compiz desktop zoom broken?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby sroske on Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:31 pm

I really miss compiz's zoom feature. <super> <scroll mouse>. It's my favorite compiz feature. Is anyone else having trouble with LMDE 64 Mint 13? I can't figure out if there is conflict, or what. I've disabled everything in compiz to just try the zoom, and it won't work. I'm questioning if I even know what I am doing (obviously not). So, I've been trying various zooms to get _any_ to work. No luck.
sroske
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby GeneC on Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:58 pm

sroske

LMDE 64 Mint 13

?? Its either Mint 13 (Ubuntu based), or LMDE(Debian based)..??
Compiz only works with XFCE or Mate desktops, not Cinnamon or Gnome-Shell.

Do you have the right one checked (there are two). One for the actual desktop to zoom.
(It works for me on LMDE/XFCE)
Code: Select all
gene@zordon:~$ apt-cache policy compiz
compiz:
  Installed: 0.8.4-5.2
  Candidate: 0.8.4-5.2
  Version table:
 *** 0.8.4-5.2 0
        500 http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status



This one.
(click to enlarge)
Image

And the one two lines down that actually zooms the desktop cube.



EDIT:
Sorry, I was wrong on that one.... :oops: ... :lol:
They both seem to work on zooming the desktop.
Last edited by GeneC on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Cin 2.2 (SID)
OpenSUSE 13.1 (Gnome)
Evolve OS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby xenopeek on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:26 pm

About compiz, so moving topic here.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14735
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: compiz desktop zoom broken?

Postby sroske on Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:44 am

Sorry, I am running LMDE 64-- the Debian version. I had XFCE running on here, but it didn't work well with AMD Catalyst control centre for my video card. I still can't get my dual monitors to work as I like, but I will make a separate post on that issue another time.

I would like to the get Compiz Zoom to work. I'm getting a weird bug. Yes, I'm running in MATE, and I'm glad to learn there is a difference between Cinnamon and MATE regarding the Zoom feature.

Now, when I activate the Zoom, and reload the Window Manager. My mouse scrolls off my main screen to the left. Luckily my second monitor is on the left and I can get access to Compiz on there (after ctrl F4 to close the Settings Manager on the first monitor) So, I disable the zoom feature and can use my mouse again on my main screen. Weird, huh?

Anyway, the Zoom doesn't work in Mate. Do you all recommend I give XFCE another try to see if the issues will be corrected?
sroske
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:57 am


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest