[Solved] What Speed is my Router?

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] What Speed is my Router?

Postby WhatUsernameIsFree? on Sat Dec 22, 2012 6:00 pm

Hi all,

I've recently changed ISPs, therefore have a new router. Just wondering how I can find the speed of the network port my Gigabit network card is plugged into.

Thanks :)
Last edited by WhatUsernameIsFree? on Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
WhatUsernameIsFree?
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: What Speed is my Router?

Postby mank_in on Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:24 pm

Maybe :
Code: Select all
inxi -n
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: What Speed is my Router?

Postby WhatUsernameIsFree? on Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:00 am

Hi,

Thanks for the response. I got:
Code: Select all
$inxi -n
/usr/bin/inxi: illegal option -- n
Error 7: One of the options you entered in your script parameters: -n
is not supported.The option may require extra arguments to work.
For supported options (and their arguments), check the help menu: inxi -h


So I read the -h and it shows a capital N for network, which gives me
Code: Select all
Network:   Card-1 Intel N10/ICH 7 Family LAN Controller driver e100
           Card-2 Marvell 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver skge
However I believe that's the network card in my computer, not the router?

Thanks :)
WhatUsernameIsFree?
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: What Speed is my Router?

Postby mank_in on Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:19 am

i used inxi 1.8.4 in LM 14,

my output of inxi -n :
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
IF: eth0 state: down

I think you will see the network speed in eth0 state
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: What Speed is my Router?

Postby WhatUsernameIsFree? on Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:37 am

Both my LMDE machines return the same error.

Are there any other ways?
WhatUsernameIsFree?
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: What Speed is my Router?

Postby mank_in on Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:01 am

Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: What Speed is my Router?

Postby WhatUsernameIsFree? on Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:18 am

mank_in wrote:Maybe this can help you : http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-dete ... ion-speed/


Thanks. That solved it. It's a 100Mbit connection and my ISP is trying to sell me 120Mbit fibre optics. I think I may leave it. :lol:
WhatUsernameIsFree?
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests