Editing grub

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Editing grub

Postby natchezjohn on Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:50 pm

I have Mint on sda1 and ubuntu on sda6. Grub is on sda.

I want to replace ubuntu but fear that doing so will put the new os as first on the log in.

If so I'll need to edit the grub file BUT I DON'T KNOW HOW TO ACCESS IT. Once I do I'll probably be back here for assistance in doing so.
But I gotta find it first. How do I do that?
I don't know much - but at least I know what I don't know
User avatar
natchezjohn
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:35 pm
Location: Natchez, MS U.S.A

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Editing grub

Postby mank_in on Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:08 pm

to avoid the pain , you can try install Grub Customizer

But if you want to change manually, you can use terminal :
Code: Select all
 grep menuentry /boot/grub/grub.cfg


You will see something like this ( i use my grub for sample ) :

Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon 32-bit, 3.5.0-17-generic (/dev/sda3)'
Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon 32-bit, 3.5.0-17-generic (/dev/sda3) -- recovery mode
Memory test (memtest86+)
Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)

the first one is menuentry 0 , so Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200) is menuentry 4

executed:
Cinnamon :
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/default/grub

MATE:
Code: Select all
sudo pluma /etc/default/grub


change :
GRUB_DEFAULT=0
to whatever menuentry you choose, if ubuntu is menuentry 5 and LM is 0 change 5 to 0
save it.
execute :
Code: Select all
sudo update-grub
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Editing grub

Postby natchezjohn on Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:25 pm

I see. Looks like something even I could do.
But using Grub Customizer would be even easier. Do it work on mint? I assume so as mint is a ubunto derivative.
Thank you,
John
I don't know much - but at least I know what I don't know
User avatar
natchezjohn
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:35 pm
Location: Natchez, MS U.S.A

Re: Editing grub

Postby mank_in on Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:36 pm

works on ubuntu usually for for Mint too :)
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Editing grub

Postby natchezjohn on Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:42 pm

Thank you very much!!
I don't know much - but at least I know what I don't know
User avatar
natchezjohn
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:35 pm
Location: Natchez, MS U.S.A


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TransposableBeuss and 12 guests