Win7/64bit + Vmware + Mint14Mate/64bit = CPU disabled?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Win7/64bit + Vmware + Mint14Mate/64bit = CPU disabled?

Postby spudit on Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:59 pm

apparently im spudit, m$ user learning linux, well, great work, linux developers. really!! now, i apologise for asking questions you'll find trivial to answer, but - i took most popular (according to distrowatch.com) distributions, everything looks fine as long as im using 32 bit distros with vmware player. i also installed ubuntu and xubuntu on, well, antique hardware and it's great and it's legal and very useful for browsing and office use.

well now, when i used Linux mint 14 mate 64 bit with vmware player 5.0.1 on win 7u 64 bit, the vmware player hung with message similar to "cpu disabled by the guest operating system". of course i have no idea whatsoever what or why should this happen and did some shallow investigating and ended here. i hope you'll give me an answer or point me to the proper site with as little complications as possible.
spudit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Win7/64bit + Vmware + Mint14Mate/64bit = CPU disabled?

Postby remoulder on Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:56 pm

Please read hardware requirements http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2216
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Win7/64bit + Vmware + Mint14Mate/64bit = CPU disabled?

Postby Gord on Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:08 pm

This may also help:

Error when booting or shutting down virtual machines: CPU has been disabled

http://kb.vmware.com/kb/101
Gord
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], karlchen and 24 guests