lmde up6 can't find UPS?

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

lmde up6 can't find UPS?

Postby arjay on Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:26 pm

Can anyone help me with this one? I have recently installed an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) on a PC running LMDE up6. The UPS has the facility to connect to the PC via usb. However. my box doesn't see the UPS. There is an Ubuntu software package available for the UPS which I have also installed but that also doesn't "see" the computer. This is the output from lsusb:

CODE: SELECT ALL
richard@galaxy ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc. 4-Port HUB
Bus 003 Device 003: ID 0665:5161 Cypress Semiconductor USB to Serial
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:c316 Logitech, Inc. HID-Compliant Keyboard
Bus 005 Device 003: ID 046d:c51b Logitech, Inc. V220 Cordless Optical Mouse for Notebooks
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 04b4:6830 Cypress Semiconductor Corp. CY7C68300A EZ-USB AT2 USB 2.0 to ATA/ATAPI
richard@galaxy ~ $


The (Spanish) support service for the UPS doesn't seem to have heard of Linux and has no idea how to troubleshoot the problem.

Is there some other commands I could try to see if the usb is being detected and, if not, what i might do?

Thanks
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: lmde up6 can't find UPS?

Postby Intio on Tue Dec 18, 2012 7:20 pm

Sorry to not directly address the problem, but could you confirm that you mistyped UP6?

I thought UP5 was the most recent.
Asus Eee 701 Netbook - 2GB OCZ RAM
Debian Edition - Xfce
Intio
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: lmde up6 can't find UPS?

Postby arjay on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:02 am

Intio wrote:Sorry to not directly address the problem, but could you confirm that you mistyped UP6?

I thought UP5 was the most recent.


My best understanding is I DO have up6. I was running up5 and a week or so ago, I clicked the update function and got a download of hundreds of files. I asked what was going on, on the unofficial LMDE KDE forum and was told I was an early tester for up6. No idea how that happened. If you want me to run some sort of command and post the results let me know. I am as curious as you!!
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Re: lmde up6 can't find UPS?

Postby Intio on Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:07 pm

Well it looks like UP6 is now released!
Asus Eee 701 Netbook - 2GB OCZ RAM
Debian Edition - Xfce
Intio
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:16 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests