UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby clem on Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:38 am

Update Pack 6 is ready for you to test ;)

Sources:

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com debian main upstream import incoming
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free


NOTE THE PRESENCE OF "incoming" at the end of "deb http://packages.linuxmint.com debian main upstream import", it's new and very important!!

Rules:

- This thread is for testers only.
- This thread aims at gathering feedback, not to provide support or for people to use the UP before it becomes available.
- Expect things to break
- Be concise in your feedback and try to identify breakages, regressions and package conflicts.

Any post not following these rules will be deleted.

Incoming is there:

- For you to help us with the TESTING
- Not for you to get the UP earlier
- Please don't ask support question and only give precise feedback on regressions and package conflicts

Good luck. Thanks for choosing Mint and thanks for helping out!
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby GeneC on Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:41 am

Thanks Clem

Rules:

- This thread is for testers only.
- This thread aims at gathering feedback, not to provide support or for people to use the UP before it becomes available.
- Expect things to break
- Be concise in your feedback and try to identify breakages, regressions and package conflicts.

Any post not following these rules will be deleted.


GOOD LUCK with that (from past experiences) ... :roll: .... :lol:
Last edited by GeneC on Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby clem on Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:41 am

Just two quick notes:

- I'll be upgrading MATE, Cinnamon and the Mint layers separately (probably either today or tomorrow)
- For the last UP I had to skim through 10+ pages of chat and people asking questions, it made it quite hard to work with the testers which contributed feedback on the UP, so I will delete any post that isn't related to testing here.

Thank you for your understanding and thanks for helping test the UP.

(just crossed posts with GeneC, thanks mate ;))
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby killer de bug on Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:03 pm

Do the mirrors have the last UP in incoming ?

I'm currently using the one in France (RTS info) and I have only 4 package to update : Cinnamon (1.6.7), nemo, nemo-data,libnemo.. (1.1.2)

Edit: Ok I understand! The mirrors are up-to-date. That's just that there is not the mint layer inside the UP ;)

Edit 2: Clem, with this last version of Cinnamon my menu is still buggy. Apps in Administration are present in Preferences. And when I edit the menu, I can't edit theses categories because, the option is not present...
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1857
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby grizzler on Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:07 pm

Wants to remove Thunderbird again. Remember you will always have to create an LMDE own version of hunspell-en-us if this package is updated, because the upstream maintainer refuses to fix the bug that causes this.

Also wants to remove dropbox, libmjpegtools-2.0-0 (leaving 1.9 installed) and linux-sound-base. I'll put a modified version of hunspell with a higher version number in my private repo so it will leave Thunderbird alone and risk the other three (I'm using a clone of my UP5 setup anyway).
grizzler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby zerozero on Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:47 pm

Clem, Thanks :D


re: linux-sound-base http://ftp-master.debian.org/removals.txt
=========================================================================
[Date: Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:30:07 +0000] [ftpmaster: Ansgar Burchardt]
Removed the following packages from unstable:

alsa-base | 1.0.23+dfsg-4 | all
alsa-base-udeb | 1.0.23+dfsg-4 | all
alsa-driver | 1.0.23+dfsg-4 | source
alsa-source | 1.0.23+dfsg-4 | all
linux-sound-base | 1.0.23+dfsg-4 | all
Closed bugs: 693668

------------------- Reason -------------------
RoQA; obsolete and RC-buggy
----------------------------------------------
Also closing bug(s): 544856 561562 600294 604057 622652 627152 661613
Also closing WNPP bug(s):
=========================================================================

libmjpegtools-2.0-0 and libmjpegtools-1.9 are obsolete
Code: Select all
zerozero@test-ups ~ $ apt policy libmjpegtools-2.0-0
libmjpegtools-2.0-0:
  Installed: 1:2.0.0-dmo1
  Candidate: 1:2.0.0-dmo1
  Version table:
 *** 1:2.0.0-dmo1 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
zerozero@test-ups ~ $ apt policy libmjpegtools-2.0-0 libmjpegtools-1.9
libmjpegtools-2.0-0:
  Installed: 1:2.0.0-dmo1
  Candidate: 1:2.0.0-dmo1
  Version table:
 *** 1:2.0.0-dmo1 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
libmjpegtools-1.9:
  Installed: 1:1.9.0-0.7
  Candidate: 1:1.9.0-0.7
  Version table:
 *** 1:1.9.0-0.7 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

and replaced by http://deb-multimedia.org/dists/testing ... file-2.0-0

here all went smooth :D
the only part i was a bit concerned was to see if dkms would build nvidia properly because it didn't when i upgraded the kernel in testing
no problem this time http://pastebin.com/PDAHdq4c

just for the record, the full output of the dist-upgrade
http://pastebin.com/eJHVtVu3
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby mockturtl on Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:59 pm

apt-listbugs

Looked like some lines were added here, so I chose Y/new:
Code: Select all
Configuration file `/etc/init.d/networking'
 ==> Modified (by you or by a script) since installation.


We knew multi-arch was coming.
Code: Select all
$ full-upgrade
...
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 ia32-libs : Depends: ia32-libs-i386 which is a virtual package.
 ia32-libs-gtk : Depends: ia32-libs-i386 which is a virtual package.
                 Depends: ia32-libs-gtk-i386 which is a virtual package.
The following actions will resolve these dependencies:

     Remove the following packages:
2)     ia32-libs                   
3)     ia32-libs-gtk               
5)     nspluginwrapper             
6)     skype
...
$ dpkg --add-architecture i386 && update && safe-upgrade
$ remove skype nspluginwrapper skype:i386+
# all clear


One breakage; removing it hasn't caused any apparent problem:
Code: Select all
alsa-base : Breaks: linux-sound-base but 1.0.23+dfsg-4 is installed.


grizzler wrote:Also wants to remove dropbox
The replacement nemo-dropbox is working fine for me.

My only hiccups were the nvidia kernel module not building (had to use sgfxi), and mdm looking for a non-existent theme file ("Can't find /usr/share/mdm/themes/Doe-GDM/Doe-GDM.xml").
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby grizzler on Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:59 am

zerozero wrote:libmjpegtools-2.0-0 and libmjpegtools-1.9 are obsolete

Yet version 1.9 remains installed.

The update itself went without any problems. However, most of the issues I mentioned with earlier update packs are still there (I'll add some links to this posting later - have to leave now). Which is disappointing, yet not really unexpected since they didn't trigger any real response when I reported them (which makes me wonder why I bother testing things). :(

Edit: some links to issues that started in previous updates and are still present:
messed up font rendering in Qt apps {UP5)
resolution lost after screen blanking behind KVM and NFS server not visible (UP5)

It looks like the screen corruption problem that started with UP3 has finally been fixed, but I got that impression before, so I'll have to run more tests before I can be certain.

Edit 2: More tests seem to confirm it. The corruption problem hasn't reoccurred yet so it appears it has been fixed in kernel 3.2.0-4, apparently at the expense of a very slight loss of responsiveness (particularly noticeable while scrolling through some webpages in Firefox). This seems consistent with the source of the bug.
Last edited by grizzler on Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
grizzler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:30 am

mockturtl wrote:We knew multi-arch was coming.

Clem,
this probably deserves a specific entry in the update-pack info.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:53 am

UP6 incoming on the unofficial LMDE KDE

LMDE KDE i386
657 upgraded, 12 newly installed, 2 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

LMDE KDE amd64
673 upgraded, 153 newly installed, 3 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
(This includes wine and playonlinux)

1 Warning on both versions:
Code: Select all
p11-kit: duplicate configured module: gnome-keyring-module: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/pkcs11/gnome-keyring-pkcs11.so

Bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1038577
To solve:
Code: Select all
sudo rm /etc/pkcs11/modules/gnome-keyring-module
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby mockturtl on Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:05 am

Virtualbox kernel module didn't build, either. Easy fix:

Code: Select all
$ sudo service vboxdrv setup
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby killer de bug on Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:18 pm

Ok!

I've been upgrading all my system now, and not only Cinnamon and Nemo. Everything is working well. I have the 304.48 Nvidia driver and the suspend/resume bug is gone :wink:
I have installed MDM in replacement of the so old GDM3. Nice and working well too. Would have loved to have a 3.5 or 3.6 kernel with this pack but the freeze is the freeze... :mrgreen:

Code: Select all
***@*** ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host *** Kernel 3.2.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo T5900 (-MCP-) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips 8783.2
           Clock Speeds: (1) 800.00 MHz (2) 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card NVIDIA G96 [GeForce GT 130M] X.Org 1.12.4 Res: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer GeForce GT 130M/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 304.48 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1 Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver ath9k BusID: 03:00.0
           Card-2 Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port e800 BusID: 08:00.0
           ID:/home size: 432G used: 132G (33%) fs: ext3 ID:swap-1 size: 4.09GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 42.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:55C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes 182 Uptime 5 min Memory 521.8/3967.9MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23



By the way : Clem, it could be nice if we could choose the behavior of the power button in Cinnamon (currently only suspend, would love to use it as shutdown)


EDIT : Since I changed for MDM, the time between login and desktop appearance is way more longer than with GDM3. It's something like 15s compare to 5s. There is work to do here...
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1857
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby clem on Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:58 am

zerozero wrote:
mockturtl wrote:We knew multi-arch was coming.

Clem,
this probably deserves a specific entry in the update-pack info.


Definitely!
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby roger64 on Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:59 am

Hi

Object: NVIDIA brightness settings

I upgraded yesterday to UP6

I have a Toshiba laptop L-750. They are perfect except for brightness settings (of this later)

roger@lmde64:~$ inxi -F
System: Host lmde64 Kernel 3.2.0-2-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-2330M (-HT-MCP-) cache 3072 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips 8779.76
Clock Speeds: (1) 800.00 MHz (2) 800.00 MHz (3) 800.00 MHz (4) 800.00 MHz
Graphics: Card NVIDIA Device 0dec X.Org 1.12.1.902 Res: 1366x768@60.0hz
GLX Renderer GeForce GT 525M/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version 4.2.0 NVIDIA 302.17 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA GF108 High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 01:00.1
Card-2 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network: Card-1 Atheros AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet driver atl1c v: 1.0.1.0-NAPI at port 2000 BusID: 0a:00.0
Card-2 Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter driver rtl8192ce at port 3000 BusID: 09:00.0
Disks: HDD Total Size: 640.1GB (9.5% used) 1: /dev/sda TOSHIBA_MK6465GS 640.1GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 30G used: 7.6G (28%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 30G used: 7.6G (28%) fs: ext4
ID:/home size: 9.8G used: 5.8G (63%) fs: ext4 ID:swap-1 size: 4.19GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Info: Processes 159 Uptime 11:50 Memory 1165.4/3948.0MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23

The upgrade went smoothly and quickly. As far as I could check it, everything was working pretty welll. Maybe there was a little too much transparency on the Cinnamon (and Minty menus). The only thing which went wrong for me is about brightness settings.

Since last year, I use a .nvidia-settings-rc configuration file which contains my brightnes settings. Without it, I suffer from too much glare. However, and even if the nvidia-settings utility used with UP6 looks exactly the same as the one I used with UP5, this time it did not load the configuration file.

I tried to launch with a terminal and got this:
Code: Select all
nvidia-settings
ERROR: Error parsing configuration file '/home/roger/.nvidia-settings-rc' on
       line 50: '0/XVideoTextureBrightness=0' (Unrecognized attribute name).


Instead of trying to suppress the offending line and see what happens, I then did some mistakes of my own, found myself stuck without X and had to come back to UP5 using Clonezilla. So, for now, I cannot test it anymore. However, I would be interested to know if this is a shared issue.

Here is the configuration file I currently use under UP5 and which does not work under UP6:
[spoiler]#
# /home/roger/.nvidia-settings-rc
#
# Configuration file for nvidia-settings - the NVIDIA X Server Settings utility
# Generated on Mon Dec 10 19:34:59 2012
#

# ConfigProperties:

RcFileLocale = C
ToolTips = Yes
DisplayStatusBar = Yes
SliderTextEntries = Yes
IncludeDisplayNameInConfigFile = No
ShowQuitDialog = Yes
Timer = Thermal_Monitor_(GPU_0),Yes,1000
Timer = PowerMizer_Monitor_(GPU_0),Yes,1000

# Attributes:

0/CursorShadow=0
0/CursorShadowAlpha=64
0/CursorShadowRed=0
0/CursorShadowGreen=0
0/CursorShadowBlue=0
0/CursorShadowXOffset=4
0/CursorShadowYOffset=2
0/SyncToVBlank=0
0/LogAniso=0
0/FSAA=0
0/TextureSharpen=0
0/TextureClamping=0
0/AllowFlipping=1
0/FSAAAppControlled=1
0/LogAnisoAppControlled=1
0/OpenGLImageSettings=1
0/FSAAAppEnhanced=0
0/RedBrightness=-0.488372
0/GreenBrightness=-0.488372
0/BlueBrightness=-0.488372
0/RedContrast=0.000000
0/GreenContrast=0.000000
0/BlueContrast=0.000000
0/RedGamma=1.000000
0/GreenGamma=1.000000
0/BlueGamma=1.000000
0/DigitalVibrance[DFP-0]=0
0/ColorSpace[DFP-0]=0
0/ColorRange[DFP-0]=0
0/XVideoTextureBrightness=0
0/XVideoTextureContrast=0
0/XVideoTextureHue=0
0/XVideoTextureSaturation=0
0/XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank=1
0/XVideoSyncToDisplay=65536 [/spoiler]
Last edited by roger64 on Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby chemicalfan on Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:01 am

That isn't the new kernel, the new kernel is 3.2.0-4 - can you double check?
chemicalfan
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:51 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby roger64 on Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:32 am

Sorry for it. As I said above, I came back to UP5 quicker than expected. This is indeed UP5 kernel, but other info is relevant.
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby clem on Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:07 am

EDIT : Since I changed for MDM, the time between login and desktop appearance is way more longer than with GDM3. It's something like 15s compare to 5s. There is work to do here...


Yes, I noticed that as well. We'll look into this to see if we can speed things up and what's taking so long.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby sobrus on Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Hi! :)
I've noticed that UP6 still has probably the same broken fglrx 12.6-point1 driver as UP5 (no 3D under wine).

Also compiz is still missing :(

Can we have Sid versions of these packages? :mrgreen:
I bet ATI+MATE users would be very grateful :wink:
sobrus
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:36 am

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby killer de bug on Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:06 am

Ouuuuppppssss :oops:

I experienced a terrible freeze yesterday. I resumed my laptop from suspend and tried to launched firefox. The cursor was in waiting mode, nothing was happening. Firefox didn't launch. My mouse was moving but not able to click. Keyboard was useless. Ctrl + alt + backspace was useless. Unable to reach a terminal.
I was obliged to perform a hard reboot. :(

That was the second time since Saturday (the day I upgraded to UP6). Sunday I got the same freeze at the end of the day, after a very long use of my laptop. But not as critical: after several seconds of freeze, Firefox closed and I was able to click on the menu to shutdown.

I think it's coming from the Nvidia 304 driver and the suspend/resume mode.
Looks like there is still some problem here : http://bugs.manjaro.org/index.php?do=details&task_id=38

I will perform some more check to see when this freeze happens. I will use my laptop several hours long without using the suspend mode, to check if the problem occurs.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1857
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Re: UPDATE PACK 6 FEEDBACK THREAD

Postby killer de bug on Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:43 pm

I have been applying some more update which were available.
Mint-X was updated and it changed my "place" icon near the menu in the shortcut bar. Now I have a gray one. It doesn't look good. Look like a gray smiley.

I can't find the previous one: brown nautilus in a square! It has been replaced of course... Clem, could you please help me with this one ? Where can I download the previous icon ? Thanks a lot ;) --> found thanks : nautilus-action.png


Edit : By the way, the fonts have changed I think. The menu are written with smaller letters. It looks good, maybe smoother. Except the icon, nice update ;)

Edit2: I have seen an update for the mint-menu. But my menu is still buggy: https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/1258
Is the change supposed to be ok? Or is it normal that my menu is still not ok. --> Could be nice if we could change what appears in the system & pref section of the menu ;)
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1857
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Linux Mint Debian Incoming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests