Adding an app to the Menu

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Adding an app to the Menu

Postby mikeglaz on Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:24 pm

I downloaded RubyMine and placed it under the Programming category. But after I finish it appears in the Other category instead?? However, when I installed NetBeans it automatically put itself under the Programming category. I just upgraded to Linux Mint 14.

mike
mikeglaz
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Adding an app to the Menu

Postby mockturtl on Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:16 am

Check ~/.local/share/applications/jetbrains-rubymine.desktop.

Depending on how you installed netbeans (upstream package, vs. shell script from netbeans.org), you'll have a comparable netbeans.desktop file there, or in /usr/share/applications/.

The "Categories=" line should include "Development;IDE;"

GNOME .desktop file spec
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Adding an app to the Menu

Postby mikeglaz on Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:04 pm

What actually fixed the problem was that jetbrains-rubymine.desktop had permissions set to rw only for owner, which was root. I had to change the permissions to 755 like all the other .desktop files.

mike
mikeglaz
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Adding an app to the Menu

Postby mockturtl on Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:45 am

mikeglaz wrote:What actually fixed the problem was that jetbrains-rubymine.desktop had permissions set to rw only for owner, which was root. I had to change the permissions to 755 like all the other .desktop files.

mike
rw-r--r-- is 644. The x bit determines whether the file manager shows foo.desktop as "foo" with its icon.

The menu category is determined by the "Categories" line.

A file for which your user lacks read permission won't show up at all, but I'm glad you got it working. (Restarting mdm, I think, was the missing step.)
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Adding an app to the Menu

Postby stevedev on Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:16 am

I'm a noobie to the mint world, but glad I discovered.
in my situation I installed and used alacarte to add it to Development -- but what's the cmd to restart mdm (it's still showing up in Other for me)?

-Steve
stevedev
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Adding an app to the Menu

Postby stevedev on Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:21 am

jetbrains support update -- tech mentioned to me to not run as root.. and that there's a add to menu config selection from the welcome screen I overlooked. doh!

For those that end up in this state of no icon in menu.. best to just do:
http://img802.imageshack.us/img802/1680/2rwl.png


-Steve
stevedev
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:12 am


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests