updater can not find repository [solved]

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com

updater can not find repository [solved]

Postby Sleven on Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:59 pm

I haven't log into my LMDE partition in about a year.

I used the updater but got the following error messages.

Failed to fetch http://www.debian-multimedia.org/dists/ ... ackages.gz 404 Not Found
Failed to fetch http://www.debian-multimedia.org/dists/ ... ackages.gz 404 Not Found
Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.


What do I need to do?
Last edited by Sleven on Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LMDE 64 running Cinnamon on an HP Compaq Core2 Duo 4G Ram
User avatar
Sleven
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Central Florida

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: updater can not find repository

Postby zerozero on Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:55 pm

can you please share with us the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -Fr
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: updater can not find repository

Postby Sleven on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:39 pm

System: Host unit1 Kernel 2.6.39-2-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 6400 (-MCP-) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips 8512.18
Clock Speeds: (1) 1596.00 MHz (2) 1596.00 MHz
Graphics: Card Intel 82Q963/Q965 Integrated Graphics Controller X.Org 1.7.7 Res: 1920x1080@60.0hz
GLX Renderer Mesa DRI Intel 965Q GEM 20091221 2009Q4 GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.7.1 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio: Card-1 Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller driver HDA Intel BusID: 00:1b.0
Card-2 Logitech Inc. Logitech USB Microphone driver snd-usb-audio
Card-3 Logitech Inc. Webcam C270 driver snd-usb-audio
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network: Card Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5755 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express driver tg3 v: 3.117 BusID: 3f:00.0
Disks: HDD Total Size: 400.1GB (33.2% used) 1: /dev/sda ST3160815AS 160.0GB
2: /dev/sdb ST3160815AS 160.0GB 3: /dev/sdc WDC_WD800JD 80.0GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 16G used: 5.4G (37%) fs: ext4
Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://mirror.jmu.edu/pub/linuxmint/packages/ debian main upstream import backport
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stable main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ stable/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org stable main non-free
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stable-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports squeeze-backports main contrib non-free
Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-talkplugin.list
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/deb/ stable main
Info: Processes 143 Uptime 2 min Memory 677.6/3958.3MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23
LMDE 64 running Cinnamon on an HP Compaq Core2 Duo 4G Ram
User avatar
Sleven
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: updater can not find repository

Postby zerozero on Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:56 pm

WOW 8) running lmde against stable repos;
- my experience with stable is close to none :mrgreen: but the immediate issue you have there is that
Code: Select all
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org stable main non-free

is now
Code: Select all
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org stable main non-free

anyway i see 2 other questions:
1- you are tracking "stable" not "squeeze" what means that when wheezy goes stable (fev next year probably) you'll upgrade to it;
2- we are in the end of this stable cycle and the setup you are running has/will have soon some problems; see this post for some pointers viewtopic.php?f=200&t=99741&start=80#p610818
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: updater can not find repository

Postby Sleven on Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:25 pm

I don't know enough about debian terminology to even ask an intelligent question.

I thought Squeeze was the same thing as stable.

You seem surprised that I'm tracking stable, what should I be tracking? Can you explain the difference.

I read the link you provided but am unsure how to proceed.
LMDE 64 running Cinnamon on an HP Compaq Core2 Duo 4G Ram
User avatar
Sleven
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: updater can not find repository

Postby Sleven on Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:07 pm

I changed sources.list by copying and pasting the list from the link you gave me.

Update had 7 additional updates but came back error free this time.

Thanks for the help.
LMDE 64 running Cinnamon on an HP Compaq Core2 Duo 4G Ram
User avatar
Sleven
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: updater can not find repository

Postby GeneC on Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:15 pm

Sleven wrote:I don't know enough about debian terminology to even ask an intelligent question.

I thought Squeeze was the same thing as stable.

You seem surprised that I'm tracking stable, what should I be tracking? Can you explain the difference.

........


Hi Sleven

"zerozero" explains it all very thoroughly here...

:arrow: viewtopic.php?f=197&t=91405

Very much worth the read..
Actually pretty much a must if using LMDE.... :wink:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: updater can not find repository [solved]

Postby zerozero on Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:20 pm

Sleven wrote:You seem surprised that I'm tracking stable, what should I be tracking? Can you explain the difference.

i'm :D lmde was never released tracking stable: the original release was tracking directly testing and then in june last year were introduced the update-packs and since then lmde (still) tracks testing but with a buffer for stability.

Sleven wrote:I thought Squeeze was the same thing as stable.
yes and no :lol: they are now (the same) but afaik (as i told you i have close to zero experience with stable so i can be wrong here)
- if you have squeeze in the sources.list you are always tracking squeeze (now and in 10 years time :mrgreen: << exaggeration i know because by then the support will be closed but gives the idea)
- if you have stable, you track the stable release (today squeeze, from fev on wheezy) meaning that you will upgrade to the next stable as it is available; this may be the desired behavior (or not!) it's up to the user to decide.

==========
Hi Gene :D
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: updater can not find repository [solved]

Postby Sleven on Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:09 pm

Thanks Gene for the link and ZeroZero for the article, very informative.

I decided to re-install LMDE with the newest ISO, it seemed the easiest way.

Updating to UP6 now, keeping my fingers crossed.

Thanks again for all the help.
LMDE 64 running Cinnamon on an HP Compaq Core2 Duo 4G Ram
User avatar
Sleven
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Central Florida

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update Packs Repositories

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests