Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

I see you have a ATI card:
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450]

Please install:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install fglrx-driver fglrx-amdcccle debconf-utils
Reboot and (this is very important) type this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo debconf-get-selections | grep fglrx > debconf-fglrx.seed
Post the generated file debconf-fglrx.seed here.
I need to add what's in it to my code (to catch any questions by the driver's install program).
dcihon

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by dcihon »

That fixed worked.
See file attached.
Glad I could help.
zerozero

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by zerozero »

zerozero wrote: and this time it installs fine http://pastebin.com/fnn3iRpA
well done again 8)
sorry my mistake but it doesn't work.
shouldn't be this driver afaik

Code: Select all

zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ inxi -N
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: b43-pci-bridge 
           Card-2: Marvell 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller driver: sky2 
           Card-3: NetGear WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 [Atheros AR9271] driver: ath9k_htc 
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

zerozero wrote:shouldn't be this driver afaik

Code: Select all

zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ inxi -N
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: b43-pci-bridge 
           Card-2: Marvell 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller driver: sky2 
           Card-3: NetGear WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 [Atheros AR9271] driver: ath9k_htc 
In the log I see it's installing firmware-b43-lpphy-installer, which should be the correct driver for chipset 4315.
But that doesn't seem to work?
What if you switch to the STA drivers?
zerozero

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by zerozero »

Schoelje wrote:But that doesn't seem to work?
it works right after ddm finishes installing it: i get a nice NM pop-up with both cards connected; the problem is that after reboot it's gone :evil:
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

zerozero wrote:the problem is that after reboot it's gone :evil:
I've heard many problems with that chipset. Did you try the STA drivers?
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

Schoelje wrote:
zerozero wrote:the problem is that after reboot it's gone :evil:
I've heard many problems with that chipset.
could you:

Code: Select all

modprobe b43
Do you get a connection?
Did you try the STA drivers?
zerozero

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by zerozero »

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43
gives me connection right away but i lose it again after reboot

but this way

Code: Select all

sudo su

Code: Select all

echo b43 >> /etc/modules

Code: Select all

exit
looks like this fixes it


but i though this modprobe was already done in ddm

Code: Select all

DEBUG modprobe b44, b43, b43legacy, ssb, brcmsmac

Code: Select all

DEBUG modprobe b43 22-12-2012 12:26:47 broadcom.installBroadcom INFO Done installing Broadcome drivers 
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

zerozero wrote:but i though this modprobe was already done in ddm

Code: Select all

DEBUG modprobe b44, b43, b43legacy, ssb, brcmsmac

Code: Select all

DEBUG modprobe b43 22-12-2012 12:26:47 broadcom.installBroadcom INFO Done installing Broadcome drivers 
It is!
I don't understand why this isn't working for you.
If only there were more people with Broadcom chipsets trying this out.
The two of us testing cannot be regarded as thorough testing.
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

@zerozero
Perhaps it's this (and if it is, you found a new DDM bug).
Do you have this file:
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf
It's the blacklist that's being generated if you install STA drivers.
zerozero

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by zerozero »

Code: Select all

blacklist b43 brcmsmac bcma ssb
this inside that file (/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf)
Schoelje wrote:you found a new DDM bug
:D feel so proud :lol:
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

Now this is agile development!
It should now be fixed:
http://schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/ddm ... a3_all.deb
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Niks »

After not having any desktop and major fight with drivers I managed to get the most resent ATI/AMD drivers in.....since I'm still having issues with the LMDE update 6 I would like to have that solved first before I change drivers again. 8)
zerozero

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by zerozero »

ok solved.
uninstalled everything, removed b43 from /etc/modules and then ran again the latest ddm
i see that

Code: Select all

zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf
cat: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf: No such file or directory
zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ 
was removed :lol:
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Niks »

Hummm update here .

I noticed that ddm does not show any activated driver !

Don't think that's right is it ?
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

Niks wrote:Hummm update here .

I noticed that ddm does not show any activated driver !

Don't think that's right is it ?
Could you please be more specific?
If you run

Code: Select all

ddm -d
You can post the generated log file

Code: Select all

$HOME/ddm.log
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Niks »

The log you requested and a snap shot of DDM
ddm.doc
DDM.png
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

According to your log, you have the fglrx drivers loaded.
This should have been listed in the Activated driver section and fglrx-driver should have been selected in the list below.

You just found a bug :)

I'll be looking into it...after Christmas.
Schoelje

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Schoelje »

I couldn't help it, so I checked if I could reproduce your issue, and I couldn't.
A tell tale in the log file is this:

Code: Select all

24-12-2012 00:16:59 XorgConf.getUsedModule        INFO      Used graphics driver: fglrx
later followed by:

Code: Select all

24-12-2012 00:17:04 drivers.getPackageStatus      DEBUG     Package not installed: fglrx-driver
It seems that you have the fglrx drivers loaded, but not with the fglrx-driver in the repositories.
Did you, by chance, install the ATI drivers from the AMD site?

Could you also post the result of:

Code: Select all

dpkg -S fglrx_drv
This will show the installed package that loads the fglrx module.
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Post by Niks »

Code: Select all

dpkg-query: no path found matching pattern *fglrx_drv*
And yes I did install the most resent Catalyst package from ATI/AMD but I had tried try to fglrx driver via DDM which failed due to not being able to input Y / N to questions.
This left me with a mess and the ATI refused so I had to purge fglrx and even then I had to force the ATI to install.
This could be why there are things left lying around.?

Maybe not anything to do with any of this but my screen capture only shows the opening screen as if the memory has got jammed. Again ( just in case zero zero reads this ) something I have been stuck with from day one of this repo but I thought was fixed with update 6 ...
.I think I have a bit of a graphic card driver mess and as yet not got it right!

Anyway Merry Christmas :mrgreen:
Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”