LMDE wouldn't install with WiFi on.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LMDE wouldn't install with WiFi on.

Postby matthewh3 on Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:35 pm

Hi I think I may have found a bug. LMDE wouldn't install for me with WiFi on. It kept stalling on localizing FireFox and Thunderbird. I live in the UK. It happend two me twice while trying to install with WiFi on. When I tried to install with no networking it worked and installed.
matthewh3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE wouldn't install with WiFi on.

Postby KMM on Thu Nov 17, 2011 7:18 am

I can confirm this Bug.
It also stalled for me at "localizing firefox and thunderbird",
as i disabled wireless it instantly moved on with the installation.
KMM
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 7:10 am

Re: LMDE wouldn't install with WiFi on.

Postby Oscar799 on Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:44 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8893
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: LMDE wouldn't install with WiFi on.

Postby GosuSan on Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:37 pm

Same Problem here with the LMDE XFCE DVD (64 Bit) -iso image.

Continues after disabling all Network-Connections (was LAN for me).
GosuSan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: LMDE wouldn't install with WiFi on.

Postby zerozero on Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:48 pm

it's not a bug: at that stage of live-installer (when it says that is localizing FF and TB) it is performing a query to the repos (updating) and installing the relevant language packs (for both FF and TB according to previous user selection)
- this part takes usually a very long time because several things come to play: the speed of the internet connection of course but mainly the speed of the mirror you are connecting to and how overloaded it is.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests