Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Postby ptolemy on Sat Dec 08, 2012 6:58 am

Hi,

I find sound works great in Firefox, and playing CD's, but if I then start Chrome, or Audacity it breaks sound, never to come back unless I reboot, that applies both to You Tube etc and playing CD's.

I suspect the problem maybe that it's defaulting to my graphics card as the default:

$ lspci | grep -i audio
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV770 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4850/4870]
04:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)

My speakers are plugged into the SB Audigy.

I've removed Pulseaudio and believe I'm purely using ALSA. My .asoundrc looks like this:

~$ cat .asoundrc
pcm.!default {
type hw
card Audigy2
}
ctl.!default {
type hw
card Audigy2
}

It appears that it's once I visit You Tube in Chrome that the sound fails. I've captured the output of ps before and after and diff-ed and it doesn't appear that any process is stopping, neither are there any new events in /var/log or dmesg.

I'd be grateful for any advice for further things to try.
ptolemy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Postby eco2geek on Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:24 pm

Here's something else to try. You may have two sound-related kernel modules being loaded, and the wrong one being loaded first and used for sound output instead of the one you want.

Find out which modules are loaded with the command

Code: Select all
$ cat /proc/asound/modules
 0 snd_hda_intel
 1 snd_ice1724


That's the output on my computer -- hopefully you'll see something similar. The output shows the module for my mobo's sound chipset (snd_hda_intel), and the module for my sound card's chipset (snd_icd1724). Right now, the default soundcard ("card0") is using the snd_hda_intel module, because that module is getting loaded before the other one.

I want the default driver to be the other one. So, in order to make sure that "snd_icd1724" gets used as the default sound driver, I'm going to make sure "snd_hda_intel" always gets to be "card1" instead of "card0" by adding the following line to /etc/modprobe.d/sound (create the file if it doesn't exist, and substitute the name of the offending module for your sound card for mine):

Code: Select all
options snd_hda_intel index=1


and reboot.

Credit: The Headacher on the Vector Linux forum.
User avatar
eco2geek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Postby ptolemy on Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:48 pm

eco2geek - Thanks for the reply, I tried what you suggested sadly to no avail.

That is to say I created this file with this contents:

Code: Select all
$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
options snd_hda_intel index=1


That leads to this:

Code: Select all
$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Audigy2        ]: Audigy2 - SB Audigy 2 Platinum [SB0240P]
                      SB Audigy 2 Platinum [SB0240P] (rev.4, serial:0x10021102) at 0xec00, irq 22
 1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfe9ec000 irq 44


Which made me optimistic the problem was solved. However, using Firefox I kicked off a tune on youtube, playing fine until I started Chrome and used that to visit youtube, once the youtube home page loads sound goes off, to not come back until a reboot.
ptolemy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Postby eco2geek on Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:42 pm

I'm sorry, I didn't mean for you to create a file with the same information as I have in mine. I was just posting mine as an example.

Please run the command "cat /proc/asound/modules" and post the results.
User avatar
eco2geek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Postby ptolemy on Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:29 pm

Code: Select all
~$ cat /proc/asound/modules
 0 snd_emu10k1
 1 snd_hda_intel


No worries, I think we happen to have the same mobo sound thing. There's the output of said file. Thanks again for taking an interest.
ptolemy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: Chrome and Audacity break Sound

Postby eco2geek on Sat Dec 15, 2012 6:36 pm

Whew. Sorry I couldn't help fix your issue.

What I'm seeing is that, every time I reboot and log in to Cinnamon, I have to choose the correct sound output device; it's defaulting to "Built-In Audio Analog Stereo" rather than my sound card. The setting does not "stick" between reboots. (See screenshot.)
Attachments
wrong-output-device.jpeg
wrong-output-device.jpeg (180.48 KiB) Viewed 706 times
User avatar
eco2geek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests