No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Postby Dameentsia on Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:52 pm

Well, I was being hasty and wanted to upgrade my version of Mint 13 KDE to 14. I used the method as described here:
http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-upgrad ... a-with-apt

Everything seemed to upgrade correctly, and everything went fine. I rebooted, and was shown with a "Linux Mint 14" loading screen instead of "Linux Mint 13" like I am used to. "Cool," I said. After startup, I'm thrown into a login shell (Like you would see if you were to press CTRL+ALT+F1, for example). I was foolish not to make a backup, I guess I didn't think of it at the time. But, anyways, is there a possible way to retrieve my GUI desktop?
Dameentsia
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:02 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Postby caf4926 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:24 am

Try booting with nomodeset added
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Postby Dameentsia on Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:37 pm

caf4926 wrote:Try booting with nomodeset added


Using nomodeset doesn't change anything, is exactly as it was before.
Dameentsia
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:02 am

Re: No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Postby zerozero on Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:07 pm

mint has no in-place upgrades (nor does recommend them) exactly because of situations like yours, but not only, they are risky, not worthy the time spent on it and even when you have some success (like in the page you linked) it's not exactly like a fresh instalation.

backup all your important personal stuff (you can do that with a liveDVD) and reinstall afresh.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Postby Dameentsia on Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:45 pm

zerozero wrote:backup all your important personal stuff (you can do that with a liveDVD) and reinstall afresh.

I'm sorry, I don't exactly know what you mean by this. Could you explain for me please?
Dameentsia
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:02 am

Re: No Desktop Environment (KDE) After Upgrading To Nadia

Postby zerozero on Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:49 pm

if you have in that install (the one that is now broken) any important personal files boot with a liveDVD or liveUSB and copy them over to a safe place (external hdd, other USB) then install mint 14 in the computer.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests