LDME Compiz --replace problem

Questions about Cinnamon,MATE,Xfce etc.

LDME Compiz --replace problem

Postby AceXchange on Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:12 am

Hi, i'm pretty new to Linux Mint. I followed some instruction on how to get compiz work on my Mint, but no matter what I did I had a frozen screen. In terminal I type in: compiz --replace and my screen would shake a bit then the terminal display and again and never finish loading. It would stuck until I restart the operating system or do a ctrl C to cancel the process. Does anyone come across the same situation?

Thanks!
TalkingTek
AceXchange
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:01 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LDME Compiz --replace problem

Postby zerozero on Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:16 am

are you trying to use compiz in mate or in cinnamon?
in cinnamon is pointless, they are incompatible and you will faster break the installation than have compiz working; in mate it will work but not ootb.
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LDME Compiz --replace problem

Postby AceXchange on Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:27 pm

sorry, I was on vacation. I've tried both on mate and LDE and I have no luck. When I applied the command compize --replace the terminal would not finish loading. Thanks!
TalkingTek
AceXchange
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:01 am


Return to Desktops and Windows Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests