command to switch language needed to create shortcut

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

command to switch language needed to create shortcut

Postby charan27 on Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:35 am

Hi Everyone,

I've been using Kubuntu Precise on my MacBook 3,1 for a couple of weeks and was quite satisfied, but I have read that Linux Mint is more Mac-like and wanted to try it out. I just installed Maya (Cinnamon) this morning and updated it with Nadia backport. All I can say is that it is a true beauty.

So far I have installed Thai language package and been able to use it without problem; except for the fact that I can't find or create a keyboard shortcut to toggle between English and Thai. So to switch to the other language I have to click on the flag icon which is quite uncool.

I found in "System Settings" that a custom shortcut can be created in "Keyboard" section, but the right command had to be entered that would be equivalent to clicking the flag icon. Could someone tell me what command that would be? While using Kubuntu I was able to assigned "alt-space" for toggling the two layouts and already unbound it from window menu shortcut in Maya. Just need to know the rigth command is all.

Best Regards,
Sumeth
charan27
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: command to switch language needed to create shortcut

Postby Jim1938 on Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:33 pm

...
I'm using Mint 13 xfce 64.bit on a diy pc.

Here is how I was able to create a dual language (EN & DK) keyboard.
I change languages by pressing ctrl and shift together
with my left pinky finger. EZ PZ.

I have no idea what MacBook file system is like,
but this may give you some ideas.

On my pc I go to etc/default/keyboard and find
the following settings in keyboard:

XKBMODEL="pc105" <<== Edit for your keyboard model.
XKBLAYOUT="us,dk" <<== Edit for your languages.
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS="grp:ctrl_shift_toggle" <<== Edit if you want a different keys.

This also has worked with Ubuntu 10.04 and Crunchbang 10.

How did you get a desktop language indicator?
I have one in Ubuntu gnome, but not in xfce or openbox desktops.

Edit your Question as [SOLVED} if this solves it.
...
Wirth's law - Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster.
User avatar
Jim1938
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: USA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, Google Adsense [Bot], PatH57, peterldg, Reorx, wgn and 53 guests