Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby endeavornet on Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:36 pm

In Ubuntu I was able to use the compiz settings tool to map the horizontal mouse scroll to switch workspaces. Is that possible in Mint?
endeavornet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mouse Shortcuts

Postby xenopeek on Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:06 pm

Perhaps you should include which desktop environment you are using (or are going to use on Linux Mint) and whether or not you have installed Compiz on it (or intend to do so).
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13700
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Mouse Shortcuts

Postby endeavornet on Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 pm

Sorry, I forgot to add that info. I'm using Mint 14 with the Cinnamon environment. I haven't installed compiz and hadn't planned to.
endeavornet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby xenopeek on Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:32 pm

Okay, Compiz doesn't work on Cinnamon so no sense in installing it. I've moved your topic to the Cinnamon forum and updated your topic subject to reflect the new information you have. Hopefully somebody else can pitch in with an answer on this one.
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13700
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby abnvolk on Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:57 am

Try this extension: cinnamon-spices.linuxmint.com/extensions/view/17
Hope it helps you :)
abnvolk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby endeavornet on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:03 pm

abnvolk,

Thank you for the suggestion. I installed it and modified it to look for direction 2 and 3 instead of 0 and 1. That way I could use the horizontal scroll. It worked fine. I'd still like to find a way to do it without having to move the mouse to a screen edge first, but this will work for now.

Thank you again for the help.
endeavornet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:33 pm


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests