Mint 14 Cinnamon acting weird?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Mint 14 Cinnamon acting weird?

Postby jaaacck on Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:42 am

My Cinnamon install has been acting weird this morning, luckily I've got windows 7 on dual boot so I still have access to the computer.

I booted up and everything was working fine, I logged in then I realised my desktop environment had changed. It had changed to gnome from Cinnamon.
I went back to the login screen to try using the X Server script, but that still gave me the same environment. Before that it was on last session. My last session was last night and was on Cinnamon?

Also, when I try open google chrome the whole system crashes, I can't seem to get into any of the folders either. I can open firefox though which is weird. My desktop is still the same and my programs are still all installed.

I double checked I was logging into the correct account and I was. There is also only one account on my computer.
Everything was working flawlessly last night, then when I turned my computer on today everything went dodgey.

Any help is appreciated guys!
jaaacck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:40 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 14 Cinnamon acting weird?

Postby caf4926 on Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:45 am

But you have tried toggling Cinnamon in the session option at login?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Mint 14 Cinnamon acting weird?

Postby jaaacck on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:04 am

Yeah sorry, I forgot to mention this. I did try it and it still gives me the grub look and google chrome still crashes the whole system.
jaaacck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Mint 14 Cinnamon acting weird?

Postby caf4926 on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:09 am

I'm not a Cinnamon users but I'm wondering what if any PPA's you have?

I guess you could consider doing chroot to the installed system if you have the install CD to hand. Then check your packaging etc...
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Mint 14 Cinnamon acting weird?

Postby jaaacck on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:14 am

I can get onto the system and open up firefox, calculator etc... that's all I tried.
I'm kinda new to mint, how would I check what PPA's I have?
jaaacck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:40 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, DrM and 42 guests