Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor. [SOLVED]

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor. [SOLVED]

Postby bob on Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:51 am

Okay guys, I'm personally running Fedora 17 with an Nvidia card and resolutions issues are a no-brainer here, however I've installed Mint 14 (Mate) on my friend's older Dell machine, onboard Intel graphics and his max resolution is 1024x768 which results in squashed heads/bodies when watching HULU and some problems with seeing online banking figures. It seems that the proper resolution for him would be 1366x768 and his TV specs show 60hz as a good refresh rate.

Now, I haven't played in /etc/X11/xorg.conf for several years and I haven't used VI in about that same amount of time and ...it is my friend's machine, so I don't want to end up with a black screen when I'm done 'helping' him. In short, can someone give me an assist by confirming that we're still modifying /etc/X11/xorg.conf and what should be added under MONITOR to increase the resolution? VI is a last-resort option, but is there a built-in text editor similar to gedit that comes with Mate?
Last edited by bob on Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor.

Postby bigj231 on Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:16 pm

I believe you can set resolutions with xrandr instead of the xorg.conf. Also, Mint has gedit included. You could also use nano for quick edits. I find it easier to use than VI.
Also, how much older is it? P3 era? 1024x768 could be the max resolution for that chipset.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor.

Postby bob on Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:23 pm

Thanks for the quick response.

It's a P4, maybe 4 years old? Here's the last time I had this issue with his machine/TV: viewtopic.php?f=49&t=39383 and at least we're now at 1024x768 instead of 800x600, which is somewhat of an improvement! Tried to fire up gedit and it's apparently not included in the default install on Mate, but yeah, that's a heckuva lot easier than VI, so I'll install it.

Time moves on, many things change, so that's the reason for my question on what's the current method of adding additional resolutions.
User avatar
bob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:23 pm

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor.

Postby bigj231 on Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:29 pm

nano is inculded by default. It's still much easier than VI.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor.

Postby bob on Fri Dec 07, 2012 3:25 pm

Partial success! (partial 'yeehaw'): I've used xrandr to create the following:
Code: Select all
xrandr --newmode 1366x768 85.25 1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA1 1366x768
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768


which does change the resolution to correct values and all looks normal for that one login. So, time to make a start-up script, right?
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output VGA1 --primary --mode 1366x768


Which I've chmod'd and added to the start-up scripts and....nope, doesn't work because once I've rebooted, the xrandr values have reverted. :( So, what's the final step that I should be following here? Second script? Modify this one, adding the top two xrandr lines? Appreciate the help.
User avatar
bob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:23 pm

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor.

Postby bigj231 on Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:32 pm

Try this:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
/usr/bin/xrandr --output VGA1 --primary --mode 1366x768

I used the 'which' command to find the path to the executable. I've had issues with just using simple commands in my shell scripts.
Are the different resolutions still shown? If they aren't then you could just turn your code into a shell script.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor.

Postby bob on Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:04 pm

Okay, a new day and JOY!!!

Turns out that just modifying the .sh script to this:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --newmode 1366x768 85.25 1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA1 1366x768
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768


boots the correct resolution. The path was already set in the control panel when the script was added, so it was the missing top two lines that was the problem.

Thanks to all...back to Fedora... :lol: Nah, gotta dual-boot myself now with F-18 and Mint. Great distro.
User avatar
bob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:23 pm

Re: Intel Graphics, Mint 14 (MATE), 32" LCD TV Monitor. [SOL

Postby bigj231 on Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:01 pm

It really is. And you don't have to deal with RPM either. :wink:
Glad you got it working.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests