<SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

<SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby grepnix on Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:29 am

I've just switched to Linux Mint KDE 13 on my laptop as the distro works better with my hardware. Very pleased so far but was wondering if it would be possible to use the smooth tasks plasma widget rather than the usual taskmanager. I can't find it anywhere?

Cheers,
Grepnix
Last edited by grepnix on Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
grepnix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby grepnix on Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:20 pm

Ok, if anyones interested I managed to get the smooth tasks widget running by compiling from source :-

https://bitbucket.org/flupp/smooth-tasks-fork/downloads

Go to branches and download the 4.8 branch in zip .gz or .bz2 format
Extract it to a directory and read the install.txt file for instructions on how to compile.

I needed to install the following dependencies for the compile to work on a base install :-

build-essential
cmake
g++
kdebase-workspace-dev

Caveats :

For some reason it messed up my taskbar and I had to recreate the panel. Its fine again now.
Remember this is an unsupported plasma widget that is a fork of the original smooth tasks.

Cheers,
Grepnix
grepnix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby BubbaBlues on Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:52 pm

All you had to do is open synaptic and type smooth tasks in the search. It's in there. :D It's listed as
plasma-widget-smooth-tasks
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the universe."
- Albert Einstein
User avatar
BubbaBlues
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby grepnix on Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:47 pm

BubbaBlues wrote:All you had to do is open synaptic and type smooth tasks in the search. It's in there. :D It's listed as
plasma-widget-smooth-tasks


You're kidding! agh... <bangs head against table in frustration> I could have sworn I'd checked beforehand... I'm away from my Mint laptop at the mo, will check later...

Aye well, I guess I ended up with a load of compiling tools that may be helpful in the future. Theres always a silver lining :)

Grepnix
grepnix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby BubbaBlues on Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:56 pm

:D :D
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the universe."
- Albert Einstein
User avatar
BubbaBlues
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby grepnix on Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:31 am

Actually, I've just checked in synaptic and there is no plasma-widget-smooth-tasks in my base install??

Have you got extra repos in your install?

Cheers,
Grepnix
grepnix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby BubbaBlues on Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:22 pm

Did you click the search button and type in "smooth tasks"? I'm actually using Mint 14 KDE, but I went straight from 12 to 14 because I didn't care much
for 13. However, I did install smooth tasks in 12 and it's there in 14, so I figure it has to be there in 13. 8)
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the universe."
- Albert Einstein
User avatar
BubbaBlues
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby grepnix on Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:33 pm

BubbaBlues wrote:Did you click the search button and type in "smooth tasks"?


Yep... Nothing... nada... zilch... aptitude doesn't find it either...

Cheers,
Grepnix
grepnix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby zerozero on Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:34 pm

trying to clear this out :lol: smooth tasks (for some odd reason) is not in the precise/maya repo (is in the previous and next :shock: )
http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?keywo ... ooth-tasks
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6485
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby BubbaBlues on Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:43 pm

Hmm, that's weird. Well there ya go. :)
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the universe."
- Albert Einstein
User avatar
BubbaBlues
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: <SOLVED> Smooth tasks plasma widget

Postby grepnix on Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:18 pm

Have gone back to using the default Task manager as I found this plasma widget far too buggy. it was constantly restarting plasma... I prefer it to look at, so its a shame... Perhaps the one that comes with KDE 14 works better...

Cheers,
Grepnix
grepnix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests