internet

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

internet

Postby radiator on Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:08 am

hi
I am new to Mint. After I finish installing mint I opened the browser firefox. I was able to get the google homepage. I can get the 'news', 'youtube' and other sites of google. But I can't get the sites I usually visit in my windows XP. I cannot access facebook, BBCnews or any other sites. But I can get some other sites(sites like outlook mail). I still manages to get these sites in windows XP. I use linux mint 32 bit cinnamon version. how can fix this ?

please help
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: internet

Postby killer de bug on Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:46 am

What's the problem when you try to access Facebook for example ? Can you post a screenshot ?
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:03 pm

hi
when I google the pages of facebook and bbcnews, it brings me links to these sites as usual. But when I click the link, it takes forever to load these pages. You wait and wait until it gives a response like this " The connection has timed out". I am able to get the same pages without any problems on XP. Is this the problem of the browser. I am very much an amateur in mint. So I dont know how to take the screen shot. Please excuse. Is this an issue with virus or other malicious softwares.

please help
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby xenopeek on Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:49 pm

So for example, if you click on https://www.facebook.com/ or http://www.bbc.com/news/, you don't go to these web pages but get a timeout? (Please actually click them :)) And http://www.google.com/ and http://www.outlook.com/ do work?

The likelihood of this being a virus on your computer is insignificant. Please try these again also with Firefox in safe mode, so without extensions or plugins. That way you can confirm if this is perhaps being caused by how you have configured some of those. Press and hold down the left Alt key, then also press the F2 key and release both. In the box that appears, type:
Code: Select all
firefox -safe-mode
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:24 pm

hi vincent
I tried the safemode like you instructed. I am sorry but it didn't work. The results were the same. I also tried to connect with huffington post too. THese are the sites I usually visit . But i couldnot get any response
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:40 am

can any one help?
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby xenopeek on Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:51 am

Please open a terminal and run the following command, copy the output here.
Code: Select all
ping -c 4 facebook.com
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: internet

Postby Orbmiser on Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:07 am

What's your internet connection? Wired ethernet? Wifi?
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:44 am

PING facebook.com (173.252.100.16) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- facebook.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 3022ms



this is the response I got
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:50 am

I have wired connection
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby xenopeek on Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:19 am

Okay, the ping command tells us two things. One, that your DNS is working fine. It shows that the domain "facebook.com" is correctly looked up and the IP-address "173.252.100.16" is found for it. But that IP-address is not reachable from your computer.

Lets try to do a traceroute. Install it first:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install traceroute

Then run it as:
Code: Select all
traceroute bbc.com

I picked bbc.com as example, because facebook.com does something funny which results in an endless traceroute. Before you post the output here, blank the line marked "2" of the results as this has information which holds your IP address and name of your ISP.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:43 am

traceroute to bbc.com ( ), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 * * *
2 * * *
3 * * *
4 * * *
5 * * *
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

This is the response I got. I have blanked the info in the brackets as you insstructed. Hope this helps
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby xenopeek on Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:42 am

Hmm, that doesn't tell me much. Looks like you don't even reach your Internet gateway. Do you have another operating system or computer you can try on the same wired connection? If that works, something is configured on your Linux Mint installation.

I'd try booting from the Linux Mint installation DVD / USB, and confirming whether you have the same issue then. You didn't say which version of Linux Mint you are using, but if you have 14 you may want to try 14.1 instead: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2234.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: internet

Postby Jim1938 on Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:07 pm

...
I see you rebooted to safe mode - but -
You might want to COLD boot everything.
Shut down your pc.
Shut down your modem.
Disconnect all cables from modem.
Disconnect unessentials such as printers, webcams, from pc.
Let everything rest in the OFF position for 2 minutes minimum.
Then hook JUST the pc, modem, and Internet back up and restart.

Then try V's suggestions again in the same order starting from the top.

Have anything changed?
...
Wirth's law - Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster.
User avatar
Jim1938
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: USA

Re: internet

Postby karl-boris on Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:09 pm

I happen to have the same problem since I installed Mint 14 with cinnamon. Any site using a secure connexion gives me a timeout error. I've been using it, mostly through wi-fi, with a Intel 5100 AGN wifi chip and the iwlwifi driver; but it doesn't work neither with a wired connection (Broadcom Netlink BCM5906M with tg3 driver). I have change to Mint 13 xfce, with an updated kernel to 3.6.9 and it still didn't solved my problem...

I have also tried different web browsers. With firefox and opera, i would simply get a timeout error and with Chrome and Chromium, I had an "Error 324 (net:: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE): The server closed the connection without sending any data." Same result in safe mode. I did some research with that error 324, and there was an issue with chromium earlier this year, where certain websites, such as twitter, were timing out, but it was supposed to have been during summer...

When I connect through my smartphone in tethering mode, I have no problem accessing https websites... so the problem seems to be with my modem (which is also my router). Now I was told that it is possible that my router doesn't read my MAC address properly, and therefore, isn't able to resend me the information got through a secure connection, but when I look into the device details in my routers settings, its the same MAC address I get as when I run inxi in terminal.

Also, when I try with my parents computer, with windows 7, there is no problem. Right now, I'm downloading Ubuntu 12.04 LTS to try it in live boot and see if I still get the same problem...
karl-boris
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:05 pm

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:21 am

I have windowsXP installed to the same computer. In there I can get all the websites not accessible in Mint. Sorry, I can't get another computer. I am using linux Mint 14 "Nadia" cinnamon 1.6 32-bit version.
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:19 am

I am using linux mint14 "nadia ". So do I have to install this Nadia “14.1″ ISO respins separatly or I can use the update manager to do it? Also if I remove mint and reinstall does that solve the problem?
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby xenopeek on Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:24 am

Thanks for confirming it all works fine in XP. I'd try the Linux Mint installation DVD / USB first; if the websites all work fine from there, it sounds like a reinstall would be a solution. I'd reinstall with 14.1 to make sure (if you download 14 from the Linux Mint website now, you get the 14.1 ISO).
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: internet

Postby radiator on Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:41 am

I have downloaded mint14 (.iso file) 3 days ago. Does that mean I have installed mint 14.1. So do I have to download mint once again?
radiator
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:44 am

Re: internet

Postby xenopeek on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:06 am

That should be the 14.1 release (I downloaded and installed it then also). Did you do any network related configuration, like VPN, DNS, or firewall?
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Axtroz, BlackVeils, Elifia, Google Adsense [Bot], thaigangmei123, vladimir123 and 32 guests