compiz desktop zoom broken?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby sroske on Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:31 pm

I really miss compiz's zoom feature. <super> <scroll mouse>. It's my favorite compiz feature. Is anyone else having trouble with LMDE 64 Mint 13? I can't figure out if there is conflict, or what. I've disabled everything in compiz to just try the zoom, and it won't work. I'm questioning if I even know what I am doing (obviously not). So, I've been trying various zooms to get _any_ to work. No luck.
sroske
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby GeneC on Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:58 pm

sroske

LMDE 64 Mint 13

?? Its either Mint 13 (Ubuntu based), or LMDE(Debian based)..??
Compiz only works with XFCE or Mate desktops, not Cinnamon or Gnome-Shell.

Do you have the right one checked (there are two). One for the actual desktop to zoom.
(It works for me on LMDE/XFCE)
Code: Select all
gene@zordon:~$ apt-cache policy compiz
compiz:
  Installed: 0.8.4-5.2
  Candidate: 0.8.4-5.2
  Version table:
 *** 0.8.4-5.2 0
        500 http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status



This one.
(click to enlarge)
Image

And the one two lines down that actually zooms the desktop cube.



EDIT:
Sorry, I was wrong on that one.... :oops: ... :lol:
They both seem to work on zooming the desktop.
Last edited by GeneC on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Sparky Cin 2.2 (Debian Testing)
Manjaro .9.0dev (Cin 2.4) Unstable
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby xenopeek on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:26 pm

About compiz, so moving topic here.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15276
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby sroske on Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:44 am

Sorry, I am running LMDE 64-- the Debian version. I had XFCE running on here, but it didn't work well with AMD Catalyst control centre for my video card. I still can't get my dual monitors to work as I like, but I will make a separate post on that issue another time.

I would like to the get Compiz Zoom to work. I'm getting a weird bug. Yes, I'm running in MATE, and I'm glad to learn there is a difference between Cinnamon and MATE regarding the Zoom feature.

Now, when I activate the Zoom, and reload the Window Manager. My mouse scrolls off my main screen to the left. Luckily my second monitor is on the left and I can get access to Compiz on there (after ctrl F4 to close the Settings Manager on the first monitor) So, I disable the zoom feature and can use my mouse again on my main screen. Weird, huh?

Anyway, the Zoom doesn't work in Mate. Do you all recommend I give XFCE another try to see if the issues will be corrected?
sroske
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:57 am


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests