After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anymore

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anymore

Postby joachim on Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:05 pm

Hi,

After a fresh install of Mint 14 my Internet via ethernet doesnt work anymore. It worked before the fresh install with Mint 13.

Any help?

:/

Code: Select all

inxi -Fc 0
System:    Host: joachim-TravelMate-5744 Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine:   System: Acer product: TravelMate 5744 version: V1.06
           Mobo: Acer model: BA52_CP version: Type2 - Board Version Bios: Insyde version: V1.06 date: 011/21/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3 CPU M 380 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 933.00 MHz 2: 933.00 MHz 3: 933.00 MHz 4: 2533.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
           X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Mobile GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 9.0
Audio:     Card: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.25
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: e8:40:f2:c7:c1:71
           Card-2: Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 44:6d:57:18:37:b7
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (0.8% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MK5059GS size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 455G used: 3.6G (1%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 3.95GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 153 Uptime: 43 min Memory: 419.0/3626.9MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
joachim@joachim-TravelMate-5744 ~ $ ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr e8:40:f2:c7:c1:71 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea40:f2ff:fec7:c171/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:77 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:94 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:40733 (40.7 KB)  TX bytes:12259 (12.2 KB)
          Interrupt:17

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:78 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:78 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:5700 (5.7 KB)  TX bytes:5700 (5.7 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 44:6d:57:18:37:b7 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

joachim@joachim-TravelMate-5744 ~ $ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

joachim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby Gord on Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:38 pm

Joachim wrote:
Code: Select all
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr e8:40:f2:c7:c1:71 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea40:f2ff:fec7:c171/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:77 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:94 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:40733 (40.7 KB)  TX bytes:12259 (12.2 KB)
          Interrupt:17

There is no IPv4 address in there. I would have expected the second line to look something like...

Code: Select all
          inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0

...with the 'inet6 addr' line following it.

What does `nm-tool` say? Also, are we talking about MATE, Cinnamon, or something else?
Gord
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby joachim on Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:15 pm

yes MATE is installed


Code: Select all
nm-tool

NetworkManager Tool

State: connecting

- Device: eth0  [Wired connection 1] -------------------------------------------
  Type:              Wired
  Driver:            tg3
  State:             connecting (configuring)
  Default:           no
  HW Address:        E8:40:F2:C7:C1:71

  Capabilities:
    Carrier Detect:  yes
    Speed:           10 Mb/s

  Wired Properties
    Carrier:         on


- Device: wlan0 ----------------------------------------------------------------
  Type:              802.11 WiFi
  Driver:            ath9k
  State:             unavailable
  Default:           no
  HW Address:        44:6D:57:18:37:B7

  Capabilities:

  Wireless Properties
    WEP Encryption:  yes
    WPA Encryption:  yes
    WPA2 Encryption: yes

  Wireless Access Points


joachim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby Gord on Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:05 pm

Under...

Control Center > Network Connections

...on the "Wired" tab, select "Wired connection 1" and then click the "Edit..." button. On the "IPv4" tab, ensure that "Method:" is set to "Automatic (DHCP)".

(I see results similar to yours if I set the method to "Disabled".)
Gord
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby joachim on Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:01 am

It was set already and enabling the "Require IPv4 addressing for this connection to complete" doesn't change anything. ipconfig -a still does not show an ipv4 line on eth0.
I have to use 802.1x Security for the connection but on Mint 13 I just got to the 802.1x Security Tab in the network Edit window and set it up properly and then it worked..

Also what is this "lo" interface?
joachim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby Gord on Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:55 am

joachim wrote:I have to use 802.1x Security for the connection but on Mint 13 I just got to the 802.1x Security Tab in the network Edit window and set it up properly and then it worked..

I see. That's something I've never had to set up before. I hope somebody else can help you.

joachim wrote:Also what is this "lo" interface?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loopback#V ... _interface
Gord
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada


Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xoftmade and 2 guests