setting a MANPATH environment variable?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

setting a MANPATH environment variable?

Postby peyrol on Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:03 am

I use LMDE 64 bit with Mate and bash. I'm trying to install TkMan. Here is what happens when I try to run it:

Code: Select all
david@achernar:~$ tkman
You must set a MANPATH environment variable,
which is a colon-separated list of directories in which
to find man pages, for example /usr/man:/usr/share/man.
(See the help page for an explanation of why
alternatives to the MANPATH are a bad thing.)
david@achernar:~$


How do I set environment variables?
What directories should be on the list for man pages?
Should this be added to a login script somewhere?

Multiple thanks in advance.
peyrol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: setting a MANPATH environment variable?

Postby stratus_ss on Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:59 am

environment variables are set like this
Code: Select all
MANPATH=/usr/man:/usr/share/man
export MANPATH


If you want these changes to stick, and to be sure they always persist I usually put a line in /etc/profile. For example the last two lines in my profile contain a custom path variable

Code: Select all
PATH=/usr/bin/jdk1.5.0_11/bin/:/u/DLC/dlcv102b/:/u/DLC/dlcv102b/bin:$PATH:/opt/dell/srvadmin/bin:/opt/dell/srvadmin/sbin
export PATH


This makes sure that every time the system is booted, I have a very custom path for my needs
stratus_ss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:22 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests