Mint 14 - Sound skipping

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint 14 - Sound skipping

Postby Terrapene on Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:23 am

I can't get sound working properly with Mint 14 (Cinnamon 64-bit). I'm using an old AMD 780g motherboard (Foxconn A7GM-S 2.0) with integrated sound (Realtek ALC888GR). It works perfectly well with Windows 7 so the hardware isn't at fault. The device is detected and sound does work, but very poorly (crackles & skips). When I open the sound mixer (pulse or alsa) I can see the audio output rapidly cycling between "analog stereo output" and "headphones". None of the options in any of the mixer applications solves the problem.

Perhaps it's a problem with jack sensing? I will happily disable that feature for working sound if that's even possible. Any suggestions?
Terrapene
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 14 - Sound skipping

Postby caf4926 on Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:50 am

Are you new to Mint/Linux?
Or have you been using it and this is a new problem that didn't exist previously?

I was wondering if you had tried the Mate version?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Mint 14 - Sound skipping

Postby Terrapene on Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:17 am

caf4926 wrote:Are you new to Mint/Linux?
Or have you been using it and this is a new problem that didn't exist previously?

I was wondering if you had tried the Mate version?


I haven't used Mint on this particular system since version 9 or 10, but it was working previously. I just finished testing Mint 14 Mate and LMDE and the problem persists in both cases.
Terrapene
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:54 am

Re: Mint 14 - Sound skipping

Postby Terrapene on Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:37 pm

Problem solved.

I added the following to the end of alsa-base.conf
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=generic

After rebooting I selected "hw:0,0" as the pcm output device (not "default", which still doesn't work for whatever reason).

This thread can be closed.
Terrapene
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:54 am

Re: Mint 14 - Sound skipping

Postby andy1m on Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:15 pm

I have similar problem with Mint 14 Mate, with other old versions did not have such problem. It's a VIA onboard HDA audio.
andy1m
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:30 pm


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests