFE) running on my LMDE 64 bit. With the clients (3.5.0-9) I use "Custom" desktop and the command "mate-session" with "New virtual desktop".
Before the last big pack of updates several weeks ago it was running just fine with Windows and Linux clients.
Now with the Windows-client I don't see any text when connecting (http://i.imgur.com/qzvgZ.png). It still works fine when I connect from a Linux machine.
So far I tried using a font-server but it didn't change anything. Anyone got any suggestions?

Cheers,
Georg
Georg
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: NoMachine NX

Postby gianola on Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:54 am

Hi,

Have you found the solution? I have the same issue :-)
gianola
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: NoMachine NX

Postby tjweaver on Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:29 pm

I am having the same problem as well. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

thx
tjweaver
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 11:17 am

Re: NoMachine NX

Postby manicmonkey on Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:13 pm

I'm suffering the same issue. I think it's related to this bug report against Cairo: https://bugs.launchpad.net/libcairo/+bug/682338

There is a thread on the Ubuntu forums that talks about some workarounds for a related issue: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=10590940
manicmonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:08 pm

Re: NoMachine NX

Postby Xsabre on Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:36 pm

Bump...

Looking for solution as well
Xsabre
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: NoMachine NX

Postby MiLK_MaN on Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:51 pm

The issue you are experiencing is certainly because of libcairo2.

The only workaround I have been able to get going is to install libcairo2_1.10.2-7~bpo60+1_amd64.deb via dpkg. The only problem is that there are some dependencies on libcairo2_1.12 for some other packages, and apt-get will always force you to re-install it before being to then use apt-get again. So for now I've just been ensuring I re-install the libcairo2_1.10 after every apt-get which is not very often.

Really wish it would be fixed properly though.
MiLK_MaN
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:47 pm

Re: NoMachine NX

Postby hellz on Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:32 pm

milkman's solution fixed it for now. hopefully theres a permanent fix on the way.
hellz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests