[FIXED] LMDE Upgrade Pack 5 Broke my Touchpad Right-Click

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[FIXED] LMDE Upgrade Pack 5 Broke my Touchpad Right-Click

Postby cydron on Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:44 am

EDIT: Resolution: This issue can be resolved by making sure to click "N" when prompted to replace configuration files during the upgrade. Clicking "Y" seemed to be the ultimate cause of the issue.


So I installed LMDE Update Pack 5 (from update pack 4) on my LMDE Mate 201204 release, and unfortunately, the upgrade broke the right-click capability on my Synaptics Touchpad. I've tried everything. Including using an identical Xorg.conf file as before, etc etc.

Bug Details:

After installing LMDE Update Pack 5, right click stopped working entirely. .

It was certainly the upgrade from Update Pack 4 to Update Pack 5 that broke the right-click functionality.

Here's my current (Update Pack 5) Xorg.0.log file.

[ 954.279] (II) LoadModule: "synaptics"
[ 954.279] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/synaptics_drv.so
[ 954.279] (II) Module synaptics: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 954.279] compiled for 1.12.1.902, module version = 1.6.2

[ 954.279] Module class: X.Org XInput Driver
[ 954.279] ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 16.0
[ 954.551] (II) Using input driver 'synaptics' for 'Mouse0'
[ 954.551] (**) Option "CorePointer"
[ 954.551] (**) Mouse0: always reports core events
[ 954.760] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: auto-dev sets device to /dev/input/event7
[ 954.808] (**) Option "Device" "/dev/input/event7"
[ 954.808] (II) synaptics: Mouse0: found clickpad property
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: x-axis range 1472 - 5472
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: y-axis range 1408 - 4448
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: pressure range 0 - 255
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: finger width range 0 - 15
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: buttons: left double triple
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: Vendor 0x2 Product 0x7
[ 954.808] (**) Option "SHMConfig" "on"
[ 954.808] (**) Option "TapButton1" "1"
[ 954.808] (**) Option "TapButton2" "2"
[ 954.808] (**) Option "TapButton3" "3"
[ 954.808] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: touchpad found
[ 954.808] (**) Mouse0: always reports core events
[ 954.852] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Mouse0" (type: TOUCHPAD, id 6)
[ 954.852] (**) synaptics: Mouse0: (accel) MinSpeed is now constant deceleration 2.5
[ 954.852] (**) synaptics: Mouse0: MaxSpeed is now 1.75
[ 954.852] (**) synaptics: Mouse0: AccelFactor is now 0.040
[ 954.852] (**) Mouse0: (accel) keeping acceleration scheme 1
[ 954.852] (**) Mouse0: (accel) acceleration profile 1
[ 954.852] (**) Mouse0: (accel) acceleration factor: 2.000
[ 954.852] (**) Mouse0: (accel) acceleration threshold: 4
[ 954.852] (--) synaptics: Mouse0: touchpad found
[ 954.854] (II) config/udev: Adding input device Power Button (/dev/input/event4)



The only work-around I found was to do
synclient ClickPad=0

from the command line, which seems to re-enable right-click functionality. However, you can't right-click-and-hold while still moving the mouse. Thus it's impossible to right click on an HTTP link and seamlessly click "Open link in new tab" while web browsing.

synclient settings for those curious...

Parameter settings:
synclient -l
LeftEdge = 1752
RightEdge = 5192
TopEdge = 1620
BottomEdge = 4236
FingerLow = 25
FingerHigh = 30
FingerPress = 256
MaxTapTime = 180
MaxTapMove = 221
MaxDoubleTapTime = 180
SingleTapTimeout = 180
ClickTime = 100
FastTaps = 0
EmulateMidButtonTime = 0
EmulateTwoFingerMinZ = 282
EmulateTwoFingerMinW = 7
VertScrollDelta = 100
HorizScrollDelta = 100
VertEdgeScroll = 1
HorizEdgeScroll = 0
CornerCoasting = 0
VertTwoFingerScroll = 0
HorizTwoFingerScroll = 0
MinSpeed = 1
MaxSpeed = 1.75
AccelFactor = 0.0398089
TrackstickSpeed = 40
EdgeMotionMinZ = 30
EdgeMotionMaxZ = 160
EdgeMotionMinSpeed = 1
EdgeMotionMaxSpeed = 401
EdgeMotionUseAlways = 0
TouchpadOff = 0
LockedDrags = 0
LockedDragTimeout = 5000
RTCornerButton = 0
RBCornerButton = 0
LTCornerButton = 0
LBCornerButton = 0
TapButton1 = 0
TapButton2 = 0
TapButton3 = 0
ClickFinger1 = 1
ClickFinger2 = 3
ClickFinger3 = 2
CircularScrolling = 0
CircScrollDelta = 0.1
CircScrollTrigger = 0
CircularPad = 0
PalmDetect = 0
PalmMinWidth = 10
PalmMinZ = 200
CoastingSpeed = 20
CoastingFriction = 50
PressureMotionMinZ = 30
PressureMotionMaxZ = 160
PressureMotionMinFactor = 1
PressureMotionMaxFactor = 1
GrabEventDevice = 1
TapAndDragGesture = 1
AreaLeftEdge = 0
AreaRightEdge = 0
AreaTopEdge = 0
AreaBottomEdge = 0
HorizHysteresis = 8
VertHysteresis = 8
ClickPad = 1
RightButtonAreaLeft = 3472
RightButtonAreaRight = 0
RightButtonAreaTop = 3900
RightButtonAreaBottom = 0
MiddleButtonAreaLeft = 0
MiddleButtonAreaRight = 0
MiddleButtonAreaTop = 0
MiddleButtonAreaBottom = 0
Last edited by cydron on Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cydron
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE Upgrade Pack 5 Broke my Touchpad Right-Click

Postby cydron on Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:41 pm

Okay, so I got this issue resolved...

I reinstalled LMDE 201204 with Mate from scratch so I had a clean install. After the clean install, the right mouse click worked fine , including right click while moving the mouse.

So I went ahead and ran Update Manager , and upgraded from Update Pack 4 to Update Pack 5. I did it from the command line via 'apt-get update; apt-get upgrade'.

During the upgrade , I made sure to click "N" to all the questions as to whether to replace existing configuration files (previously I clicked "Y" to these questions, which apparently broke the mouse driver).

Much to my surprise, this time, the right mouse click works fine after the upgrade -- including right click while moving.

I'm not sure what the issue was, but make sure to click "N" to replace configuration files while upgrading to Update Pack 5.
cydron
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:32 pm

Re: [FIXED] LMDE Upgrade Pack 5 Broke my Touchpad Right-Clic

Postby zerozero on Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:57 pm

in a way i'm happy that you solved your issue but in the long run the way you used to do it is going to cause you bigger problems
cydron wrote:I did it from the command line via 'apt-get update; apt-get upgrade'.
a release like lmde should always be maintained with dist-upgrade see this
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6471
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests