Install gone wrong

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:57 pm

Try rebooting the live session

If necessary, connect the HD after it has booted

I never had this happen before. It's kind of odd
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby mintybits on Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:15 pm

It may be refusing to delete because the swap partition is being used. The live OS will automatically mount a swap partition and GParted won't delete a partition that is mounted. To unmount a swap partition:
sudo swapoff /dev/sdaX
where x is the partition number. In this case x=5
mintybits
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:22 pm

I didnt know you could plug a drive in after the machine is running. Won't that crash it?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got a good reply here! The swapoff allowed me to create a new table and that removed all the drives!!! I created the new swap partition at 4500m. In the image and video that was posted last night there was another drive that was created at 2.4g. What is the purpose of that drive?

BTW...thank you for all the support.
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:16 pm

The images and video I post are just a guide
Baically all you need for mint is

sawp
ext4 for the system

I use another ext4 for /home
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:38 pm

Got it.

Ok, I now have...

dev/sda
/dev/sda1 swap 524m
/dev/sda2 ext4 4.2g
/dev/sda5 ext4 100g
/dev/sda6 ext4 100g
/dev/sda7 ext4 100g
/dev/sda8 ext4 180g

YES!

I want to put Mint on sda5. I will be installing 2 other flavors on sda6/7 and the Installation box is asking..."Device for boot loader installation:" and lists all my shiny new drives. What should I select for this option?
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby mintybits on Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:49 pm

Select /dev/sda (not /dev/sda1,2,3,...) so that Grub boot code is put at the MBR (master boot record) and not in a PBR (partition boot record). There always has to be boot code in the MBR and Grub is not really designed to work reliably in a PBR.
mintybits
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:04 pm

Looking good. dev/sda is the boot loader info and sda5 I set for "/". Ready to install Mint on sda5, correct?
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:15 pm

lonewolf69 wrote:Looking good. dev/sda is the boot loader info and sda5 I set for "/". Ready to install Mint on sda5, correct?

sounds OK
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:04 pm

WooHoo!!!! HDD is setup correctly now and running Mint on sda5. Time to try installing OpenSuse and either Fedora or Mandriva on the other 2 drives. Any recommendations?

Where do I put a thank you for your help? Seriously, thank you for all the help here.
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:29 pm

I am trying to install Mandriva and am at the "Choose the mount points" screen. I tried to install it as "/" on another drive but I get this error...

"There is already a partition with mount point /"

Why is this and how do I need to set the mount points for 3 distros?
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:30 pm

Each / must be to a different partition
You set Mint to sda5
Mandriva or openSUSE will need their own partition.

openSUSE defaults to having a /home as well, which is going to confuse you, because when you opt out of it, a bug throws the settings that you made in the advanced partitioner.Once you uncheck the the /home option, you need to go back a reselect the partition for /
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:44 pm

I am trying to install Mandriva on sda6 which is a separate logical partition. But it is still throwing the error. I thought that since I was installing the O/S's on separate logical partitions it would just work (HAHA, I'm getting a partitioning class this week!). So now I am confused. If I am installing the other distro's on separate partitions why am I getting the error? I have never used the different mount point options. Maybe the Mandriva install is not as good as Mint? Here is the goal...

sda5 / (Mint)
sda6 / (Mandriva - getting error on "/")
sda7 / (OpenSuse/Other)

I guess the question would be why am I not being allowed to have multiple "/" mount points on separate logical drives?
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:07 am

I have not used Mandriva so I can't say

Try openSUSE I can walk you tru that, either from here or in openSUSE forum or IRC
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:20 am

I actually tried to install OpenSuse (dont laugh at this). I bought an 8g flash drive yesterday to use as live usb for all of the iso's. I did a little reading and downloaded a program called "LinuxLive USB Creator" for my windows machine and used that to create a liveusb. Today I tried to use it for the opensuse and even though there is nothing on the drive (I deleted everything and formatted it) when I tried to just use it for the OS iso it tells me the disk is full! Should I just burn the iso to a DVD?

I have never used IRC. I just pidgin on linux or trillian on windows for my yahoo chat (L_Wolf69). What ever would be easiest for you.

Keith
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:26 am

Mint has something called Imagewriter
It will make a bootable USB

FYI: Some of these apps that write USB's will brick the USB device
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:35 am

The usb will accept smaller or non-iso files. Anyway...Should I just burn the OS iso to a dvd then start the install?
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:38 am

Sure, burn a DVD

But Imagewriter in Mint might burn the USB

I opened a Yahoo chat BTW
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:42 am

My screenname is L_Wolf69
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby lonewolf69 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:13 pm

I now have Mint on sda5 and OpenSuse on sda6. I tried to copy some files over to sda8 because that is going to be the file storage drive and it wont let me. I copied a picture and the paste option is disabled. How do I make this drive accessible?
lonewolf69
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:11 am

Re: Install gone wrong

Postby caf4926 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:19 pm

lonewolf69 wrote:I now have Mint on sda5 and OpenSuse on sda6. I tried to copy some files over to sda8 because that is going to be the file storage drive and it wont let me. I copied a picture and the paste option is disabled. How do I make this drive accessible?


Are you doing this from openSUSE or Mint?
What format is sda8

from Mint: please post result of

Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l

Code: Select all
cat /etc/fstab


In suse do

Code: Select all
su -
fdisk -l

Code: Select all
cat /etc/fstab
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bailertwine and 31 guests