setting a MANPATH environment variable?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

setting a MANPATH environment variable?

Postby peyrol on Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:03 am

I use LMDE 64 bit with Mate and bash. I'm trying to install TkMan. Here is what happens when I try to run it:

Code: Select all
david@achernar:~$ tkman
You must set a MANPATH environment variable,
which is a colon-separated list of directories in which
to find man pages, for example /usr/man:/usr/share/man.
(See the help page for an explanation of why
alternatives to the MANPATH are a bad thing.)
david@achernar:~$


How do I set environment variables?
What directories should be on the list for man pages?
Should this be added to a login script somewhere?

Multiple thanks in advance.
peyrol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: setting a MANPATH environment variable?

Postby stratus_ss on Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:59 am

environment variables are set like this
Code: Select all
MANPATH=/usr/man:/usr/share/man
export MANPATH


If you want these changes to stick, and to be sure they always persist I usually put a line in /etc/profile. For example the last two lines in my profile contain a custom path variable

Code: Select all
PATH=/usr/bin/jdk1.5.0_11/bin/:/u/DLC/dlcv102b/:/u/DLC/dlcv102b/bin:$PATH:/opt/dell/srvadmin/bin:/opt/dell/srvadmin/sbin
export PATH


This makes sure that every time the system is booted, I have a very custom path for my needs
stratus_ss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:22 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests