Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby fiver22 on Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:42 am

I'm REALLY interested in trying Thunar 1.5.1 -I currently run xfce 4.10 and Thunar 1.4.0 and while I've managed to get xfce 4.10 installed by following these instructions http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.ph ... 86#p577386 (basically adding deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian experimental main contrib non-free and pulling in all necessary xfce4.10 stuff via synaptic) I fail miserable at getting Thunar 1.5.1
So has anyone managed to get Thunar 1.5.1 working on LMDE?
Running LMDE UP5
Code: Select all
fiver22@m0nster2:/home/fiver22  $ inxi -FGxr
System:    Host m0nster2 Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 T5500 (-MCP-) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips 6649.98
           Clock Speeds: (1) 1000.00 MHz (2) 1000.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card NVIDIA G72M [Quadro NVS 110M/GeForce Go 7300] X.Org 1.12.1.902 Res: 1024x768@60.0hz, 1280x800@59.9hz
           GLX Renderer GeForce Go 7300/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 304.60 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card Intel N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1 Broadcom BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN driver b43-pci-bridge BusID: 0c:00.0
           Card-2 Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5752 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express driver tg3 v: 3.121 BusID: 09:00.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 2600.5GB (67.8% used) 1: /dev/sda OCZ 100.0GB 30C
           2: /dev/sdc FA_GoFlex_Desk 1500.3GB 0C 3: USB /dev/sdb 33AS 1000.2GB 0C
Partition: ID:/ size: 20G used: 8.8G (46%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 20G used: 8.8G (46%) fs: ext4
           ID:/boot size: 497M used: 63M (14%) fs: ext4 ID:/home size: 71G used: 48G (71%) fs: ext4
           ID:swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.01GB (1%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 57.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:68C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com debian main upstream import incoming
           deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com debian main upstream import incoming
           deb http://lmde-mirror.gwendallebihan.net/incoming testing main contrib non-free
           deb-src http://lmde-mirror.gwendallebihan.net/incoming testing main contrib non-free
           deb http://lmde-mirror.gwendallebihan.net/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
           deb http://lmde-mirror.gwendallebihan.net/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free
           deb-src http://lmde-mirror.gwendallebihan.net/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free
           deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian wheezy contrib
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-talkplugin.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/spideroak.com.sources.list
           deb http://apt.spideroak.com/ubuntu-spideroak-hardy/ release restricted
Info:      Processes 180 Uptime 2 days Memory 1392.9/3273.4MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23
User avatar
fiver22
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby Brian49 on Wed Dec 12, 2012 6:53 am

Thunar 1.6.1 has just appeared in the Debian Experimental repository. I've been able to upgrade with no problems. Several other packages need to be upgraded at the same time.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby GeneC on Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:20 am

My LMDE/XFCE/SID install also got upgraded to Thunar 1.6.1 today, though not through Debian Experimental, but through Siduction -xfcenext repo.
You can fully upgrade to XFCE 4.10 , Thunar 1.6.1, plus some other goodies.

If interested, take a look >

How To:
(Install Xfce 4.10 with upgraded Xfce Apps and Plugins to Debian Testing/SID)
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=21324

Siduction XFCE next repo
http://packages.siduction.org/?Reposito ... next_amd64 (note: 64bit)

Add to sources.
Code: Select all
deb http://packages.siduction.org/xfcenext unstable main
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/xfcenext unstable main


Add Keyring
Code: Select all
$ wget http://packages.siduction.org/base/pool/main/s/siduction-archive-keyring/siduction-archive-keyring_2012.07.01_all.deb
$ sudo dpkg -i siduction-archive-keyring_2012.07.01_all.deb
$ rm siduction-archive-keyring_2012.07.01_all.deb
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Cin 2.2 (SID)
OpenSUSE 13.1 (Gnome)
Evolve OS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby Brian49 on Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:41 pm

GeneC - that's a useful tip. Thanks very much.

I must say I remain unimpressed with Thunar. I find that PCManFM has greater functionality, although it's a bit buggy, and at present there's no way of upgrading to the latest version short of compiling it yourself, which doesn't appeal to me.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby fiver22 on Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:37 pm

Thanks for the replies, folks.
I've the added siduction repo and updated -all is well. I'm looking forward to seeing what I make of the additions/updates to Thunar. I was one of those 'omgpls2addTabs' kids for a long time and now I don't know if I'll even use them :)
GeneC: We're practically neighbours -I'm in New Brunswick -just above Calais.
User avatar
fiver22
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:08 am

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby GeneC on Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:44 pm

Brian49 wrote:GeneC - that's a useful tip. Thanks very much.

I must say I remain unimpressed with Thunar. I find that PCManFM has greater functionality, although it's a bit buggy, and at present there's no way of upgrading to the latest version short of compiling it yourself, which doesn't appeal to me.


Hi Brian..

Yes, Thunar is pretty basic. I have added a couple of 'custom actions', that make it a little more functional

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ThunarCustomActions

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?p=285354

=============================

by fiver22 on Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:37 pm

....GeneC: We're practically neighbours -I'm in New Brunswick -just above Calais.


Hey, Neighbor....Image
Pretty mild winter, so far...
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Cin 2.2 (SID)
OpenSUSE 13.1 (Gnome)
Evolve OS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby wayne128 on Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:49 pm

GeneC » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:20 pm
My LMDE/XFCE/SID install also got upgraded to Thunar 1.6.1 today, though not through Debian Experimental, but through Siduction -xfcenext repo.
You can fully upgrade to XFCE 4.10 , Thunar 1.6.1, plus some other goodies.


My linuxBBQ-xfce4.10 , dist-upgrade with Thunar 1.6.1, no issue, also network browsing works out of the box.



Brian49 wrote:GeneC - that's a useful tip. Thanks very much.

I must say I remain unimpressed with Thunar. I find that PCManFM has greater functionality, although it's a bit buggy, and at present there's no way of upgrading to the latest version short of compiling it yourself, which doesn't appeal to me.


I used thunar for a long time, not much trouble. May be because I only need simple file management :)
As i always need network browsing out of the box, without a need to install gigolo, so I shall be staying with thunar in any xfce distros.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3319
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby Brian49 on Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:46 am

I have two issues with Thunar:

- it doesn't recognise my USB storage devices, which I use a lot;
- it doesn't have Copy to.../Move to... menu items; they can be set up as custom actions, but then don't work properly.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby GeneC on Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:43 am

Brian49 wrote:.......... - it doesn't recognize my USB storage devices, which I use a lot........


Never had a problem here recognizing either memory stick, SD card, or external USB HD.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Cin 2.2 (SID)
OpenSUSE 13.1 (Gnome)
Evolve OS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby fiver22 on Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:40 am

Brian49 wrote:I have two issues with Thunar:

- it doesn't recognise my USB storage devices, which I use a lot;
- it doesn't have Copy to.../Move to... menu items; they can be set up as custom actions, but then don't work properly.

Thunar always recognized my USB devices and still does on this update to 1.6.whatever -but I used to be able to drag files to menu items and I no longer can. Have yet to find a fix. I would have thought you could also drag to a new tab header/name -but you can't, it switches you to that tab and you can THEN drop items.
User avatar
fiver22
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:08 am

Re: Thunar 1.5.1 -anyone managed it yet?

Postby Brian49 on Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:31 pm

By ferreting around I've discovered that Thunar uses the gvfs package for mounting, a package which I removed a while ago. After installing it again, mounting in Thunar works. I don't really like having gvfs on my system since I escaped from Gnome to Xfce, and also because it drags in various dependencies, but at least functionality has been restored.

That just leaves the absence of "Copy to/Move to" menu items. However, it turns out that I can at least copy files to USB devices using the "Send to" menu, as to my surprise those devices appear on that menu when mounted.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests