Do you run 64-bit or 32 bit Mint, and why.

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

Do you run 32-bit or 64-bit Mint

Poll ended at Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:47 am

32-bit Mint (or other 32-bit OS)
5
13%
64-bit Mint (or other 64-bit OS)
26
67%
Both
8
21%
 
Total votes : 39

Re: Do you run 64-bit or 32 bit Mint, and why.

Postby RobertLM78 on Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:54 pm

For me it is a matter of the machine's architecture. On my 32-bit computer I use 32-bit, and on my new 64-bit computer, I use the 64-bit version to unlock the full potential of the computer's design. From what I understand, 64-bit applications use a bit more RAM but are much faster than their 32-bit counterparts.
Dell Dimension 4600i, ATI Rage 128, 1 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 32-bit, MATE edition
Dell Latitude D400, Intel Graphics, 1 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 32-bit, MATE edition
Gateway DX4860, Sapphire Radeon HD 5450, 6 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 64-bit, MATE edition
User avatar
RobertLM78
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:19 am
Location: US

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Do you run 64-bit or 32 bit Mint, and why.

Postby Ginsu543 on Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:03 am

64-bit applications really shine when you are doing data-intensive tasks such as video/music encoding, 3D rendering and animation, and manipulatinging large files. For small, repetitive tasks, 64-bit can actually be slightly slower than 32-bit. But 64-bit also allows for larger continuous memory space, which lowers fragmentation and access times.
Main: Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0 GHz | Asus P6X58D Premium | 12 GB Mushkin Redline PC3-12800 7-8-7-24 | EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti | Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 / OS X 10.7.3
Portables: Toshiba Portege R200 | Mint 17 Cinnamon 32 / Dell Mini 9 | OS X 10.6.7
User avatar
Ginsu543
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:15 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Do you run 64-bit or 32 bit Mint, and why.

Postby lahirdenganselamat on Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:21 am

I think, if my CPU able to run 64bit, why I still using the 32bit version? Also, I have 6Gb of RAM, and I think the RAM alone is provide enough reason to use 64bit OS.
ASUS 1215B AMD E-350 with Linux Mint 15 KDE, Precise Puppy, and Saluki
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: Do you run 64-bit or 32 bit Mint, and why.

Postby Jessey Lawson on Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:39 pm

I have used 32-bit and it does not seem that diffrent. All the computers I have or 64-bit. 32 is only good for old compurers and is outmoded and 64 is the standard and 128 is new and not covered by linux mint.
Jessey Lawson
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: Do you run 64-bit or 32 bit Mint, and why.

Postby 3fRI on Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:20 pm

64 bit on the iMac and 32 bit on the 5-year old MacBook, which doesn't support 64 bit.
System 76 Pangolin: 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3230M CPU @ 2.60GHz, CrunchBang 11 Waldorf 64-bit
iMac 21.5: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06 GHz, dual boot Mac OS 10.6.8, CrunchBang 11 Waldorf 64-bit

It's never too late to learn something new.
User avatar
3fRI
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Rhode Island

Previous

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest